Book Notification

Halo Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Halo Books

The Fall of Reach (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
First Strike (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Thursday War (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Broken Circle (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hunters in the Dark (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Halo: Saint's Testimony (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow of Intent (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Halo: Fractures (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Legacy of Onyx (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Contact Harvest (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows of Reach (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rubicon Protocol (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Outcasts (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Epitaph (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Halo: The Gray Team Books

Publication Order of Halo: Kilo-Five Trilogy Books

Publication Order of Halo: Alpha-Nine Books

Publication Order of Halo: The Ferrets Books

Publication Order of Halo: Rion Forge/Ace Of Spades Books

Publication Order of Halo: A Master Chief Story Books

The Halo series is a successful book series comprising of tie-in novels based on the military science fiction genre. This series is adapted from the famous video game series of the same name that was created by the Bungie software company. After the successful run of the game version, the creators decided to try their hands at presenting it in the format of novels. And so, they roped in a number of authors, who penned the various chapters of the game series in their own style and based on their own understanding. Some of the most prominent authors to have contributed the novel series include Eric Nylund, William C. Dietz, Greg Bear, Tobias S. Buckell, Joseph Staten, etc. The first book series adaptation of the video games was done by the authors Joseph Staten and Eric Nylund. They wrote a total of 6 books, which were released between the years 2001 and 2008. Altogether, there are more than 25 novels and one short story collection of the Halo series released between 2001 and 2013. The series is actually described a war between an alien race called a the Covenant and the human race. The original creators have shown the chief character of the series as Master Chief, who is depicted as a Spartan. He is assisted by an artificial intelligence companion named Cortana. The sales of the game series went on to cross more than $3 billion. Such an immense success also helped in the overall sale of the book versions as they found many buyers from around the world. The novel series started in 2001 with the release of Eric Nylund’s first book, The Fall of Reach. This novel is actually the prequel of the video game Combat Evolved. Later on, other authors also came in and took the series forward with their individual contributions. As of today, the series is still going on and many more books are expected to be published in the days to come.

The debut book of the Halo novel series written by Eric Nylund is entitled ‘Halo : The Fall of Reach’. It was released by the Del Rey publication in the year 2001. The plot is set in a fictional universe called Halo, just like in the video games. It takes place in the 26th century across a few locations and planets. This novel deals with the detailed explanation of the origin of the game and the rising of the super soldiers of Spartan II. Its story is narrated by its main protagonist named Master Chief. Apart from Master Chief, the other important characters introduced by author Nylund include Dr. Catherine Halsey, Jacob Keyes, Franklin Mendez, etc. At the start of the book’s story, it sis shown that Lieutenant Jacob Keyes and Dr Catherine Halsey travel together to meet a 6 year old boy named John. It is revealed to Jacob Keyes that John is among the selected 150 children, who have some rare genes to make them suitable for a program called Spartan II. This secret program is aimed at experimenting with these special children and turning them into super soldiers. The super soldiers will be employed by the UNSC to deal with rebellions. Out of the 150 children, 75 get kidnapped by the Naval Intelligence office operatives and are replaced with some engineered clones who die shortly after due to natural causes. The remaining recruits in the program are known by just their initial name followed by a 3 digit code. Subsequently, John is given the name, John-117. They are then trained and drilled under the guidance of Franklin Mendez. John stands out from the rest and shows signs of a leader. The mentors see his leadership qualities and promote him to the rank of squad leader. The Spartans are made to undergo several surgical enhancements that convert them into efficient and hardcore super soldiers. They are then faced with the task of combating against the Covenant aliens, who possess the aim of destroying the human race. The book received many positive reviews and critical appreciation from numerous critics. Various other critics reviewed the book by saying that it adds a great depth into the plot and takes the stakes to a completely new level by showing more characters than in the original game. Within a very less time of its release, the book became a worldwide success and helped author Nylund increase his popularity as an author of science fiction books.

Another mind blowing book of this series is called ‘Halo : The Flood’. This book was also published by the Del Rey publishers and its reprint was released by Tor Books. The Fall is written by William Dietz. This novel is the second book that describes the events of the video game version and came out in 2003. It begins by depicting the narrow escape of a ship called Pillar of Autumn carrying humans, from the Covenant aliens. The ship goes on to discover a huge artifact called Halo unexpectedly, following which the humans realize that they must join forces to combat the Covenants. They also have to deal with one more terrifying force before uncovering the secrets of Halo and remain alive. Along with many events similar to the original Xbox game, author Dietz has mentioned some more events that are not seen by Master Chief. Following the grand success of the initial novel, author Dietz was approached by Del Rey. He was told that the publishers want his military experience to add new action sequences in the stories. This particular book is set in 2552 and shows that the humans have colonized many worlds in the galaxy. They make use of drives faster than light & cryogenic sleep for traveling between the worlds. Suddenly, some of the smaller colonies started getting attacked by Covenants without any prior warning. The aliens exterminate all life forms in the colonies brutally and vitrify the planets’ surfaces. It looks like the aliens have waged a tough war against humanity, backed by superior technology, and the humans seem to be on the losing end. At this point of time, a human ship arrives as a messiah to sweep away the Covenants from Earth. Immediately after its release, the book made its name in the top 10 bestsellers of Publishers Weekly for Paperbacks. It also received critical praise from readers all across the globe. The different style of writing of author William Dietz and his depiction of military-style war sequences were very much appreciated by one and all. All these factors led to the wide scale success of this novel.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Halo

Leave a Reply