Book Notification

Helen Bailey Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Felicity Wishes Books

Friendship and Fairyschool (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dancing Dreams (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spooky Sleepover (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Felicity Wishes Fashion Fiasco (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secrets and Surprises (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Big Book Of Magical Mishaps (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Topaz Books

Topaz in the Limelight (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Topaz Takes a Chance (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Topaz Steals the Show (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Topaz Takes a Break (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Topaz Takes the Stage (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Topaz on Ice (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Crazy World Of Electra Brown Books

Life at the Shallow End (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out of My Depth (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Swimming Against the Tide (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Taking the Plunge (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Falling Hook, Line and Sinker (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Willow Of The Woods Books

Litter to Glitter (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Willow of the Woods (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Running in Heels (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Knowing Me, Knowing You (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Bad Things Happen in Good Bikinis (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

My Sister Tatiana, My Brother Ivan (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Love Affair with Borthwick Castle (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Loving Each Other Safely (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

British author Helen Bailey was born and raised in a village called Ponteland, which is located nine miles from Newcastle-upon-Tyne, she has one brother named John. She was born August 22, 1964. While in school, she daydreamed about other things that had nothing to do with her studies. She graduated from Ponteland High School and would later get her degree in physiology from Thames Polytechnic with the intention to becoming a forensic scientist. She liked the idea of people calling her Dr. Bailey and walking around in a lab coat.

Bailey would change her mind after the prospect of people thinking she was a doctor had gotten a lot less interesting and go into media, working in licensing and marketing campaigns for Nintendo, Garfield and Rugrats. Bailey found that she liked being in an office a lot more than working in a hospital. She would later run a licensing agency based in London that worked with some big time, well known characters and movies (like Snoopy, Dilbert, Felicity Wishes, and Dirty Dancing).

As an author, she has written novels for young teen girls, many books for smaller kids (the “Willow the Woodsprite” series, the “Topaz” series, the “Felicity Wishes” series), and a book written for adults (that is based off her blog, where she talks about how she got through her grief and her relationship with her husband, life after losing him, and the beginnings of her new relationship with Ian Stewart). Her career in writing starts much earlier than this, however, as, in her teens, she bought The Writers’s and Artists’s Yearbook with her own money and would spend time sending her stories and poems to anyone that she could think of. Some of the stories that she had written and submitted were bought by these publishers.

While working as a temporary secretary, she met and would later marry John Sinfield, who was the head of a licensing rights company. The couple would be together for a total of twenty-two years and were married for the final fifteen years; their relationship ended upon his death in early 2011 while her and John were both in Barbados. The cause of death was drowning. While still married to John, she got a dog in 2008 named Boris (a dachshund).

She would meet Ian Stewart, who is a widower himself with two sons, in late 2011. In April of 2016, Bailey went missing and was last seen walking her dog. The police would later arrest Ian Stewart, her partner for the last five years of her life; he was charged with perverting justice, murder, and preventing a lawful burial. He claimed that she was going to her family holiday home in Broadstairs (he even showed them a note, written by her, supporting this claim), but police were able to determine that she did not go there. In mid-July, her remains, and those of her dog Boris, where later found in the septic tank located at Bailey’s house in Royston known as the Hartwell Lodge. She was 51 years old.

“Swimming Against the Tide” is the third book in the “The Crazy World of Electra Brown” series. This novel was released in 2009. Everyone has a significant other in their lives, except Electra. Lucy had a fling with a french guy. Her other friends (and even her cousin, who somehow is dating a model) have someone. Whereas Electra cannot even get some ugly friend action. It really is not that big of a deal because the biggest though on her mind is to figure out what she will eat for lunch.

Fans of the novel really enjoyed the humor that was in the book; fans could not put the book down, they enjoyed it that much. Fans found that the book was perfect reading material for teens. Readers said that Electra Brown consistently delivered laughs, not just in this book, but in every installment of the series.

Some readers did not like the way that Electra is shallow, feeling that no readers, especially not kids should think Electra is a good role model for them.

“Taking the Plunge” is the fourth book in the “The Crazy World of Electra Brown” series. This novel was released in 2009. Electra is finally going to do it. Sorrell though she had (but did not), Lucy did it while in France, and supposedly Claudia has done it many times. They have all bet her that Electra will not be able to. She will even go out with the first boy that asks her; she is hoping that the boy is a prince, not some frog. She is extremely shallow after all.

Some fans enjoyed the novel for its wit, for how relatable it was to the tween readers, and how enjoyable it was to read. Fans found that the books keep getting better and better and could not wait for future installments in the series.

Some readers did not like how shallow Electra was, feeling that it sends a bad message to the kids reading the books.

“Falling Hook, Line & Sinker” is the fifth book in the “The Crazy World of Electra Brown” series. This novel was released in 2010. Electra has fallen in love with a boy. This guy is her type (expelled, testosterone packed, cute, and cool) and into her. The only problem, is that she currently has a boyfriend. She should break it off with her boyfriend if she is serious about this other guy, but she will not.

Some fans found this book to be the best in the series, they also felt that each and every book in the series gets better and better. They enjoyed the humor and Electra’s character, but admitted that at times, she can be horrible (she does not mean her horrible behavior). Fans liked the fluffy and lighthearted British children’s fiction reading to pass the time.

Some readers did not like the book and felt that Electra is a terrible role model for some kids, and that no kid should act like her. She is just a superficial character who does not grow, or have any depth to her at all.

She was nominated in 2010, for a “Queen of Teen” award.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Helen Bailey

Leave a Reply