Book Notification

Heather Fawcett Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Emily Wilde Books

Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emily Wilde's Map of the Otherlands (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emily Wilde's Compendium of Lost Tales (2025)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Even the Darkest Stars Books

Even the Darkest Stars (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
All the Wandering Light (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ember and the Ice Dragons (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Language of Ghosts (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The School Between Winter and Fairyland (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Grace of Wild Things (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Islands of Elsewhere (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Galaxy of Whales (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Heather Fawcett is a Canadian author. She was born and raised in Vancouver area of Canada. It is there where she developed her love of getting lost and wandering around in the wilderness.

She has traveled and spent long periods of time in the beautiful country of Italy, where she says that she ate a lot of pizza but didn’t learn a ton of Italian. She also has traveled to Ireland where she looked for selkies and puffins but was only in the end minorly successful at this attempt.

Before composing novels, Heather Fawcett worked in a variety of trades, including technical writer, archaeologist, backstage assistant for a theatre company specializing in Shakespearean productions, among other things. She also has a master’s degree in the area of English literature and wanted to become a professor in college before she realized that there would be slightly more to it than simply drinking a lot of tea, reading books, and donning elbow patches that are colorful or specialized outfits.

Heather Fawcett is currently represented by Brianne Johnson at Writers House. Her first novel was a big success before it even hit the shelves, as it ended up being purchased by HarperCollins/Balzer+Bray in the process of being sold off in an auction bidding war in a deal that included six figures and two books as part of the end deal. The book was titled Even the Darkest Stars.

She has a number of favorite quotes in her bag and a few favorite authors as well behind them, from George R.R. Martin to J.K. Rowling to Neil Gaiman. Fawcett also admits that her favorite books include Beowulf, Jane Eyre, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Howl’s Moving Castle, Anne of Green Gables, The Golden Compass, and Le Petit Prince. Her favorite television shows include the science fiction hit television show Firefly as well as other space-based shows such as Star Trek and Battlestar Galactica. She also enjoys Sense8, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and Survivor.

She enjoys such things as making lists, the Japanese art of folding paper (also known as origami), surfing, speaking French with a heavy accent, trivia, geeky trivia, and going to strange places and getting lost. She is a fan of reading, writing, and the outdoors.

Her first novel is titled Even the Darkest Stars, the first of a duo of books that share the theme. This debut novel is full of action and a strong fantasy debut for Fawcett, who was inspired loosely by the people who climbed Mt. Everest in the early days. If you are a fan of the writing of Alison Goodman and Cindy Pon, you’ll love this stunning first novel by Heather Fawcett.

When it comes to the book, Kamzin is a climber who has always had an interesting dream. She has always wanted to be one of the royal explorers serving the Emperor. These climbers were the most elite of the elite, and mapping the wintry and mountainous landscape is something that Kamzin is convinced that she really could be truly good and excel at. The only problem is that she needs someone to give her a chance to do it. That seems like it will never happen.

Kamzin finds that everything is suddenly changed around one day in a way that no one saw coming. She has started to think that her dream of becoming an explorer and spying on the enemies of the Empire would never come true. Then a great explorer comes into the scene and everything is suddenly different, with different things possible.

The River Shara comes into the town, and he is mysterious and very eccentric. He is also the greatest explorer that has ever been known. He comes into Kamzin’s village and not only does he show up and want to hire Kamzin, but it is real! It is not a dream that she is having while she is sleeping. Everyone expected that it would be her older sister, named Lusha, who is known for being a capable explorer and climber. But River Shara wants to hire Kamzin for his expedition, not her sister, and he will not be swayed from it.

For Kamzin, she is overjoyed. This is it! It is her one chance in life to prove herself. River Shara has a special mission assigned just to her– she must retrieve a talisman. This talisman is very rare and it will be retrieved by her and returned to the emperor. It also means that she will have to climb Rashka, which is actually the tallest and one of the most dangerous mountains in the Aryas region. When her older sister sets off on a mission to go to this mountain with a team explorer that is a rival and wants to get the better of River, there is a choice to make.

Kamzin needs to decide what the most important thing is to her in the world. She must choose between victory and be getting to the top of the summit before her sister Lusha does or she must try to protect her. Now Kamzin is a young explorer that has to pick between family or getting up the mountain. Even if she does get up the mountain, there is a lot at stake. There is the risk of dealing with all sorts of things that include avalanches and even scary ghosts.

There is a lot that comes with climbing the potentially deadly mountain that Kamzin never expected. There are dark secrets that come out and as she goes to climb the mountain there are tests at every turn that seem like they will never end.

It is actually worse than she prepared herself for, and with the challenges only getting worse, Kamzin must find out what really is the truth of the heart of her mission, and whether the company she keeps is truly on her side. She must also survive a deadly climb in the midst of all of this—can she really pull it off and live to tell the tale? Action-packed and intriguing, you’ll be turning every page to find out what happens with Kamzin!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Heather Fawcett

Leave a Reply