Book Notification

Have Body, Will Guard Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Have Body, Will Guard Books

Three Wrong Turns in the Desert (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dancing with the Tide (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Teach Me Tonight (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Olives for the Stranger (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Under the Waterfall (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Noblest Vengeance (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Finding Freddie Venus (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cold Wind (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Same Page (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Madness of Husbands (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Most Expensive Spice (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Graveyard of God's Name (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Feet of Blue Pigeons (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Have Body, Will Guard 1-3 (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Have Body, Will Guard Series is a series of gay erotica novels by the Lambda Literary award-winning novelist Neil S. Plakcy, who also writes mystery and romance. The first novel in the popular series of novels was “Three Wrong Turns in the Desert”, that was first published in 2009. With positive reviews coming in heavy and the novels flying off the book shelves, Plakcy went on to write six more titles in the still ongoing series, which have just been as well-received by fans and critiques alike. The lead characters in the series are the gay lovers Aidan Green and Liam McCullough, who are bodyguards to several characters in the course of the series. The series of novels are thrilling reads that are set in exotic settings of Tunisia, that combine the experiences of the dream far away land and a steaming romance to make for explosive narratives. The lead characters come to know each other through mistaken identity and a chance encounter that leads bodyguard Liam McCullough and ESL teacher Aidan Green on some of the most dangerous and exciting of adventures. The novels are written in a light tone balancing the romance and action sequences perfectly in something akin to the movie Mr. and Mrs. Smith rather than the Jason Bourne Trilogy. Despite the author asserting that the novels are more action oriented, it is the romance between the lead protagonists in the novels that leads them right into the middle of political intrigues that places their lives and careers in danger. Plakcy is excellent in combining graphic eroticism and romance in thrilling narratives that are great beach reads.

The series of novels starts out as an action adventure series with gay protagonists in “Three Wrong Turns in the Desert.” However, the author believed that the market would be more receptive to a combination of gay romance and action sequences hence the mix of the two in the latter novels. Aidan and Liam who are professional bodyguards find that they have so much time on their hands that they are frequently having sex during periods of downtime. Their mission sees them protect one of their own kind a Muslim pop singer who has a fatwa issued against him after he comes out of the closet. However, things are never so simple in the Middle East as social and religious issues are often intermingled with political rivalry, which can lead to death threats and fatwas. Aidan Green starts out as an innocent looking Hitchcockian character swept into the adventure and intrigue of Liam McCullough, a professional bodyguard and ex-Navy SEAL. The two are soon running together on a wild adventure through the Tunisian desert after Liam’s client is murdered. Aidan grows over the course of the series to become a well-trained assistant to bodyguard that is more confident, though still uncertain of his skills, particularly when juxtaposed alongside those of his love Liam. His inexperience is one of his biggest demons throughout the novel series, which threatens to pull the two lovers apart. Things are not made any better by the fact that their clients are typically handsome gay men that are just as sexy and attractive to Liam.

The Have Body, Will Guard have hair-raising political assassination attempts and dangerous action sequences, even as they are chock-full of the sensual Orientalism of foreign lands. These are explained in intricate details such as the golden souk chain worn by Adan that was so light that it felt like he was holding glistening water on the hairs of his chest. Over the course of the novels, the author develops the two characters particularly focusing on the naïve Aidan. The novels reveal his background, insecurities, and natural talent in his new profession of bodyguard. In addition to the romance of the novels, Plakcy deals with the political intrigues of the narratives. The politics of fatwa for being gay are a constant theme in the novels that causes the lead protagonists to be even more determined to ensure justice and safety for the minorities and downtrodden. However, even as the author likes to write of the politics of social and moral values of the Middle East and how hard it is for gays to live in such harsh settings, the biggest threats to Aidan and Liam is themselves. While the two lovers get even closer together over the course of the series, their determination to protect the oppressed and persecuted often strains the relationship.

“Three Wrong Turns in the Desert” is the first riveting novel in the Have Body, Will Guard Series of novels by Neil S. Plakcy. The moment he sees him, Aidan Green knows that he wants to have sex with the Liam McCullough the tall and handsome man he spies showering naked in the courtyard of a Tunisian bar. Things do not go as planned as a couple of muscular hired thugs and a dead courier ruin everything. However, it is not long before the tall bodyguard convinces him with logic, smiles, and wiles to race with him across the Libyan Desert where a rendezvous with a Tuareg chieftain awaits. With no one to stop them, they get it on and explore Liam’s passion that he had kept under wraps for years when he was a Navy SEAL. Aidan is also enjoying the love that he had gone without for months after his long-term boyfriend dumped him. From a remote dune in the Sahara, to a Turkish bath to the back of a motor cycle, the two men bring each other to the heights of pleasure never before experienced. But in the midst of all the love making, they are running away from Libyan intelligence keen to find them and take away from them the password to a Swiss bank account with millions of dollars.

“Dancing with the Tide” is the thrilling sequel to the first novel in the Have Body, Will Guard Series. Sexy and gay pop star Karif al Fulan has just had a fatwa issued against him for being gay and now it is up to Aidan Greene and Liam McCullough to ensure that he is safe. But with the young pop singer so attractive, he is a threat to the fledgling love between his bodyguards. The story comes with passionate romps on remote island resorts, testosterone hits, guns, and bombs that make for one huge roller coaster ride. The two come into their own as they lead rock-throwing protests even as they now have death threats issued directly against them. Aidan and Liam always know how to get out of sticky situations. But this one is one of the most tricky of situations that threatens not only their lives and that of their client but also their love for each other.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Have Body, Will Guard

Leave a Reply