Book Notification

Helen Grant Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Forbidden Spaces Books

Silent Saturday (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Demons of Ghent (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Urban Legends (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Vanishing of Katharina Linden (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Glass Demon (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wish Me Dead (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ghost (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Too Near the Dead (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jump Cut (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

The Sea Change & Other Stories (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Uncertainties Volume II(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadows at the Door: An Anthology(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Great British Horror 6(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twice Cursed(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nightmare Abbey 3(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nightmare Abbey 5(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Helen Grant is a published author known for having a love for the Gothic and ghost stories.

She lives in Crieff, Scotland and has long loved everything to do with ghost stories and the gothic. She has even been described by Joyce Carol Oates as a ‘brilliant chronicler of the uncanny’. She has been a fan of M.R. James, the ghost story author, for all her life and has spoken at two conferences focused on the author and has also made an appearance at the Dublin Ghost Story Festival.

She attended Dr. Challoner’s High School and then St. Hugh’s College in Oxford. Her first book came out in 2009 from Penguin Books and is titled The Vanishing of Katharina Linden. The book made the short list for the Booktrust Teenage Prize as well as the CILIP Carnegie Medal. The author says that this book was inspired by the legends that were held in the German town that she grew up in for some time. It has been published in multiple countries.

She has published several other novels, including The Glass Demon, Wish Me Dead, Ghost, Too Near the Dead and Jump Cut. She also released her first fictional series with the release of the Forbidden Spaces Trilogy. The author has also had her nonfiction and short fictional work published in places such as Nightmare Abbey, All Hallows, Supernatural Tales, and different anthologies. Swan River Press published her book of short stories The Sea Change & Other Stories in 2013.

Grant says that she has always liked to write, even when she was just in primary school. She’s written a lot of things for fun, such as poems, short stories, and travel diaries. She wanted to write a book when she was young, but when she grew up she had a lot going on in life with kids and work to contend with. When her youngest child began kindergarten, Helen decided that it was finally time to sit down and write.

Overall, it took the author a year to finish her first draft of her debut novel, and another six months for revisions. Her book The Glass Demon also took about a year. She spends a lot of time on research before starting a book, and sees researching more as fun and inspiring than actual work since she’s writing about ideas that interest her.

The author will get ideas for her books from random places, sometimes an image or a piece of history or folk legend. This was the case with The Glass Demon, which was about Steinfeld Abbey’s very real case of a missing piece of stained glass that was found a century later in an English chapel.

Grant says that she usually has a book planned out before she starts writing it, but she doesn’t plan out every scene in detail. She’ll have a plot skeleton laid out before beginning, but needs to leave space for events and characters to develop. She tries to write a thousand words a day and if she gets to five thousand by Thursday, she’ll take Friday off. She likes to write in Word on her MacBook Pro and will be editing as she goes along.

The author resides with her family in Perthshire. She loves to write but when she is not busy doing that, she can be found looking through country houses that have been abandoned and go for swims in lakes that are freezing. Grant was a recipient of the Alex Award in 2011.

Silent Saturday is the first novel in the Forbidden Spaces Trilogy by Helen Grant. It was first made available for readers to enjoy in 2013.

The main character in this story is a young woman named Veerle. She’s just 17 years old and lives in the suburbs of Brussels, where she’s utterly fed up with life. But things change quickly from boredom to interest when she has a run-in with a secret society.

The members of this society break into empty buildings laying around the city, and the illegal activity soon introduces Veerle to an exciting new world that can also be dangerous, although she’s about to find that out for herself.

One of the founding members of the hidden society goes missing, and Veerle thinks that it’s anything but innocent. But she’s not also exactly prepared to take on this scenario, especially when an old enemy comes out of the shadows and into the light to play.

Veerle would love to see this thing through and find out what happened to the missing member, but she may think twice when she encounters The Hunter. Will she end up backing off when the risk is too great, or is she going to see this through to the end? Read this compelling book to find out!

Demons of Ghent is the second novel in the Forbidden Spaces Trilogy by Helen Grant. This book first came out in 2014 and continues the saga of this story, which concludes in the 2015 release Urban Legends.

Veerle is back again, and this time she’s changed thing up. She’s decided to go to Ghent so that she can live with her father and his girlfriend and just start things over again. It sounds like a great plan, but once she gets there she realizes that she’s pretty alone and feels isolated. It’s a pretty big change from where she used to live and it’s going to take some getting used to, she supposes. However, it turns out that she might not be as much on her own as she thought.

One day she is walking through the city when she sees a face in the crowd that she recognizes. The face is connected to the same past that she has been trying to get over, one revolving around murder. She’s used to dealing with deaths, and now some of them have been cropping up in the city. Has Death come after her here? Will Veerle be safe, and what exactly is she dealing with? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Helen Grant

Leave a Reply