Book Notification

Harry Kraus Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Claire McCall Books

Could I Have This Dance? (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
For the Rest of My Life (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
All I'll Ever Need (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perfect (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Stainless Steal Hearts (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fated Genes (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lethal Mercy (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stain (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chairman (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Serenity (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Salty Like Blood (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Six-Liter Club (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Heartbeat Away (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Open Heart (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lip Reading (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Drop of Me (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Between the Gods and Men (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Harry Kraus is an author and surgeon.

While not many writers get the benefit of being in the medical field to infuse their writing with medical realism, Kraus does. He operates as a board-certified surgeon and has been a medical missionary in East Africa, serving as a surgeon in Kenya. He practices surgery in the state of Virginia.

Kraus is a writer of fiction and nonfiction works. His work as a writer first hit the scene in 1994 with the publication of his contemporary fiction novel, Stainless Steal Hearts. He continued on to write several more novels that have come out over the years, mostly fiction. Among his nonfiction novels are Breathing Grace as well as The Cure.

He has gotten ideas for stories when he is wielding a scalpel. He likes to write stories that have gripping plots and considers himself as having a relationship with God. The concept of God’s grace is often included in many of his stories. He thinks that self worth and image need to come from recognizing God’s love instead of changing the way that we act.

He grew up with two parents, raised to be a Mennonite. He committed to following Christ when he was young. He is the son of a doctor as well. Ever since he attended college he’s been preoccupied with medicine.

While attending medical school, he got married to Kris Jantzi. Harry attended the Medical College of Virginia, graduating with his M.D. He would go to the University of Kentucky and train in surgery. In 1992, he became ‘boarded’ thanks to the American Board of Surgery. While in the U.K. completing his final year’s surgery training, Kraus began composing his first novel.

At the time, he was chief resident. He began writing Stainless Steal Hearts in Lexington in a hospital’s call room. He was busy at the time, spending a lot of time at the hospital, nights and days. At the time he had two sons and his wife commented that the timing might be bad. The future author decided to wait until finishing residency and passing exams on the surgery board until two years later to get back to work on writing the novel, featuring chief resident Matt Stone as the protagonist.

While many writers pursue writing through classes, majors, and workshops, Dr. Kraus has not followed the traditional path. He was trained in medicine as well as chemistry and biology. The only real preparation he had for being an author was loving reading. Before penning what would become his first book, his experience writing was limited to undergraduate term papers.

He had his first novel published and four more came out before Harry considered reading a book about how to write fiction. He says that while it worked for him, he wouldn’t recommend that others follow the same path. He considered himself a natural at coming up with plots, but acknowledges that he may have progressed faster in growing as a writer if he had consulted teachers of fiction quicker than he eventually did.

After conducting some research into how to write fiction, he wrote his book The Chairman and it was nominated for awards. He is married to his wife and they have had three children. His three sons can be seen in his books if you look closely. The author says that his wife is also the inspiration for the beautiful women in his plots. They live together in Virginia.

Harry Kraus is the creator and the writer of the Claire McCall series of fictional novels. The series started with the debut novel Could I Have This Dance? in 2002. The sequel would come out in 2003, For the Rest of My Life. The third novel, All I’ll Ever Need, was published in 2007.

Could I Have This Dance? is the first book in the Claire McCall series. In this debut, readers get to meet the main character of none other than Claire McCall, M.D.

Claire is used to being a fighter and not letting the odds get her down. She’s worked hard and her ability paired with determination has helped her nab an internship at one of the top surgical residencies in the nation. It’s a big way from where she started. However, Claire might just be about to discover that things like aptitude and tenacity might not help her when it comes to certain things.

The Stoney Creek Curse sounds like an urban legend. However, the people living in the same small town in the mountains that Claire grew up in believe in it. But could this curse be rooted in the truth? Is the superstition based in some type of reality that has the potential to totally tank her career?

She wants to find out. As Claire starts looking into this curse, it appears that someone might not want her doing this detective work. She may even be in the path of someone that wants to take her out of things all together for their own reasons. She’s trying to become a surgeon, but is realizing that she’s been out of touch with God and now needs her faith the most.

Can Claire find her faith once more in time for it to help her with a risky situation? Find out by reading the first book in this series!

For The Rest of My Life is the second book in the Claire McCall series.

Claire is worried that the same disease that caused her father’s disability could be in her genes too. She’s come back to Stoney Creek to help provide care for her father along with her mother and work there as a family physician.

She’s also seeing John Serelli and discovers an engagement ring in John’s car. She’s worried that he only wants to ask her to marry him if it turns out that she doesn’t have the disease. Claire flees, not wanting to find out the test results or whether he really loves her for her.

She pours herself into work. But when three of her patients have been attacked by a rapist after recovering, things start to get dangerous. Can she stay safe and trust God? Will John propose? Find out by reading this contemporary medical romance novel for yourself!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Harry Kraus

Leave a Reply