Book Notification

Henry Kisor Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Steve Martinez Books

Season's Revenge (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Venture into Murder (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cache of Corpses (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hang Fire (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tracking the Beast (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Riddle of Billy Gibbs (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

What's That Pig Outdoors? (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Zephyr (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flight of the Gin Fizz (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Traveling with Service Animals (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Children's Books

with Deborah Abbott
One TV Blasting and a Pig Outdoors (With: Deborah Abbott) (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Omnibus Books

Porcupine County (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Henry Kisor is a retired book editor of the Chicago Sun-times. He is also an author of 3 nonfiction books, 6 mystery novels, and a co-author in a children’s book. Additionally, he writes on two blogs, The Whodunit Photographer and The Reluctant Blogger.

He was Chicago Sun-Times’ book editor from 1978 till he retired in 2006. His articles and reviews have appeared in the Washington post, the Los Angeles Times, the New York Times Book review, and on From 1977 till 1982, Kisor served as adjunct instructor of at the Northwestern University’s Medill School of Journalism. Between 1983 and 1986, he wrote a syndicated column every week that appeared in the Los Angeles Herald-Examiner, Chicago sun-Times, Seattle times, Orland Sentinel, among other newspapers.

In 1981, Henry Kisor was a finalist of wining the Pulitzer Prize for criticism. He was awarded the James Friend Memorial Critic Award by the Friends of Literature in 1988. In 1991, they also awarded him the Chicago foundation for Literature award for Nonfiction for What’s That Pig Outdoors? He received an Honorary Doctors of Letters Degree from Trinity College in 1991. In 2001, Kisor joined the Chicago Journalism Hall of Fame.

In his early life, Henry Kisor attended the Trinity College in Hartford, then joined the Northwestern University. His newspaper career began in 1964, working for the Evening Journal in Wilmington, Del.

Kisor lives with his wife Deborah Abbott who he has had two grown sons with, Collin who is an attorney with the United States Justice Department, and Conan, a writer and corporate communications editor for Boeing. The couple also has two grandsons, Conan Emmet Kisor and William Henry Kisor; two granddaughters, Alice Flynn Kisor and Elizabeth Maria Kisor.

. Kisor’s deafness adds an element of danger and complexity to the journey. The book offers an interesting aviation folk. It is an empowering tale for a reader who may be experiencing physical deficit.

Henry has written a series of mystery novels that are set in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. They include the following.

Season’s Revenge (2003)

It is a story of a deputy in the Upper Peninsula who is in the process of looking into a few small town cases, and unravels a mystery.

Native American Steve Martinez has been the deputy of the remote Porcupine County in Michigan for the past seven years. It is a place that is peaceful and serene with the most serious case being to deal with disorderly drunks. A local bigwig called Paul Passoja dies in an unsuspicious death due to a heart attack after being mauled by a bear. However, some small clues make Steve suspect there might have been foul play. He then finds himself in the middle of a dangerous investigation. The solution of the mystery involves marital infidelity, business chicanery, and tortured animals.

A Venture into Murder (2005)

Also based in the Upper Peninsula of Porcupine County, Steve Martinez solves murders that are rooted in a local street. It starts with a discovery of a corpse which arouses the interest of Alex Kolehmainen, a state police detective. Alex teases Steve because of his lack of experience with major crimes and meager resources. The corpse of Danny Impellitteri, a local mob enforcer and another of Frank Saarinen are identified. Further investigations reveal past unsolved crimes of a local mine. Steve’s blossoming relationship with his sidekick Ginny Fitzgerald becomes a bit rocky when Ellen Garrigan, a drunken divorce starts to make passes at the deputy.

Cache of Corpses (2007)

In this book, various corpses begin to pop up in Porcupine County. Steve in addition to investigating the crimes, faces a tough election against the arrogant Eli Garrow for county sheriff. He is also trying to befriend Tommy, the adopted son of Gin, his longtime love. He finally finds out that someone is hiding the bodies for others to find using their GPS and wits.

Hang Fire (2013)

Porcupine County is holding a reenactment of the Revolutionary War. Sheriff Martinez has been urged by the county board to ensure everything runs smoothly. His role becomes official when a teacher, Gloria Lake dies of a musket shot. While investigating, Martinez soon realizes some hidden secrets about the Mountain Men. He then tries to solve several musket murders.

Tracking the Beast (2015)

A little girl’s bones found on a train in Omaha find their way back to Martinez’s jurisdiction. More skeletal remains are found in Philadelphia and North Dakota. Both State Troopers and the FBI need help in solving the cases. Visiting Dominic Benedetto, the crime boss reveals new information to the cases.

Kisor’s nonfiction works include the following:

What’s That Pig Outdoors? (2010)

In this memoir, Kisor tells of the drive his parents had while raising him. He tells of how they taught him effective-lip reading skills while he was still young and encouraged him to communicate with his peers who could hear. He narrates of his time at Trinity College where he was the only deaf person, and then as a graduate studying at Northwestern University. Kisor further talks of his successful career at Chicago Daily News and Chicago Sun-Times.

Zephyr: Tracking a Dream across America (1994)

Kisor narrates of his adventures as he travel on the California Zephyr, a legendary transcontinental train that moved from Chicago to L.A. He loves the crew, the train, the porters, the chefs, and the encounters he had inside. Kisor is very knowledgeable about the food, from how it is gathered, cooked, and then served. The author also explains about the mating rituals, the charged atmosphere and the women’s predatory nature. Generally, he attempts to bring to light the traditions of Ship of Fools, where worthless passengers ride a great train that is served by not only caring but also a conscientious crew.

Flight of the Gin Fizz: Midlife at 4,500 Feet (1997).

It tells of a story of a deaf editor-writer who learns how to fly and pilot Cessna cross-country. Kisor tells of two stories at the same time, both interspersing describing his day-to-day experience with a parallel description of Cal Rodger’s travel, a pilot who made the trip back in 1911 while having hearing loss. Kisor’s deafness adds an element of danger and complexity to the journey. The book offers an interesting aviation folk. It is an empowering tale for a reader who may be experiencing physical deficit.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Henry Kisor

Leave a Reply