Book Notification

Hannah Byron Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mrs. Imogene Lynch Books

The Unsolved Case of The Secret Christmas Baby (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Peculiar Vanishing Act of Mr Ralph Herriot (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Resistance Girl Books

In Picardy's Fields (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Diamond Courier (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miss Agnès (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doctor Agnès (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Parisian Spy (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Norwegian Assassin (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Highland Raven (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crystal Butterfly (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The London Spymaker (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Hannah Byron was born near the Seine in Paris, but she would go on to be raised by Anglo-Dutch parents in the south of the Netherlands.

In “The Resistance Girl,” the bestselling historical fiction series, many of her leads also move from country to country across Europe. For Hannah Byron, what initially began as curiosity about her family connection to one of the most important days of World War II developed into a full-blown study of the war.

One of her uncles had been among the men that had landed on the beaches of Normandy and helped liberate the Netherlands. Had he not been part of the invasion force, her Dutch father would never have met her English mother following the conclusion of the war.
Byron penned In Picardy’s Fields the debut novel of the Resistance Girl series in 2020 and has never looked back since. She now has more than twelve works to her name. She has developed a reputation for writing wholesome and clean romance fiction featuring some strong and sassy women who fight for love, equality, and freedom.

The retired translator, avid researcher, European traveler abnd university lecturer now makes her home in southern Dublin.

Like many authors, Hannah Byron has been writing poems and stories ever since she could hold a pen. She published her first-ever work in 2011 but pivoted to historical fiction in 2020 when she began writing the novels of the “Resistance Girl” series.
Over the years, she has developed a fondness for high stakes, heroines, and history and can often be found researching many of the was of the 20th century. Byron is fascinated by the century and how it continues to shape the modern world and particularly the opportunities and rights of women.

The author usually combines research with fictional stories about ordinary things done by ordinary women. She maintains an archive of all the digging she does on her “Historical Facts & Fiction” blog.

Her work has come to be described as descriptive and character-driven which is probably why it is so popular. Hannah finds much of her inspiration from American, European, and Russian novelists and from the many Harlequin novellas she used to read a lot growing up.
Her absolute favorites are the dirty and quick stories, which she tries to replicate when writing about Europe at a time when things were less complicated and perhaps less rushed.

Hannah Byron began writing contemporary fiction and shifted to historical fiction where she found massive success was not that easy. It was not a simple switch as she had a conscious and very long deliberation with herself before she decided to become a historical fiction author.

She loves to pen her novels in the era from 1850 to 1960 which for some authors is too vast a period for many authors. However, Hannah believes it is the most interesting part of human history as it is the era during which we evolved to a machine-made world from a man-made world.

As such, she cannot be found at decadent orgies in Rome or in a Middle Age clay hut. Rather, she has a preference for the times when women could work together at the wheel and life had become a little more complex.
Byron is usually interested in themes such as growth in awareness, the pursuit of happiness, and liberation. She is also partial to Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s four freedoms such as freedom from fear, freedom of speech, freedom from want, and freedom of worship.

Hannah Byron’s novel “In Picardy’s Fields” introduces Agnes de Saint-Aubin the baroness that has just graduated with a medical degree in Paris.

She is now a medical surgeon working under Dr. Alan Bell her mentor. She could not have been happier than when her mentor asked her to accompany him to the Picardy-based Chateau de Dragoncourt hospital.
On the way, she notices the total and horrific destruction of the countryside and small French towns, which are often covered with white crosses marking the graves of dead soldiers.
It is not the first time at the chateau for Agnes since she knows the family and is friends with the lord and lady of the establishment.

Madeline the youngest of the Dragoncourt family wants to return home as she is bored learning at the Swiss finishing school she has been attending. Jacques her brother has been busy working at the hospital while Elle their sister drove the ambulance.
Upon arriving at the Chateau, Agnes, and Bell immediately begin surgery but the wounded soldiers are too many for them to handle. Things only get worse as they have to evacuate before the Germans arrive.
But they are too late and Alan and Agnes are taken as prisoners. The worst thing is that Agnes has a secret she cannot afford to let the in-charge officer get hold of.

Hannah Byron’s “The Diamond Courier” introduces Lili Hamilton. She is a nineteen-year-old who has refused to marry her father’s right-hand man Iain Brodie and become a domestic wife at Betteshanger Colliery.
She intended to become a political journalist but she is thwarted as her father sends her to Switzerland just as the Second World War is about to break out.

On her way out, she passes through Paris and this is where she runs into Leo Oppenheim. He is the prodigal son of the richest diamond merchant in London Chaim Oppenhaim and leader of the British communist party.

Knowing he will guide her while she is studying in Switzerland he knows her time will be more bearable. Soon enough World War II breaks out and Lili finds herself in London to finally indulge in communism and free love.

However, what Leopold needs more is money for the communist party and his personal needs. He is looking at Antwerp the largest diamond center on the continent but Germany too desperately needs the diamonds of Antwerp to fuel the war.
Lili manages to infiltrate the Jewish community and becomes a courier between London and Antwerp through Vichy France until she is caught in 1943.

“The Parisian Spy” by Hannah Byron is set in 1939 just before the outbreak of the Second World War.

French Ocean Bell is an American that travels to Paris from Chicago intending to finish her medical studies at the Sorbonne. Meanwhile, Jean Jacques Riveau the poster child of the emerging urban realism movement has left his brushes to join the Resistance.
Cupid shoots an arrow straight at the lovebirds but Oceane refuses to get involved in the resistance activities her husband has been recently been engaged in. However, things change when the Gestapo arrested her boyfriend and her convictions are heavily tested.
She takes a job as the personal physician to Dieter Von Stein the head of the Gestapo in Paris. She believes this is the best way to ever find her beloved. However, her employer has other plans with Oceane and Jean-Jacques.

When he is sent to Northern Africa, she has to follow albeit reluctantly. Out on the North African deserts, a tug of war unfolds between two tenacious and smart people in which there can only be one winner.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Hannah Byron

Leave a Reply