Book Notification

Hector Malot Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sans Famille Books

Nobody’s Girl (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sans Famille (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boy Wanderer, or No Relations (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nobody's Boy (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Episodes from Sans Famille (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Conscience Books

Conscience (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Conscience — Volume 1 (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Conscience Volume 2 (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Conscience Volume 3 (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Conscience — Volume 4 (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Conscience, Complete (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Adventures of PerrineWindemere Series (1934)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nobody's Child: The Adventures of Remi (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Doctor Claude: Or, Love Rendered Desperate (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Hector Malot was a French author.

Hector Malot was born in La Bouille in Seine-Maritime. He went to Paris and Rouen and studied law in both places. However, even though he started in law, it as literature that eventually rose to the top as his supreme passion.

Hector Malot would go on to work for Lloyd Francais as a dramatic critic. He would also work for L’Opinion Nationale as a literary critic. His debut book would come out in 1859 and it is titled Les Amants. Throughout the course of his long writing career, Malot was able to compose well over seventy books in total.

One of his most famous works is the 1878 novel Sans Famille. The title roughly translates to Nobody’s Boy. It is a story that focuses on the adventures of Remi, who is a young orphan. He is sold off at just ten years old to a street musician by the name of Vitalis. The book became famous as a book for children even though it was not going to be sold under that guise.

Hector Malot is the creator and the author of Sans Famille as well as the 1893 work En Famille (which translates to Nobody’s Sister). The author said that he would be retiring from writing fiction in 1895. However, just a year later he came back with the book L’amour Dominateur. The writer also managed to come up with an account of his life in literature as an author.

Sans Famille came out in 1878. The book was very popular and was made into a variety of feature length films inspired by its release. The title translated literally to ‘without family’. However the English title of it goes by Nobody’s Boy. Subsequent translations of the book have come out. It was said to be inspired by the nineteenth century Italian street musicians. In particular, it was inspired by the harpists that played in Viggiano, Basilicata.

The plot of the story goes like this. In a small French town called Chavanon, Jerome Barberin resides along with his wife. He finds work as a mason in Paris, and one day he is there when he is shocked to find an infant boy. The baby is wearing very nice clothes. He wonders if his guardians are wealthy. He takes the responsibility of caring for him.

The boy is given to care for by his wife and they decide to name him Remi for now. Then Barberin ends up being injured. Blaming his employer, he hopes he will get compensation if he goes to court. But when that costs them money, the wife is told to sell their source of money, the cow, and to shuttle the baby elsewhere.

The wife decides to sell the cow and her husband comes home without any money. He lost the trial and sees that Remi is 8 but still there. He wants to make him someone else’s responsibility. At the local bar, he finds that an artist is there that travels around along with a monkey and his dogs. The artist says that he can take on the kid for money as an apprentice.

So it is that Remi departs and does not have the chance to farewell to his mother. She would have stopped this arrangement for sure. Traveling the roads with Vitalis, they do their best to try and survive. He shows him how to play harp and read, but they still manage to go hungry sometimes. He becomes like a father figure to the young boy and as their talents grow, they perform in all types of cities and towns.

They do increasingly well and they continue to put on shows. They go through a variety of places and have a number of run-ins and incidents. There are a variety of adventures that they go in. The two of them are in Toulouse when the artist ends up in jail after running in with a cop that’s rough on him. The kid is left on his own and they nearly go hungry until they are taken in by Mrs. Milligan and her son. Together they travel a lot of places and they see him off when the artist is out of jail.

Remi finds that he goes through different experiences one after the other. He is left with another man and sees how badly that they are being treated. When Vitalis passes away, he finds out that the musician was in truth a famous singer that changed his name to Vitalis and disappeared. There is much more that happens in this book and that is only the first volume!

En Famille is the title of a book also known as Nobody’s Girl. The novel came out and was translated several times also into English. There is also a series of Japanese anime that is based on this book that is titled Perrine Monogatari. It belongs to the collection of World Masterpiece Theater. Another of the books was also adopted and made as an anime that was titled Remi, Nobody’s Girl.

The story of this book follows a girl that is just 13 years old. Her name is Perrine. She comes with her sick mother to the city of Paris with just a cart. It is pulled using a donkey and the cart has their few possessions. When she stays in a field, her mother gets even sicker.

She needs to have enough cash for medicine to help her so she sells her Palikare to someone else, La Rouquerie. Even though she takes all of these precautions, her mother passes away. Now Perrine is left to be an orphan and is on her own.

She is very poor and goes on foot to find relatives. Her friend Rosalie ends up showing her some factories and allows her to live at her grandmother’s place for a small amount. She doesn’t want anyone to know her name and uses a fake name of Aurelie.

She can speak English along with a few others. As she grows closer to Mr. Vulfran, can he love her back? Or will he find out that there is something in the way? Read this book from Hector Malot to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Hector Malot

Leave a Reply