Book Notification

Harper Connelly Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Harper Connelly Books

Publication Order of Harper Connelly Graphic Novels Books

By: Charlaine Harris, William Harms
Grave Sight (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Charlaine Harris' Grave Surprise (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Harper Connelly/Grave Sight Graphic Novels

Harper Connelly stars in this series of books written by author Charlaine Harris. In the first book of the series, Harper is just 24 years old. When she was hit by lightning at the age of fifteen, she got a special power: she can locate dead bodies, and is able to do this because she senses a buzzing when they are close by. She is also able to see the way they died, but if they were murdered, she is not able to see who killed them. The buzzing gets more intense the more recent the death was. She had an older sister (named Cameron Connelly) who went missing when she was eighteen. Harper hopes that she will someday be able to find her, but is pretty sure that she has died.

She comes from a family that calls itself a “riches to rags” family. When Harper was a teenager, her mother married a man and the couple succumbed to doing drugs. This reduced their family life to nothing. From this marriage, Harper acquired a step-brother, named Tolliver.

Tolliver also serves as manager who charges customers to see Harper show off her talents. He even travels with her, setting up appointments with her customers. In the first book, he is 28 years old. The two have relied on each other, ever since their parents got married. Between the pair, there is some sexual tension that boils between the two. They have to deal with how they feel for each other, and the fact that they are step-siblings.

The series began in the year 2005, with the release of “Grave Sight”, and concluded in the year 2009, with the release of “Grave Secret”. It has four installments to it. “Grave Sight” was adapted into a three part graphic novel in 2011 and 2012.

“Grave Sight” is the first novel in the “Harper Connelly” series and was released in the year 2005. Harper has a strange job: she locates dead people’s bodies. She is able to sense someone’s final location, and share their last moment. Harper feels that she provides the dead a service, and gives the living some closure. She has gotten used to people feeling that she is just a blood sucking leech.

Harper travels with Tolliver, who is her manager and occasional body-guard, she has become a pro at getting in, getting her money, and getting away quickly. For the living, things are always urgent, even though the dead are able to wait forever.

Some readers enjoyed reading about Tolliver and Harper’s relationship, there is tension and dynamic between them. It makes the story that much more enjoyable. Fans of the novel enjoyed reading about Harper, finding that she was pretty mature, and was wise beyond her young years. She was written in such a way where she is not trying to get sympathy or make excuses for anything, and just is who she is.

“Grave Surprise” is the second novel in the “Harper Connelly” series and was released in the year 2006. Upon request by Dr. Clyde Nunley (an anthropology professor), Tolliver and Harper go to Memphis to demonstrate her special talent. What better place to show off such a talent in an ancient cemetery.

Dr. Nunley does a poor job of hiding the skepticism he feels, which is made stronger when Harper stands on someone’s grave and senses not one, but two dead bodies underneath her. One is a man that has been dead for centuries and the other is a young girl that recently died.

The grave is opened, and Harper is proven right. The dead girl is named Tabitha Morgenstern, who is an eleven year old that was kidnapped in Nashville two years before. This is a child that Harper tried once before to find, although she was unsuccessful. This is a coincidence that raises some suspicion with the police about her. Her and Tolliver take up their own investigation into what happened, and make a visit to the cemetery at night. They hope that Harper will be able to feel something more about the murder. The next morning, there is a third body that is found in the grave.

Some have a hard time putting these books down, and want to read more and more of them. There seems to be more going on here than just a simple mystery that is put in front of people. Readers were left guessing more this time around than with the first book. Fans of the novel enjoy the series so far, finding to be ton of fun; they also hope that Harper and Tolliver just decide to live together and stop being in denial.

“An Ice Cold Grave” is the third novel in the “Harper Connelly” series and was released in the year 2007. Harper and Tolliver get hired to find a boy that vanished in Doraville, North Carolina. When they get there, they find out that the boy was the last of many that had gone missing over the past five years. All were teens, and all were unlikely to runaway. All of them were calling Harper.

Harper quickly finds all eight of them, as they are buried in the semi-frozen ground. All of them died in unspeakable ways. What she wants most is just to get her cash she is due and get out of town before the media descends on the town. She is attacked and kept from leaving. Reluctantly, she becomes a part of the investigation and finds out more than she would like to about the hidden secrets and dark mysteries that are found in Doraville. It is knowledge that may just get her put in an ice cold grave.

This is a strong series that some wish was much longer. Fans of the novel found this to be the best book of the series yet. The mystery was far more interesting, especially the way it unraveled for readers. What a lot of people really enjoyed was the fact that Harper and Tolliver finally embrace how they truly feel about one another here in this book. They have a relationship that is real and sweet. This is a great example of paranormal mystery with some romance thrown in. some found that they liked Harper a little more than they liked Sookie, which is Harris’ other main character.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Harper Connelly

Leave a Reply