Book Notification

Hennessey and Yellich Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Hennessey & Yellich Books

Fear of Drowning (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deathtrap (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perils and Dangers (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Return (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
After the Flood (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Secrets (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Roads Leadeth (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treasure Trove (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dance Master (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hopes and Fears (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Chill Factor (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Legacy (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
False Knight (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fire Burn (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chelsea Smile (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Once a Biker (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Stone Unturned (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Turning Point (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Informed Consent (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deliver Us from Evil (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Aftermath (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Altered Case (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gift Wrapped (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dreadful Past (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Wrath (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Hennessey and Yellich” series by author Peter Turnbull is a police procedural that follows Chief Inspector George Hennessey and his partner Detective Seargent Somerled Yellich. Hennessey and Yellich both work for the Vale of York Police, in England.

Hennessey is a widower, whose wife died when their son Charles was a baby. The father and son lived together in the house and garden that was designed by the wife. Charles grew up to be a husband, father, and solicitor. Hennessey got a dog, walks to the pub for a pint of bitter (British for a certain kind of beer that is known to have a bitter taste), and reads military history books. He tells his wife about his day while in the garden, and walks around the town to get places that he needs to go.

Somerled Yellich (his first name is pronounced Sorley, not Summerland) is married happily to his wife Sara, and they have a son named Jeremy who has down syndrome. In general he is a happy man, both at his job and when he is at home spending time with his wife and son.

The series is a police procedural and it is set in York, England. The series is also considered cozy as the bodies die off-page. Neither Hennessey nor Yellich are a danger to anyone they interview. It is also a British mystery and is set in modern times. This series of books is meant for relaxation purposes.

“Fear of Drowning” is the first book in the “Hennessey and Yellich” series of books by Peter Turnbull. George Hennessey, a Chief Inspector, is working on a case trying to find a missing middle aged couple named Max and Amanda. They vanished with out a trace recently, leaving behind a modest home and children that are in adulthood. Hennessey draws the initial conclusion that there is some foul play here. He is later called out to a crime scene on a local farm where a shallow grave is found, and in the grave are two bodies. None other then his missing couple. This is the beginning of things for Detective Inspector Hennessey and the rest of the police squad. One thing that Hennessey knows for sure is that they were not killed because of a vast sum of money they had lost a quite sizable chunk of change recently. They were both engaged in affairs that neither one knew about. What is odd too, is how the son is acting throughout the investigation, and the cherry on top of the whole thing is that a family secret emerges.

Fans of the series say that even though the killer is a little obvious, you will still be interested in the conclusion anyway. Readers enjoyed the book, finding that they wanted to read more from this series. Some found the book to hold their interest even though there was not that much in the way of characters being developed.

Some have described this series as a dull procedural. Some readers do not care for the way this novel is focused more on plot than on character. Some go so far as to say that the characters are too bland to continue reading the story.

“Deathtrap” is the second book in the “Hennessey and Yellich” series of books by Peter Turnbull. A newshound named Cornelius Weekes is found, and most think that the case looks like a straight up suicide. But looks are deceiving. Hennessey, along with his partner Detective Sergeant Yellich, find out that the man who died was looking into a murder from almost twenty years before. Which piques their interest, and makes them wonder if someone is trying to cover up their murder and continue to get away with their killing. This case is connected to many unsolved homicides from the past. Including: another journalist who was slaughtered, a mentally ill female from a wealthy family, and a haunted young man. They dig deep and found out some unsettling things are going on. They also find that someone they thought killed her husband was innocent and even framed.

Readers enjoyed the book for its mystery, and the way that it focuses to the painstaking detail that the cops have to go to to actually catch a killer. Some find that Turnbull’s style is an acquired taste; with a sedate, old fashioned style, his novels are not for everyone. His books capture the atmosphere found in British mysteries. Readers found themselves unable to put the book down.

Some did not like the book and felt that there was little to the book that would make it a novel and felt more like it was a file recounting an actual case that was being solved. They felt there was little plot, characterization, and was on the bland side.

“Perils and Dangers” is the third book in the “Hennessey and Yellich” series of books by Peter Turnbull. A notorious blackmailer named Nathan Ossler is found dead in his home by his housekeeper in an armchair with part of his head missing. Which surprises no one as the man made people tremble before they paid him off, and want to die. That being said, who shot him with a .22 gun? Hennessey and Yellich must investigate what happened to the man, and they end up with quite a long list of people, as the man could not interact with anyone it seems without him threatening them in some way.

Fans of the novels say that he has an old fashioned writing style, which makes for a nice read. The book was wonderfully written by a man who is a master of the British police procedural. Fans of the novel enjoyed the way they were able to sit back and relax while reading the book.

Some readers did not like this book due to the fact that it is a departure from the darker and more intense books that Turnbull usually writes. Fans also noted dislike for all the typos that are found in his books.

Some found that the novel reminded them of an episode of “Law & Order”.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Hennessey and Yellich

Leave a Reply