Book Notification

Harper L. Woods Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Coven of Bones Books

Publication Order of Of Flesh & Bone Books

What Lies Beyond the Veil (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Hunts Inside the Shadows (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Lurks Between the Fates (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Sleeps Within the Cove (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Harper L. Woods
Harper L Woods is a mom and grandmother, author and entrepreneur. She weaves fragments of experiences within a religious cult which create an edge-of-your-seat, fictional suspense novel that is so intriguing that you cannot wait to turn the page, or set the book down. She also writes as Adelaide Forrest.

On a community and social level, Harper advocates for the abolishment of clergy penitent privilege which keep pedophiles protected. She is the Founder of Sharing Shoes, which is a Facebook group which share in her own passion to end child sexual abuse, and Kynde World, which is a group that spreads the philosophy of showing kindness and self to other people.

Harper fell in love with books at a very young age and soon discovered her love of writing shortly after. She wrote short stories before diving into full-length fiction at the age of ten. Since then, she has created more than 350 book ideas and hoarded them through the years.

Harper read anything and everything she could get her hands on about writing and plotting. After that, she was able to develop a system of her own for writing, outlining, and developing characters.

When she’s not busy writing, she can be found spending time with her two young kids, cat, and dog. She enjoys chai tea, traveling, chocolate, and spending time with her family.

“What Lies Beyond the Veil” is the first novel in the “Of Flesh & Bone” series and was released in the year 2022. They used to worship them as Gods. For almost four hundred years, the Veil has protected them from the Fae of Alfheimr. In their absence, their lives have shifted from sin and decadence toward virtue and survival under the New Gods’ guidance. Estrella has spent her whole life tending the gardens next to the boundary between each of their worlds, drawn to the shimmering magic much like a moth to a flame.

Then, they died on their swords. All of this is changed the same day the Veil is shattered, unleashing the fae upon their world yet again. The magic of faerie magic marks those they mean to take, however the Mist Guard that protects Nothrek is going to kill them all before they allow the faerie to have them. There is no choice but to flee from everything that Estrella’s ever known, not if she wants to live to see her twenty-first birthday as free woman.

Now they will claim what is theirs. However before they can capture her, Caelum saves Estrella from the Wild Hunt. Fae-marked and running for her life, he is able to battle back in ways that she can just dream about. From tentative alliance to an all consuming passion, their bond continues to strengthen while the fae close in and the evil looms closer. With her own life on the line, he’s everything that she should not even dare to want and proves to be a distraction she just can’t afford. But she can’t seem to keep away, not even with something much greater on the line: her own heart.

This novel is intended for readers that are eighteen and older. It contains explicit content with darker elements, mature language, and graphic violence. And it all ends on a cliffhanger.

The book is such a delight to read that some finished it off in just a day, having been unable to put it down. The world building is quite complex with a lot about the Veil that is rather fascinating but other parts about this world will leave your skin crawling. Early on, you learn a little more about this world and it hooks the reader, making them desperate to learn even more. The pacing is outstanding, with real stakes and extremely stressful challenges.

Both Caelum and Estrella are easy to fall in love with, even though readers suspect that Caelum’s not telling the full truth. Caelum had some readers blushing and flustered throughout, and Estrella is also a likable character, both beautiful and strong with some trust issues, and is able to wield a dagger and has got a pretty smart mouth on her as well. Their romance is quite swoon worthy, and fits the story rather nicely.

The novel ends on such a killer of a cliffhanger that makes you eager to pick up the next one to learn what happens next.

“What Hunts Inside the Shadows” is the second novel in the “Of Flesh & Bone” series and was released in the year 2022. Once, she fell in love with a man that deceived her. For weeks, the man stood right by her side, twisting his words into some pretty half-truths. He enraptured her with some smooth temptation, not leaving any corner of her very being untouched. He consumed every part of her body and her mind, and then at last claimed her heart as his own. However Caelum’s real identity is horrifying enough to bring her down to her knees. And then she learned the truth about who exactly he is.

Caldris is whispered in the Nothrek wind. The legend everybody just speaks about in hushed words, in shuttered rooms, out of fear of drawing his wrath once more. His intentions truly are a mystery, his desires impure, and he is looking to shackle her to his side for all of eternity. With the Wild Hunt as their guard, he points them back toward where all of it began: the village of Mistfell and the boundary where the Veil used to shimmer in the wind.

Now, there’s another secret crouching, and is poised to change it all. The Mist Guard have been sworn to keep them from crossing into Alfheimr, and from treading Faerie soil, even if some innocents will be forced to pay with their lives. They’ve got orders to resurrect Mistfell’s shimmering barrier, however, yet again, there is a greater cost than what’s been revealed. Once, the folk in Northrek blamed her when the Veil fell. Pretty soon, they will want her to pay the price that the magic requires.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Harper L. Woods

Leave a Reply