Book Notification

Harold Coyle Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Scott Dixon Books

Publication Order of U.S. Civil War Books

Publication Order of Nathan Dixon Books

God's Children (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Against All Enemies (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
More Than Courage (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
They Are Soldiers (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cat and Mouse (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Warriors, No Glory (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Harold Coyle's Strategic Solutions, Inc. Books

Pandora's Legion (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prometheus's Child (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vulcan's Fire (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Cyber Knights Books

with Jennifer Ellis
Cyber Knights 1.0 (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cyber Knights 1.1 (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Team Yankee (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Savage Wilderness (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Hand (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Eighth Day (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Small Thing (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Other Side of the Wire (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Put the Boys In (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Harold Coyle, also writing under the pen name H.W. Coyle, is a New York Times bestselling author who has written a number of successful novels in multiple genres including speculative fiction, military fiction, and historical fiction.

Coyle was born in 1952, in New Brunswick, New Jersey, U.S., to Harry Duke and Evelyn Coyle. Prior to beginning his writing career, he was a career officer in the United States Army. He graduated from Virginia Military Institute in 1974, went on to serve in the United States Army for 17 years, and is a veteran of the Persian Gulf War.

He married Patricia Ann Bannon in 1974. They have three children, Sean, Kurt, and Sarah.

He is best known for Team Yankee: A Novel of World War III, a New York Times bestseller written while he was a major in the Army. This novel was written in the World War III scenario initially depicted by General Sir John Hackett in his novel, The Third World War: The Untold Story. Coyle’s novel features the experiences of tank crews and infantrymen fighting on the front lines. In addition to achieving best-selling designation, it spawned a series of comic books, an award-winning board wargame, and a video game.

After retiring from active military duty, Coyle continued writing novels, most of which revolved around the war battles. He says that he took up novel-writing with the intention of sharing his wartime experiences with the readers. He also writes some of his novels under the pseudonym H.W. Coyle.

Other writers such as Jennifer Ellis and Barrett Tillman have collaborated as co-authors of some of his popular novels. With Barrett Tillman, he has co-authored Pandora’s Legion, Prometheus’s Child, and Vulcan’s Fire. With Jennifer Ellis, he has co-written Cyber Knights 1.0 and Cyber Knights 1.1.

As of today, he spends most of his time at home in Leavenworth, Kansas, where he keeps himself busy writing the plots and developing the characters of his novels. His hobbies include reading, travel, reenactments, and war gaming.

Coyle began his writing career in 1987 with the publication of his debut novel, Team Yankee. He struck gold in his very first attempt, as the novel received very good reviews from readers around the world. This helped him get noticed by many prominent authors and publishing companies. He was able to gain recognition and fame for his writing career when his debut novel went on to feature in The New York Times Best Seller List. After this, he did not look back and continued writing exciting novels one after the other. Eventually, he was able to establish himself as one of the noteworthy writers of speculative fiction and war novels of his time.

Team Yankee was published in 1987 by Berkley Publishing Group. The plot of this novel depicts Soviet bloc and NATO soldiers involved in a war. The opening plot of the novel describes invasion forces of the Russian military attacking the border of the West German region. NATO forces are tasked with defending the vital strategic post. Team Yankee, led by Captain Sean Bannon, is asked to carry out this important mission with the help of a mechanized division of infantry and M-1 tanks.

The team moves ahead with sophisticated weaponry in order to engage the enemy forces. In the end, they show a great deal of human endurance, beyond normal limits. The members of Team Yankee show great strength when they are on the verge of entering into the Third World War. The author described the plot of the novel in a unique way, illustrating his excellent writing skills. This is the main reason behind the success of this novel.

One of the successful series written by Harold Coyle is known as the Nathan Dixon series. This series consists of a total of 6 novels published between 2000 and 2009. The first novel of the series was published under the title of God’s Children and was released by Forge Books in 2000. Coyle has adopted the title of this novel from a Biblical saying. The plot of this novel shows that peacekeeping requires brave men who fight for triumph over the opposing group.

In the opening sequence of this novel, high-tech warfare is depicted, set in the near future in Slovakia. This novel tells the tale of the 3rd Platoon of the Second Battalion of the 13th infantry. This platoon consists of a couple of young officers who try extremely hard to help their platoon keep the peace that seems to be falling apart in front of their own eyes.

This novel serves as a simultaneous adventure filled with action, as well as a study of contemporary issues faced by soldiers of the present time during warfare. Ultimately, the plot of this novel displays Mr. Coyle’s vast knowledge of military affairs, which can be seen through the thrilling and realistic scenes described in the novel by him. The success of the novel proved that he is a master when it comes to writing military fiction novels. Readers all over the world have found the novel to be as timeless as war itself.

The second novel of the Nathan Dixon series was released under the title Against All Enemies, published by Forge Books in 2002. In this novel, a standoff between FBI and a militia group deteriorates into tense conflict between the federal government and a right-wing state governor. A federal building is blown up in Kansas City. A group of self-styled patriots in Idaho is surrounded by the FBI and accused of the terrorist act. To complicate matters even more, the right-wing governor of Idaho accuses the feds of ignoring the U.S. Constitution and refuses to extradite a group of militia members. Instead, he mobilizes the National Guard and expels the FBI and Justice Department agents by force. Lieutenant Nathan Dixon, son of General Scott Dixon, a Gulf War hero, is assigned to the unit tasked with neutralizing the threats in Idaho. Tensions are high and conflict is inevitable, and the players at all levels must decide where their loyalties lie.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Harold Coyle

One Response to “Harold Coyle”

  1. Everett Young: 2 years ago

    I enjoyed your write up biography. Thanks. But I’m a bit confused as to the story line and publication date. I have read all of Coyle’s books and am currently re-reading them. I had just finished Code of HOnor and wanted to start the next book, which I think should be God’s Children. But in God’s Children, it makes a reference by the character 2lt. Reider about “knowing what Dixon did in Idaho” which happens in Against All Enemies. Depsite publication dates, does this story pre-date God’s Children?


Leave a Reply