Book Notification

Haunted Home Renovation Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Haunted Home Renovation Mystery Books

If Walls Could Talk (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Bolt (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the House (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Home For the Haunting (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Haunting is Brewing (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Keeper of the Castle (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Give Up the Ghost (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Ghostly Light (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Curtain Call (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

A New York Times best-selling author of much repute, Juliet Blackwell has become an adept master of her craft having written intriguing and suspense filled mysteries for some years now. With a strong creative streak, she’s produced a lot as a professional artist, social worker and former anthropologist as well, all leading up to her current vocation as a critically renowned novelist who’s become highly regarded within her field. An American author, she has lived in a number of places across the globe, such as Mexico, Italy, France, the Philippines, Cuba and Spain to name a few, all before settling back in Northern California where she writes to this day. Holding a number of different credentials within higher education, she’s managed to gain a far deeper insight that’s unsurpassed within her field. An expert on world culture, she’s able to transpose her experience to her work and it shows, gaining her more and more readers day-by-day and building.

In regards to the Haunted Home Renovation Mysteries series, this is a popular franchise from Juliet Blackwell that shows her at the top of her game. With over six books in the series so far and counting, this particular line of novels were first brought to the public at large in December 2010 with If Walls Could Talk, as it fast became a best-seller that allowed a number of sequels to spawn from its success, right up to the sixth; Give Up the Ghost which was published in 2015. Featuring the story of Melanie Turner as their central protagonist, they chart how she takes over her father’s business, Turner Construction, after her time as a failed anthropologist. It is here in the San Francisco Bay Area that she discovers she can communicate with dead, which takes on a whole different path in life. Dealing with murders and other unfinished business, she decides to use her powers for good and solve the cases that went unsolved, all whilst ensuring the business runs smoothly and productively making her father proud.

If Walls Could Talk

Originally published on the 1st of December 2010, this was to be the book that first introduced the Haunted Home Renovation Mysteries series to the world, along with its central character Melanie Turner. Setting up the location of the San Francisco Bay Area, this really manages to get a feel for the world as well, providing it with the tone and style it needs to bring the pages to life for the reader drawing them into its vibrant landscape. The character of Melanie Turner is also well established here, offering a relatable personality that always ensured the readers came back for more.

Having made a good name for herself within the historic houses remodelling profession, Melanie Turner has built a reputable career that she’s proud of and is highly respected throughout the area. All that is about to be put to the test though as she finds her name and reputation is being put on the line by a new threat that could potentially be her undoing. In a Pacific Heights Mansion she finds the ghost of a murdered male colleague who came to a blood-stained end at the hands of a power tool. She must then ensure that the same fate doesn’t befall her as she goes about solving the case before the killer can strike again, leaving the home spirit free once more. Will she be able to find the killer in time and give the spirit the peace of mind it needs in the afterlife? Can she protect herself and her reputation in the process? What becomes of Turner as she begins to discover what happens if walls could talk?

Dead Bolt

Initially released in 2011, this was intended to be the direct follow-up to the first, acting as the sequel in what was to become a long-running and successful franchise from author Juliet Blackwell. Carrying on, it goes back to the San Francisco Bay Area meeting up once again with Melanie Turner as she is found to be still in charge of Turner Construction who have another new project to manage. As the character of Turner has already been well established for the readers, the narrative this time jumps straight into the action without missing a beat, immediately giving the audience what they want.

This time the San Francisco Turner Construction company has undertaken a Queen Anne Victorian of great historic importance, which it is attempting to restore to its former glory. Melanie Turner is not just finding trouble from the spirit world this time though, with a set of ghosts who seem intent on stopping her at every turn, but she’s also being bothered by the new owners who want to get in the way too. Then Emile Blunt, the cantankerous old neighbour who wanted the house for herself, is found dead under mysterious circumstances and it is up to Turner once again to solve the case. Will she be able to discover the truth and renovate the mansion? Can she keep herself out of harm’s way whilst doing so? What will become of her as she comes up against the mystery of the dead bolt?

The Haunted Home Renovation Mysteries Series

As formula itself has become a familiar one to the readers of Juliet Blackwell’s much loved franchise, so does her audience grow and grow. There’s plenty more stories available for Melanie Turner on the horizon and it appears that Blackwell isn’t going to be stopping this any time soon, as the series still has much potential to expand upon its source material. With a large environment to work within, this series still manages to retain the sense of warmth that made it most appealing to critics and readers in the first place. Whilst Blackwell is able to plumb new imaginative depths with each instalment, she’s also able reign it back in creating a sense of relatability that her audience are able to identify with. As the series grows from strength-to-strength this series will continue to carry on into the foreseeable future, as its appeal builds both nationally and internationally to worldwide acclaim.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Haunted Home Renovation Mysteries

Leave a Reply