Book Notification

Healer’s Apprentice Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Healer's Apprentice Books

The Healer's Apprentice (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Merchant's Daughter (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fairest Beauty (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Captive Maiden (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Princess Spy (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Golden Braid (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silent Songbird (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Orphan's Wish (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Warrior Maiden (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Piper's Pursuit (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Peasant's Dream (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Healer’s Apprentice is the title of a historical fantasy novel by Melanie Dickerson. It is also the name given to Melanie Dickerson’s series of novels.

The Story

While usually varying in character and setting, these novels from author Melanie Dickerson share a number of characteristics and elements. All of them are wrapped in the guise of historical fiction, set in a time and place centuries past.

All of Melanie’s novels in this series also essentially attempt to re-invent classic fairy tales, Melanie’s efforts often seen in the way she tries to add a spin to these most famous stories, her characters carrying more weight and their situations less fantastical.

The grounded essence of these novels allows them to transcend the archetypes present in the typical retelling, Melanie instead attempting to tell stories that are as independent of the plots they are derived from as possible even while maintaining that spark common in age old fairy tales.

Whether it is Rose, a healer’s apprentice destined to never marry until she encounters Lord Hamlin, a kind man that possesses everything she might be looking for except for this engagement to a mysterious woman; or Sophia, a girl fighting to contend with the jealousy of her Stepmother, even as fate drives a young man into her arms, a chance of freedom finally emerging; Melanie doesn’t as much spin these tales anew as she does simply adapt them even while attempting to tell a compelling story.

The core of the healer’s Apprentice series of books lies in the mystery surrounding their origins; it isn’t until one consumes a considerable amount of Melanie’s stories that they can even begin to guess the classic Fairy tales from which each new novel in the Healer’s Apprentice series might have emerged.

Sprinkled throughout each novel are elements of Christianity emerging from Melanie’s own faith, each story crafted to deliver a message without appearing too preachy.

The Author

Melanie Dickerson is an American author specializing in Historical Fiction; earning her Degree in Special education from the University of Alabama, Melanie has peddled her teaching skills in a variety of places, these including Georgia, Germany and Ukraine.

Melanie is a member of the ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers) and RWA (Romance Writers of America). She was nominated for the Christy Award for her work on the Healer’s Apprentice, her first novel garnering Melanie the National reader’s Choice Award for Best First Book.

Melanie has a husband and two daughters. She has expressed a great love for Fairy Tales, particularly because of their happy endings, admitting that she undertook writing the Healer’s Apprentice Series as a challenge to herself.

Equally possessing a passion for history and romance, Melanie’s creative process requires her to force the mythical elements out of her chosen Fairy Tale; she has achieved success by essentially attempting to tell classic Fairy Tales as though they were real history; and while the task requires that she expand upon characters the original tales often presented in a vague manner, even while making several alterations with regards to the details of the story, Melanie always strives to maintain the essence of the original Fairy Tale in her novels.

The Healer’s Apprentice

Rose is the new Healer’s Apprentice appointed to Hagenheim castle. It is one of the rarest opportunities a wood cutter’s daughter could ever hope to attract. And Rose is determined to rise to the challenge despite the unease she feels in the presence of blood.

To fail would mean returning home, not only facing shame but the prospect of marrying an aging bachelor of her mother’s choosing. When injury comes to Lord Hamlin, Rose is tasked with tending to him. Despite her best intentions, new emotions begin to unfold within her over the period of time that she cares for him.

She doesn’t know how much of her feelings Lord Hamlin reciprocates; she also doubts it would matter. After all, Lord Hamlin is already betrothed to a woman shrouded in mystery. Rose will have to take control of the confusion in her life if she is to figure out her destiny.

The Healer’s Apprentice, the first of Melanie’s novels, could be described as a young adult book. However it isn’t quite like the average young adult novel. It attempts to tell a very simple and very clean romance story. The story is set in medieval times and Melanie does an impressive job of meshing history with fantasy, allowing her plots to flow organically into the events of the time.

Rose, the heroine of the story, is strong willed. She is also quite principled, yet her awkward and innocent nature allows her some charm. While young, she is far from naive or helpless and it isn’t surprising that she would prove so relatable to a number of young readers.

The story emphasizes the emotional journal of her character as well as those around her, even though some relationships do not receive the attention or closure they need, such as Rose and her mother.

The Merchant’s Daughter

Annabel once had the world at her feet as the daughter of a wealthy merchant. Now she grovels in indentured servitude at the feet of Lord Ranulf. Not only is the Lord a recluse around whom dark and terrifying rumors swirl, but Annabel must also contend with the advances of the revolting individual that is Lord Ranulf’s bailiff.

Annabel is determined to escape to a nunnery, her only salvation from her situation and the increasingly vile advances of the bailiff; yet Annabel is surprised to encounter security and even some sense of joy from the few encounters she has with Lord Ranulf.

Feelings begin to arise, emotions that Annabel attempts to stifle and which just might place Ranulf in a perilous situation. She will have to make some tough decisions, especially as her control over Ranulf’s heart grows.

Despite the essence of this book as a Christian romance novel, the story told within the pages of the Merchant’s Daughter includes wide ranging elements, from discrimination to honor and the place of forgiveness. The Christian motifs manifest throughout the plot’s progression, especially each time the story throws Annabel into times of difficulty, her faith allowing her to prevail throughout.

The Merchant’s daughter adapts the story of the beauty and the beast like very few that have come before.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Healer’s Apprentice

Leave a Reply