Book Notification

Heidi Perks Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Beneath The Surface (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Come Back For Me (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Her One Mistake / Now You See Her (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Three Perfect Liars (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Whispers (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Other Guest (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
For the Last Time (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Heidi Perks
Heidi Perks is a Bournemouth based English author of mystery and contemporary books who possess a unique way of telling stories in papers. A graduate of Bournemouth University, Perks enjoyed a successful career in marketing before she decided to leave it all behind and concentrate on writing and raising a family. Heidi applied for an online creative writing course to sharpen her skills and get some tips to help her in her newfound career. Perks enjoys writing about relationships, and she doesn’t mind turning slightly dysfunctional characters into heroes.
Her One Mistake
Her One Mistake is a thriller story featuring Charlotte, a mother whose life changes overnight when a friend’s child goes missing. Charlotte was looking forward to a fun and carefree day with her children and her best friend’s daughter Alice. Tragedy strikes when Alice goes missing. Charlotte takes her eyes off the kids for just one minute, and it’s like Alice disappears into thin air. A frantic search for the lost child starts, but even after looking everywhere, she is nowhere to be found. Now Charlotte has to tell Alice’s mum Harriet, that her daughter is missing and it’s all her fault.
Harriet is devastated when she hears the news. She is unable to talk to her best friend or trust her ever again. How can she explain how all her kids are safe when Harriet has to worry about her daughter? Going quiet on Charlotte can only mean that Harriet is isolated, and the fact that her marriage is also on the rocks doesn’t help much. Harriet has to go through the heartbreak of losing a daughter all alone. The police launch an investigation, and dark secrets about these two women begin to emerge. It is these discoveries that make Harriet realize that she needs her friends now more than ever. Also, confiding in Charlotte may be the only way to get Alice back.

Charlotte and Harriet are great characters that you will grow to love. The author has done a great job of developing realistic yet complex characters that make this sound like a true story. Told in both Charlotte and Harriet’s voices, the story alternates between the present and before Alice’s disappearance. There are intense moments, almost on every page, meaning that you are going to have a hard time putting this book down. All these devices add to the excitement making this an outstanding book in a world where numerous books about lost girls are readily available. There is a unique twist in there that will catch you by surprise.

Her One Mistake is a fast-paced story that will draw you in from the start and keep you glued to the end. The storyline is compelling, and you will feel Charlotte and Harriet’s pain on those pages. The suspense builds as the story progresses, and there are enough twists and turns that you will not see coming. In addition, this book is not so dark, and the happy ending makes this a winner. Discover what happens to Alice and the reason why she is the only kid who goes missing. If you are a fan of thrillers that come without blood and gore, this is a perfect choice. The book is slightly over 300 pages, and you can indulge in just one seating.

Come Back For Me
Come Back For Me is a magnificent piece that starts with the discovery of a body. When the long-buried body is discovered, everyone in this small island community is stunned. For Stella Harvey, the news is more than shocking. This is because the body is found in her childhood home’s backyard. Stella remembers how her family fled from this house without any explanation, and she is sure the body has something to do with this. Determined to uncover the truth, Stella makes a journey to the small island she once called home. Is it possible that her parents killed someone and buried the body in their backyard?
Stella, her siblings Bonnie and Dannie, and her parents lived on the Island of Evergreen. The Island was home to about 100 residents, but Stella liked it here. The kids are shocked when their parents announce that they are moving right in the middle of a storm. The sudden move left, Stella devastated. At just eleven years of age, Stella was not only leaving home she loved behind, but this would also mark the end of her friendship with Jill. No matter how much Stella resisted, her parents made it clear that the family had no choice but to move.

Immediately Stella lands on the Island; she is quick to pick the hostility directed towards her. The once welcoming community is now all hostile towards her. It’s evident that there are many secrets the community is trying to hide. So, who doesn’t want Stella digging around, and what secret are they hiding? Follow Stella on a journey as she tries to find the identity of the body found in her former home. Amidst the resistance, Stella is determined to find the truth and possibly understand why they had to move from their lovely home.

The book alternates between the present and the 90s when Stella and her family lived in Evergreen Island. The story is suspense-filled, and the rising tension turns this into an addictive read. Stella is a lovable character, and it is easy to identify with her emotions as she journeys back to her past. The other characters are consumed, troubled and multilayered, and this coupled with the swirling emotions, family drama, and deception turn this into a page-turner.
Come Back For Me is a sophisticated tale that highlights an intricate bond between family and friends. The tale shows how skeletons resurface despite our best efforts to keep them hidden. If you are looking for a captivating story that will have you hooked from the first page, this is an ideal choice. Join Stella as she discovers secrets that her family and friends would have preferred to remain hidden.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Heidi Perks

Leave a Reply