Book Notification

Harley Tate Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of After the EMP Books

Publication Order of Falling Sky Books

Fire and Ashes (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thunder and Acid (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wind and Chaos (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Escape And Evade (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
War and Survival (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Fault Lines Books

Publication Order of Nuclear Survival: Southern Grit Books

Brace for Impact (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Escape the Fall (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Survive the Panic (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Nuclear Survival: Northern Exposure Books

Publication Order of Nuclear Survival: Western Strength Books

Bear the Brunt (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shelter In Place (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Make The Cut (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

No Ordinary Escape (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Harley Tate is a reputed American writer, who is popular for writing post-apocalyptic, dystopia, and science fiction stories. She has written two successful novel series, After the EMP and Nuclear Survival. The latter has just one book in it so far and Tate is working to add a few more titles to it soon. All the books in Tate’s After the EMP series are very popular. They have succeeded in reaching out to a large number of readers from across the world. This series follows the lives of the Sloane family members and their close friends, who try to survive in times of extreme difficulties. The world starts falling apart after the failure of the power grid. And does not take the people long to realize that they must prepare themselves for the worst and must be ready to give up all that they hold dear to themselves in order to survive.

Most of the stories penned by author Tate are edge-of-the-seat fiction stories set in the post apocalyptic era. The stories generally show the choices that the ordinary people are forced to make as they face impossible situations. Author Tate gained a lot of fame and received motivating comments from the critics as well as the readers for the series. Each of her stories were highly appreciated by one and all. All the appreciations and praises made it easier for her to move forward. She feels that she has become much more confident than what she was when she first started writing. Today, Tate is pretty much content with the amount of success she has received in her writing career. She hopes to continue being successful by writing many other interesting books in the coming years.

The After the EMP series written by author Harley Tate is comprised of a total of 6 books released between 2017 and 2018. Author Tate has done the books’ setting in Sacramento, Northern California, and Oregon. The central characters mentioned by her in the books include Madison, Tracy, Walter, Colt Potter, Dani, and several others. This series’ debut book is entitled ‘Darkness Begins’. It was released in the year 2017 as a Kindle edition. At the story’s beginning, it is mentioned that Madison is a student of agriculture, studying at the California University. She spends her time tending to plants. She hopes to complete her graduation and then make use of her skills at her home in Central Valley, located on a few hours from the university. But, she had no idea that her life is going to turn upside down very soon and all her plans are going to be shattered. On the other hand, Tracy begins her daily like she normally does. She completes her morning chores and then kisses her husband goodbye before going off to start her work in the public library.

Tracy had no idea that her day would end trying to save herself in a Suburban filled with water and food. The difficulties that she goes through while trying to survive makes her realize that tackling the daily struggles of life is one thing and preparing for survival when everything comes crashing down is an altogether different thing. As there is no communication or any kind of information from the government, the members of the Sloane family decide to take it upon themselves to deal with the situation at hand. They try to grapple with the world’s end as it nears. Madison wonders if she is going ti make it back to her family in Sacramento and meet with them ever. Tracy too wonders if she can keep the thieves and looters away and help her neighbors and friends in coming out of the big problem they have landed in safely.

The next installment of this series is called ‘Darkness Grows’. It was also published in the Kindle format in 2017. Once again, Madison, Walter, and Tracy are shown as the lead characters. At the book’s start, it is depicted that the college kids in the community where Walter and Tracy live begin to regain their breath. The moment the power was lost, Madison decided to give up her student life and head back home to help her mother in dealing with the current situation. Tracy fought against the looters & thieves and kept them at large. After reuniting with Tracy, Madison begins looking for her father. Walter was flying in his 737 at a height of 37,000 feet when he saw the power go off. He carries out an emergency landing in an unknown region, where chaos, fires, and riots are spread everywhere. Seeing the urgency of the situation, Walter realizes that he must find a way to get out the region or else he might get killed. With Walter missing, Tracy and Madison start looking for him. Madison learns that one child named Brianna belongs to ‘preppers’. So, all of them decide to move to the cabin of Brianna’s family.

In the meantime, a meeting organized in the neighborhood is attended by very less people. And most of them do not welcome the idea that there is a very less chance for things to improve. When others learn that the friends of Tracy & Madison have a large stock of supplies, they start pressurizing them to share the supplies with others. On the other hand, Madison and her friends try to ensure that they have all the necessary items required for survival. Another aspect of the story’s narrative is the desperate attempt of Walter to return home after making an emergency landing in Sacramento. As Walter is a former Marine, he thinks he is somewhat qualified to complete the journey. But, his co-pilot doesn’t have any skills to make it through. So, it turns into a contrasting situation. Tracy keeps her mind strong by trying to capture the disaster’s psychology. She understands what the people are going through and what is their state of mind. Tracy tries to do everything in her capacity to keep their spirits high and make them believe that they are going to survive this situation. The readers found this book very interesting to read. They felt that they became intrigued from the very beginning because of the great storyline depicted by Tate.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Harley Tate

One Response to “Harley Tate”

  1. Linda Gump: 2 years ago

    Are you going to write a fourth book on the Darkness series? I want to know how they survive. Love your books!


Leave a Reply