Heather Gudenkauf Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Weight of Silence (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
These Things Hidden (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
One Breath Away (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Little Mercies (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Missing Pieces (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Not a Sound (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Before She Was Found (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
This Is How I Lied (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Little Lies (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Thousand Doors(2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Heather Gudenkauf is one of the popular American novelists who has written a number of successful novels in her career based on the fiction genre. Most of the novels written by her have featured in the bestseller lists of famous literary magazines such as the USA Today and The New York Times. She is particularly famous for most popular novels titled One Breath Away, These Things Hidden, and The Weight of Silence. Author Heather was born in Wagner, which is a town in South Dakota, The United States. She was the youngest among her 6 siblings. When she was just one month old, her family moved to the Rosebud Indian Reservation located in the South Dakota. The family had to move because author Heather’s parents were employed with their respective jobs in their new hometown. Her mother got the job as a school nurse, while her father began working as a guidance counselor. Later, the Gudenkauf family moved to Iowa, when author Heather was three years old. Since then, they stayed there until Heather grew up. Because of her unilateral hearing impairment, which she has acquired since her birth, author Heather often used to indulge herself in reading various types of books as a retreat. She often laughs while describing how she used to spend a number of her evenings along with her father in making trips to the bus depots.

Both of them used to search her school buses for finding her hearing aids, which she often used to forget on her seat. In order to bring some more entertainment into her boring life, author Heather used to climb into the box of toys that her father’s students from the Rosebud used to make for her family as a gift. She would often get under her blanket with a pillow and a flashlight, so as to escape into the joyful world of the toys by closing its lid. Over the years, author Heather went on to become a voracious reader due to which the seeds of a noteworthy writer were planted in her. In the next few years of her life, author Heather completed her graduation from the Iowa University and her degree in the subject of elementary education. After that, she began working as a Reading Coordinator for the students of all the ages, and still continues to do so. As of today, author Heather lives happily in Iowa along with her husband and 3 children. Her family also consists of a Shorthaired German Pointer named Lolo. Whenever author Heather gets some free time from writing her novels, she likes to spend them in reading, running, hiking, and spending some quality time with her family.

One of the initial novels written by author Heather Gudenkauf in her writing career is titled as ‘The weight of Silence’. This novel was published by the Mira publishing house in the year 2008. The plot of this novel is set in Iowa, The United States, and revolves around the happenings in the lives of the primary characters named Calli Stark, Antonia Stark, Petra Gregory, and Martin Gregory. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, it is shown that two families in Iowa wake up during one morning in the month of August to find that their small girls have been missing from the previous night. One of the girls is named as Calli Stark, who is 7 years old, sweet, and gentle. She is also a dreamer, but suffers from, a medical condition called as selective mutism which has caused her to become silent since her birth. Her mother, Antonia, tried whatever best she could to raise Calli with love and affection, within the limits of her disturbed marriage to her angry and mostly absent husband.

Now, even though she does not think that her husband is involved in the possible abduction of her daughter, she believes that her decision to continue with her marriage might be the reason behind the loss of her daughter. The other missing girl is introduced as Petra Gregory, who is described as being the soul mate, best friend, and the voice of Calli Stark. But, she too was nowhere to be seen since the news of the disappearance of Calli began making rounds in the neighborhood. Petra’s father, Martin Gregory, becomes too much desperate to find his daughter and in his determined attempts, he gets confronted by a more intellectual side of himself, which he didn’t know that existed beneath his professorial demeanor. After coming to know about the disappearance of both the girls, their families begin to wonder what might have happened to them. In the end, it is described by the author the answer to all their questions lies in the silence of the unspoken secrets of both the families.

One of the other initial and one of the most successful novels written by author Heather Gudenkauf is published under the title ‘These Things Hidden’. It was released by the Mira publishing house in the year 2011. The plot of this novel is set in Linden Falls, Iowa, The United States, and revolves around the happenings around the lives of the main characters named Allison Glenn, Joshua Kelby, Brynn Glenn, and Charm. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Allison Glenn is depicted as a teenager, who gets sent to the prison because of committing a heinous crime. Due to this, her famous reputation as the golden girl of the Linden Falls gets destroyed forever. Even her parents feel so much shame about her crime that they keep denying her existence in their lives. They even seem very much shocked to see their once-perfect daughter change so much.

The friends of Allison exult the downfall of her and her sister named Brynn Glenn is forced to hear whispering rumors in the hallways of her high school. However, no one else knows about what had actually happened during the night of the crime, whose burden falls on the shoulders of the quiet and shy Brynn. The only thing that wants is to forget her sister and her haunting past life. But, after getting released due to a halfway house, Allison seems determined to speak with her angry sister. In the end, it is shown that the legacy of the secrets of both the sisters lies in a little boy. Also, if the truth gets revealed, it will bring unimaginable consequences in the their lives. An adoptive mother who loves the little boy very much, is also stuck in the middle of all the secrets, and it appears that the key to all the hidden matters lies with the Glenn sisters.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Heather Gudenkauf

Leave a Reply

No Responses to “Heather Gudenkauf”