Book Notification

Helena Marchmont Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bunburry Books

Murder at the Mousetrap (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Murderous Ride (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Taste of Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Ladies' Man (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Drop Dead, Gorgeous (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in High Places (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sweet Revenge (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sheep Secrets (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadlier than Fiction (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sinners and Saints (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the Magnolia Inn (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Poison Ivy (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lost and Found (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Night Falls (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Foul Play (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
False Truth (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dangerous Lesson (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Helena Marchmont is a pen name used by author Olga Wojtas (an author that was born and raised in Edinburgh, Scotland), and this is where most of her work has been published. Under this pen name, she pens the “Bunburry” series, which are cozy mysteries that is set in the Cotswolds village of Bunburry, which is located in the United Kingdom. The series began publication in the year 2018 when “Murder At the Mousetrap” was released.

Her “Bunburry” books have been described as “Oscar Wilde meets Miss Marple”. In one conclusion, Alfie even tries to draw out the killer, the way that Miss Marple has done in some of her stories to catch the bad guy.

“Murder At the Mousetrap” is the first novel in the “Bunburry” series, which was released in the year 2018. Alfie McAlister left London for the peace and quiet out in the country to get over his personal tragedy. An accidental death, which might not have been an accident, reveals that the center of England is far away from the tranquil backwater he thought it was.

After he gets to Bunburry, he gets co-opted as an amateur detective by Marge and Liz, who are two elderly women who were best friends with Alfie’s dearly departed Aunt Augusta. Quickly, their investigation takes an even further dramatic turn.

The book is full of quaffing real ale and fudge making in the village pub, which is matched by the undercurrent of jealousy, murder, passion, and hatred, which is all laced with a welcome dash of humor.

Marchmont has penned one of the most exciting cozy mystery releases for the past year. Some readers cannot wait to pick up the next book of this superb series. Here is a book that is going to appeal to fans of Agatha Christie fans, and is told with warmth and humor, it is simply a cozy and lovely read. This is an interesting character, in Alfie, who seems to accidentally solve the crimes with blunders and help from others.

“A Murderous Ride” is the second novel in the “Bunburry” series, which was released in the year 2018. Alfie finds out that he not only inherited a cottage from his Aunt Augusta but there is a fifties Jaguar that he gets, too. It dismays him, for his own reasons, as he no longer drives. Liz and Marge persuade him to begin driving again. This is just the beginning of his problems.

Alfie soon finds that it is a really bad idea to get on the local police sergeant’s bad side. Especially when Alfie is at a murder scene and the sergeant determines that Alfie is the killer. The only thing he can do is to find the killer himself. He will have to drive like he has never driven before in his life.

These are lovable characters and they have special quirks. This author keeps the reader invested and the story moves along. Marchmont has written another fun book that is simply incredible to get lost in for a while. Readers hope to get their hands on some more of these books and follow Alfie around for additional reads.

“A Taste of Murder” is the third novel in the “Bunburry” series, which was released in the year 2019. A local beef farmer’s corpse is found, and Betty Thorndike (a vegetarian and Bunburry’s only member of the Green Party) is in the frame for the crime. Despite what everybody thinks, Betty is not actually Alfie McAlister’s girlfriend.

Alfie knows well what it is like to be accused of a crime you did not commit, and enlists Marge and Liz (fellow amateur detectives) to help solve the case. There is just one issue with a farm based investigation. Alfie is terrified of cows.

“Death of a Ladies’ Man” is the fourth novel in the “Bunburry” series, which was released in the year 2019. The summer tourist season is now in full swing. One of the visitors is a guy named Mario Bellini. He is the owner of a gelateria and has film star good looks, and is considering opening an ice cream parlour in Bunburry.

Shortly after he turns up in town, he is found dead, a tragic accident or maybe something more sinister. Alfie is looking to find the truth with Liz and Marge’s help. Liz might be too distracted by the possibility of financial gain to be able to focus on the task at hand.

“Miss Blaine’s Prefect and the Golden Samovar” is the first novel, which was released in the year 2018. Shona Aurora McMonagle (a Scottish librarian in her fifties) is proud that she is a former pupil of the Marcia Blaine School for Girls. That being said, she deeply loathes The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie. Shona thinks Brodie gives her alma mater a terrible name.

She is now an accomplished martial artist, a musician, impeccably educated, and a linguist. Shona is thrilled that Marcia picked her to go back in time for a week long mission. She is going to head back to nineteenth century Russia to make sure that Sasha (a beautiful young man whose origins no one knows) and Lidia Ivanovna (an heiress that is orphaned, gorgeous, and shy) get together.

Despite every single one of her accomplishments and her good intentions, Shona just might have been given the short end of the stick this time. The body count rises, is she going to be able to find out who the real villain of this one is?

This is both an original and a fun read that keeps you rooting for the witty and terrific character of Shona, who is a confidently obtuse librarian. Part of the fun of the book is that Shona has a tough time seeing many of the clues that are right in front of her face. For many readers, this is simply a laugh out loud and charming book. Shona, and her modern approach to life in Russia during the nineteenth century, kept many laughing during their time reading the book.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Helena Marchmont

Leave a Reply