Book Notification

Harry Connolly Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of City of Fallen Gods Books

Publication Order of The Great Way Books

The Way into Chaos (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Way into Magic (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Way into Darkness (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Twenty Palaces Books

Child of Fire (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Game of Cages (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Circle of Enemies (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twenty Palaces (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Twisted Path (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Flood Circle (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Key, an Egg, an Unfortunate Remark (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Bad Little Girls Die Horrible Deaths and Other Tales of Dark Fantasy (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Don't Read This Book(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tales of the Emerald Serpent: Ghosts of Taux(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unbound(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Harry Connolly is a literary fiction author best known for the “Twenty Palaces” and the “Great Way” series of novels. He was born and bred in Philadelphia, where he spent his early childhood years reading the likes of Wee Willie Weber, Dr. Shock and the huge collection science fiction novels his big sister had. As a teen, he went to Temple University only to graduate and find his degree had very few job prospects. In 1989, he decided to move to Seattle but he did not have much luck until he got into the internet which made his lifelong dream of becoming a fiction author come true. Over more than two decades, he has been living with his wife and homeschooling their only child. He is still a huge fan of storytelling and spends a lot of time in the local library and has occasionally paid a late fee for books he just had to read and reread. His works are mostly a combination of crime and fantasy, most of which have been published through traditional publisher Del Rey.

Connolly always dreamed of becoming an author since she was a child. He started reading aged three and when his parents told him that there were people that made a career out of authorship, she knew she wanted to do nothing else. He remembers sitting in kindergarten and thinking of becoming an author even though he never knew what it entailed at the time. He published “Child of Fire” his debut novel in 2009 and has never looked back since. He now has more than ten novels over several series and his works have sold more than 58 million copies across the globe and been translated into more than three dozen languages. He has also won a ton of wards including the prestigious Edgar Award. He has also worked as producer and writer of “Bosch,” an adaptation of his novel series that airs on SBS One in Australia. It was with “Black Echo,” his third novel that he won the Edgar Award by the Mystery Writers of America.

“Child of Fire” his debut novel which spawned the “Twenty Palaces” series was in the list of 100 Best Novels of 2009 by Publishers Weekly. “Game of Cages” the sequel came out in 2010 and his pulp adventure novel “King Khan,” which was inspired by “Spirit of the Centur”y role playing game was published by Evil Hat the game company in 2013. Since Harry Connolly’s debut did not do so well under a traditional publisher, he ran a Kickstarter campaign for “The Great Way,” the debut novel of his fantasy trilogy. He would later stretch goals for the Kickstarter campaign to include “A Key, an Egg, an Unfortunate Remake,” a pacifist urban fantasy novel and a short fiction collection. Harry Connolly currently lives with his wife and son in Seattle.

“Child of Fire,” by Harry Connolly is the story of Ray Lilly an ex convict and Annalise his new boss. The two are heading to Hammer Bay, a small town by the sea where there have been some horrific and gruesome deaths by an unknown creature. The victims usually die by spontaneous combustion that burns their bodies to leave behind a mass of squirming and squiggling white worms that then burrow into the ground. It is a bizarre story, particularly since most of the victims are children. But the bizarre thing about the incidents is that the weird combustion does not seem to cause any pain as one child even laughs as he bursts into flame before his head explodes. It is also stranger that once the victim dies, all of the townsfolk no longer have any memory of them and it is as if none of them ever lived. There is something very evil and Annalise who belongs to the “Twenty Palaces Society” is determined to find and stop the perpetrators. When she gets a strange injury, it is up to Ray to step in and solve the mystery while protecting both Annalise and himself.

Harry Connoly’s “Game of Cages” is the story of a wooden man named Ray Lilly. He is a decoy who is made to die so that a sorcerer can have his revenge against an enemy sorcerer or predator. Ray lily is no longer attached to Annalise Powliss and has learned that several spells had been cast upon his body. He is now working with a lead investigator of the “Twenty Places Society” named Catharine Little. She had been sent to investigate rumors abroad that alleged that a predator was about to be brought to market. However, Catherine and Ray arrive at the auction to find that their window for interrupting the sale has passed. They also learnt that the predator is a sapphire dog who feeds in a very bizarre way; forcing his victims to kill one another. The predator has already left but Ray finally manages to overpower two great sorcerers that wanted the predator for themselves. He gets his hands on the predator and kills it to save Annalise Powliss who came onto the scene after they learn of the location of the sapphire dog. It is a well written noir urban fantasy that will have its readers engrossed from the first page to the last.

“Circle of Enemies” the third novel of the “Twenty Palaces” series by Harry Connolly is the story of Ray Lilly, a former thief. He now works as the assistant to a sorcerer who works to destroy the extraterrestrial predators that had been invited onto Earth by power hungry magicians. Fortunately, Ray also has some magical powers and this is what has protected him from harm so far. But then he gets a call from a former gang member he used to run with, who wants him to go visit him in Los Angeles. Ray wants to help his friend and this could mean dealing with some of the most dangerous threats yet. Ray’s former associates are being targeted by a mysterious spell and they believe it has something to do with him. The sorcerer responsible for casting the spell is Wally King who had been brought by Ray into the exclusive Twenty Palace Society. Ray will have to make a choice between the responsibilities of the present and the ties from the past. Working with the society, they are facing a bizarre and novel predator in addition to Wally King the sorcerer.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Harry Connolly

Leave a Reply