Book Notification

Helen Carey Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lavender Road Books

Lavender Road (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Some Sunny Day (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
On A Wing And A Prayer (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
London Calling (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Other Side of the Street (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Victory Girls (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Slick deals (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Art of Loving (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Helen Carey has lived all over the world, and lives in Pembrokeshire, West Wales in a beautiful spot that overlooks the Irish Sea. Carey has worked many jobs and the many experiences working have featured in some way in her books. Her past jobs include travel agent, working in the British Army, a chalet girl, an oil trader, a waitress, and a management consultant.

She is a teacher at the University of Wales of Creative Writing and is a Fellow of the Royal Literary Fund. Her goal is to entertain with her work.

Helen Carey writes the “Lavender Road” series, and some stand alone work. Her first novel, called “Lavender Road”, was released in the year 1995. Carey writes romance and historical fiction.

“Lavender Road” is the first novel in the “Lavender Road” series, which was released in the year 1995. September 1939. The nation is getting ready for war, and the residents of Lavender Road deal with their own troubles.

Joyce Carter’s husband is in jail, and it is making her unsure of where she and the rest of her family’s next meal is coming from. Jen (Joyce’s troublesome daughter) is not helping any by refusing to work until she is able to achieve her dream and become an actress.

Pam Nelson is having a hard time denying the distance that grows between her and her husband. It doesn’t help that she is keeping her attraction to their handsome new lodger a secret. Unfortunately Pam is not the only woman to fall for his seductive charms.

The threat of Germans invading is on the horizon, and these women’s lives on this south London street are about to change until the end of time.

Fans of the novel found this to be quite enjoyable and entertaining; even some interesting true historical facts. Helen Carey is able to bring to life what the atmosphere of the time must have been like in London during the forties. It pulls readers into this story, which is populated by many characters who are captivating and quirky.

“Some Sunny Day” is the second novel in the “Lavender Road” series, which was released in the year 1996. September 1940. Luftwaffe bombs are raining from the skies in London, and the women on Lavender Road fight their own battles.

Shy Katy Parsons has forever been sheltered by her parents, who are over-protective. This war is her first chance to see what life looks like from beyond her bedroom window. She wants to enroll as a nurse, as it is her dream, but the reality is a lot harder than she thought it would be. Falling in love is far from plain sailing, too.

Louise Rutherford, a privileged woman, has secretly hoped that with the war, would bring some romance and fun. So far, it has only brought her grief and pain. Now she has a secret, it is something that her strict dad can never find out.

London becomes a dangerous place to live during the Blitz but the people living on Lavender Road never quit believing that a sunny day is coming.

Fans of the novel enjoyed this book more than the novel before it. Readers are able to feel like these are people they know. It was great to read about some interesting female characters, no matter what their ages and backgrounds happened to be. It has been a great ride, getting to know and love the well drawn and distinctive characters that live on Lavender Road during this time.

“On a Wing and a Prayer” is the third novel in the “Lavender Road” series, which was released in the year 1997. The residents of Lavender Road are pushed to their absolute limit in the war’s third year. It was hard enough in London in 1941, but things are made tougher by the constant anxiety for everyone’s loved ones and the demands of courage and the privations of war are added in.

For Helen de Burrel, the implications of being at war are made even more personal when she volunteers to join up with the Special Operations Executive. No one knows that under her cool exterior, she is concealing a lot of courage and quite a bit of fear. The year is 1941, and the sense that every day could be the last one she sees until its end keeps her going. It also means that love (when it finds her unexpectedly) is extra dangerous for her.

This one allowed readers to catch up with the residents of Lavender Road, who all feel like your buddies at this point in time. Fans of the novel found lots of action and a few twists really made this one worth the read. These are characters that you really care about especially at this point. The writing style really captures the times perfectly.

“London Calling” is the fourth novel in the “Lavender Road” series, which was released in the year 2016. It is going to take a lot more than Hitler’s Luftwaffe to break Lavender Road’s residents’ spirits. The war would be over if a shared sense of humor, courage, and resilience were enough to win wars.

It is not all harmony, however. Nurse Molly Coogan and Jen Carter (a would be actress) are not seeing eye to eye. Molly (not a fan of the strict discipline found in) is not impressed by Jen’s prima donna ways. Pretty Jen (who doesn’t know of Molly’s heartache) is unable to resist the chance to take out personal frustrations of her own out on Molly.

It is probably a good thing that no one knows what is coming. There are fancy dinners in the center of the West End, stolen glasses in the Flag and Garter.

This is a book that will make you laugh and cry at different parts of the book. Fans of the novel find that they love everything that Helen Carey writes and this one is no exception to this. The book is full of atmosphere, and is an incredibly enjoyable book. The book is real, poignant, and powerful.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Helen Carey

Leave a Reply