Book Notification

Harris Faulkner Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Breaking News: God Has A Plan - An Anchorwoman's Journey Through Faith (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
9 Rules of Engagement: A Military Brat's Guide to Life and Success (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Faith Still Moves Mountains: Miraculous Stories of the Healing Power of Prayer (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Harris Faulkner is an American television host, newscaster for Fox News and an author of two books. She joined Fox News in 2005 and her talent soon had her become the only African American woman hosting a daily show. She hosts the highly-rated “Outnumbered Overtime” in addition to being co-host of “Outnumbered.” Faulkner is also the host of “Town Hall America” with Harris Faulkner a prime time political franchise. For her work, she has been awarded many awards that included Best News Special and Best News Special at the 2005 Emmy Awards.

Faulkner was born in Atlanta Georgia in 1965 to Army Aviator and United States Army Officer Lieutenant Colonel Bob Harris, who had three tours in Vietnam under his belt. Given her father’s work with the army, she lived in many places including the city of Stuttgart in Germany. Once she was done with high school, she went to the University of California Santa Barbara, where she got her bachelors in Mass Communications. She then got a job in LA Weekly, where she was a business writer getting paid per piece. She would get her start in TV when she did her internship in Los Angeles working with KCOP-TV before she moved to work as an anchor and reporter from WNCT-TV in Greenville North Carolina. She would also work for WDAF-TV for eight years between 1992 and 2000, which is where she was the victim of a stalker that she writes about in her novel “Breaking News God has a Plan.” After a stint with KSTP-TV in Minneapolis, she moved to Fox where she anchored “Fox Report Weekend” starting in 2011. She started working on her most popular show “Outnumbered” in 2014 and in 2017 she was hosting “Outnumbered Overtime” too. She has also appeared in “Red Eye” the night satire show hosted by Greg Gutfeld. She is married to Tony Berlin a former WCC0-TV reporter with whom she has two daughters.

Harris Faulkner’s first novel was “9 rules of engagement” A Military Guide to Life and Success.” In the novel, she shares the lessons of compassion, courage, patriotism, perseverance, and values that she got from her military father as well as her mother. Together, they had taught her about dignity, responsibility, and honor through example and words. The book is part prescriptive advice and part memoir in which Faulkner pays homage to the ideas and the influence of military life that had shaped her life ideology. In her second novel, “Breaking News: God Has a Plan: An Anchorwoman’s Journey Through Faith” she talks about her experience with a stalker and her attempts to bring the man to justice. In the book, she tells of how she went from presenting the news to becoming the news when a man from North Carolina starts stalking her. In the novel, she also talks about the steps to success that she has used to achieve success and which she thinks everyone should use to be successful.

Harris Faulkner’s “9 Rules of Engagement: A Military Brat’s Guide to Life and Success” is a book that shares the author’s lessons of growing up in a military family. In the novel, she talks of how people can benefit from the wisdom of military life. Harris was born into a military family to a highly decorated career officer that had brought up the children according to the ideals and values of the American military. Faulkner spent much of her childhood moving with her father from posting to posting. As a child, she got first-hand experience on how to find success from the values of leadership, knowledge, and integrity. Her early childhood lessons in work ethic and leadership became her guiding principles in life. She credits these military values with her rise to the top as a journalist and preeminent host on Fox News. In the book, she shares the tools, advice, and wisdom that she got from her military upbringing. She asserts that these ideals that have shaped her personal and professional outlook. While a lot of the story is about her experience, her father’s career looms large as she explores lessons on responsibility, courage, patriotism, and duty that were at the core of her success. In the work, she demonstrates that there is truth to the saying that everyone in a military family serves. Faulkner interviews former and current military families including the officers and other noncommissioned officers who tell the stories that illuminate the mission and message of the military. She shows how effective these ideals are in shaping success on the battlefield and off of it. The part motivational life guide and part memoir come with sixteen pages of her photos of Faulkner’s early career and life that reminds us of the keys to a successful life and our most important values.

“Breaking News: God Has a Plan: An Anchorwoman’s Journey Through Faith” is Harris Faulkner’s second novel. In this work, she talks about her experience of being the victim of a stalker. In 1995, she made the front page of the Kansas City Star after a landmark case that told of how she was stalked and had her life threatened by a man for months. The case had brought to the fore the anti-stalking law in the state even as it whetted the appetites of Hollywood filmmakers and talk show producers. They had got wind of the story after a national press wire service published it. Almost overnight, she went from being an anchor that delivered the news to becoming the news. She needed to find a way to deal with the pressure. A lot of people in the industry wanted her to talk of the stalking situation that she had no interest in talking about. She had no trouble rejecting the advances of filmmakers and talk show hosts as she did not want to give the reins of her life to someone she could not trust. She wanted to talk to people with similar experiences and not people that just wanted to boost their ratings. Using the lessons she had learned from her upbringing, she persevered and found some support groups that helped her on the road to recovery. She tells her story hoping that her experience can help someone going through tough times as she did. Faulkner asserts that while people see happiness and success, the reality is that everyone experiences both the good and the bad.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Harris Faulkner

Leave a Reply