Book Notification

Heart Of Texas (Debbie Macomber) Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Heart of Texas Books

Lonesome Cowboy (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Texas Two-Step (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Caroline's Child (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dr. Texas (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nell's Cowboy (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lone Star Baby (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Promise, Texas / The Little Bookshop of Promises (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Return to Promise (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Heart of Texas is a romance series of novels written by Debbie Macomber

+The Story

Heart of Texas is a pretty conventional romance series. The books are set in the Texan town of Promise. The location is rumored to have a mysterious past. In fact, some of the books hint towards a supernatural element being present in Promise.

However, very little ever comes of that particular thread, at least in the beginning. The books focus on the people of Promise. They are ordinary individuals. And like everyone else, they have their problems, both physically and emotionally.

However, they are also warm people. Above all the things the world has to offer, the people of Promise value love, family and community. Those themes drive these books and they have persisted since the first novel which was released in 1998.

Debbie Macomber wrote many of the books over a relatively short period of time, and they do not really do anything new, at least for general audiences. Fans of the romance genre will find that these books scratch their itch for the genre, but everyone else is unlikely to be drawn to the stories.

The characters in the Heart of Texas series have dark pasts. They are also starved of love, many times through their own actions, having chosen to give romance a wide berth because of the hurts they suffered in years past.

One of the more notable aspects of the Heart of Texas series is the role the community of Promise plays in Debbie’s stories. The men and women of the town of Promise make an effort to get involved in the lives of each book’s heroes and heroines, showing an interest in helping these lost girls and boys find the happiness they deserve.

Because of that approach, Debbie is able to inject a sense of warmth into her books that isn’t always present in other romance series.

Debbie’s books have always been optimistic, and the Heart of Texas series is no different. The novels endeavor to deliver positively inspiring heroes and heroines who not only entertain but try to leave readers feeling encouraged and happy.

Like most of her books, the Heart of Texas series never strays beyond the borders of the town of Promise.

Because of Debbie’s Christian beliefs, her books have no explicit sexual content. However, there are sensual elements and the romantic aspects are not compromised by the lack of sex.

+The Author

Debbie Macomber was born in 1948. The author struggled with dyslexia as a child. However, she did not allow the condition to constrain her. Instead, Debbie persisted in her efforts to become a published author.

Even when a Harlequin Editor trashed her script at a romance writer’s conference, Debbie was undaunted. She kept writing and revising and submitting manuscripts until she sold her first novel.

Since then, the author has produced numerous novels in the romance genre, first with Silhouette Books, and then with Harlequin. The author began her career writing single titles.

However, she was eventually encouraged by her publisher to write series of interconnected novels. Debbie has made great strides as an author since she first became a published author.

While her efforts were initially geared towards producing romance-centered stories, Debbie has since evolved her tastes, choosing to write novels about women and their friendships. However, she has not completely abandoned the romance genre.

Debbie Macomber has won numerous awards for her literary efforts. She has also seen some of her books adapted into Television Movies.

+Lonesome Cowboy

Savannah Weston has spent many years watching over the family ranch, with her brother being her only real companion. After so much solitude, Savannah never thought that she could find love again.

But that is exactly what happens when she meets a drifter called Laredo Smith.

The first book in the Heart of Texas series is pretty standard as far as romance novels go. Savannah is a love-starved lady living on the family ranch. Her brother Richard stole the inheritance money and fled following their parents’ death.

For some time, Savannah and her older brother Grady have struggled to keep things together. Laredo is the attractive drifter that shows up just in time to meet Savannah’s need for affection.

Richard, the unscrupulous brother, makes an appearance and Savannah struggles to figure out whether or not he has truly changed. Overall, this book is a pretty solid romance. The pacing is appropriate and the story flows in an appealing manner.

The book is old-fashioned but that allows it to stand apart.

+Texas Two-Step

Glen Patterson and Ellie Sheridan have been friends since they were children. And as best friends, the pair has never given much thought to their situation. However, sparks suddenly begin to fly between them, especially when the People of Promise begin pushing them together.

This book focuses on Ellie Frasier. She lost her father early on. Then her mother moved to an unfamiliar place and left Ellie feeling alone and isolated. As such, Glen Patterson’s company was much appreciated.

Now that Ellie has received an inheritance, she has attracted the interest of Richard Weston who sees an opportunity to not only get rich but also drive his brother’s best friend crazy.

Glen isn’t too happy when he learns of Richard’s intentions to pursue Ellie. However, not being the brightest bulb in the room, he isn’t feeling too confident about his ability to woo Ellie.

There are things to like and dislike in this book. Glen is a frustrating hero. He is made to appear like such a foolish individual throughout the book’s run. Ellie, on the other hand, fails to stand out as a heroine, almost too bland for words.

However, the story surrounding the pair isn’t too terrible. Richard Weston returns once more and he is up to no good. And it looks like Debbie Macomber is setting him up to be the villain of the Heart of Texas series.

The story receives a decent resolution. There are a lot of things to cheer about, especially the decisions certain characters made. Richard is obviously terrible but he makes hating him very fun.

The book also sprinkles a few clues about the plot of the next book.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Heart Of Texas (Debbie Macomber)

Leave a Reply