Book Notification

Heart of Texas (Donna Grant) Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Heart of Texas Books

The Christmas Cowboy Hero (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cowboy, Cross My Heart (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Favorite Cowboy (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cowboy Like You (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Looking for a Cowboy (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cowboy Kind of Love (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Largely writing paranormal, romance and suspense novels, the Texas based author Donna Grant is an American author with a lot to say, having reached a bestseller status over the years. A professional with a highly polished and focused manner in the manner in which she applies herself to her work, she definitely has a distinctive flair for the genres. With her own idiosyncratic style, she takes the format and works to move it in both new and exciting directions, allowing it almost leap off of the page for the reader. This has seen her readership expand exponentially over the years, with more and more discovering her working continually every day. It has also allowed her to say precisely what it is that she wants to say, in a straightforward manner that directly resonates with the reader on a personal level, regardless of where they come from. With a worldwide audience, her characters have a universal appeal, despite being mostly American, allowing them to transport the readers. Not only that, but she also manages to put forward a unique set of ideas, whether it be through her shorter stories, or her longer form novels. Combining both plot and character with skill, she allows them to both come together creating some unforgettable stories and experiences. One series that she has become extremely well known for over the years is her ‘Heart of Texas’ series of novels, which have been well received by scores of readers from across the world. Loosely related to one another, they are mostly stand-alone stories featuring romances and relationships with strong resilient men. This isn’t to say that there aren’t intersecting threads between the novels, with many characters and family members returning and featuring throughout the series, including many members of the Harper family. Mostly though, each novel focuses on a separate relationship set in the world of rural Texas, whilst featuring many contemporary references in its modern current period setting. The characters that have been created in the series by Donna Grant are also all extremely well defined and strong in how they are portrayed, standing out as fully three-dimensional personalities.

The franchise started out in 2017 with the novel ‘The Christmas Cowboy Hero’ and has been building steadily since then. Coming a long way in a relatively short amount of time, the series has really come in to its own in recent years, with it really allowing the personalities of it characters to flourish. This along with the continual world-building, it’s managed to set itself apart from other series in the genre by its sheer scope, scale and imagination.

The Christmas Cowboy Hero

Initially released through the St. Martin’s Press publishing house, this would originally come out in 2017 on the 31st of October. Setting up the series, it would establish both the world and the characters for the first time, along with setting up the overall tone of the series too. Giving readers a clear idea of what to expect in the books to follow, it manages to bring in many of the general themes and ideas too.

Needing to ensure that his family doesn’t lose everything that they’ve worked hard for, Clayton East the ex-Navy SEAL is coming home for Christmas. It appears that there isn’t much of a festive mood in the air though, with his father being ill and his family being in financial trouble. Then there’s Abby Harper who’s working towards her college degree, as she’s also looking after her younger brothers at the same time. When one of them is caught attempting to steal cattle from Clayton, he gives the brother a second chance, but that’s when he realizes that he can’t get Abby out of his mind. Will they become an item? Where will their journey take them both? What will happen to the Christmas Cowboy hero?

Cowboy, Cross My Heart

Released through the St. Martin’s Press publishing outlet once again, this would follow on from the first novel in the ‘Heart of Texas’ series. First published on the 28th of August in 2018, it would be released almost one year after the publication of the first novel. It would also echo many of the themes and ideas of the first, whilst also managing to stand on its own two feet at the same time. Later in 2019 Donna Grant would go on the publish the third novel ‘My Favorite Cowboy’, as well the fourth ‘A Cowboy Like You’ not long after.

Returning to her home-town in Texas, Naomi Pierce isn’t looking for love, or so she thinks, as she first arrives with the intention of photographing her best-friend now the Rodeo Queen there. That’s when Brice Harper steps up quickly catching her eye, as they’re both instantly attracted to one another after he sees her in the stands after riding in to the stadium. He then sees her up-close and the two instantly hit it off, and that’s when he discovers that her friend is being stalked by someone. Can he help her and her friend out? Will the two of them be able to find love and happiness? What will become of them both when Naomi declares ‘cowboy, cross my heart’?

The Heart of Texas Series

For fans of this particular genre they really can’t go wrong with this series, as it really does everything that it sets out to do, giving the world that it portrays a really tactile feel to it throughout. The characters also manage to stay with readers long after they’ve put the books down, allowing them to invest themselves in their worlds and relationships. Getting to know them fully, they empathize with them, whilst also allowing them to feel real in a very human and grounded sense. The landscape itself is also extremely well drawn too, as it’s brought fully into focus, thus ensuring that this series will stick around for a long time yet.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Heart of Texas (Donna Grant)

Leave a Reply