Heroes For Hire Books In Order

Publication Order of Heroes for Hire Books

Running for Cover (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Running Scared (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Running Blind (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lone Defender (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Private Eye Protector (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Undercover Bodyguard (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Navy SEAL Rescuer (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fugitive (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Defender for Hire (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Logan's Light (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Harrison's Heart (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Saul's Sweetheart (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dakota's Delight (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tyson's Treasure (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Jace's Jewel (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Rory's Rose (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Brandon's Bliss (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

The Heroes for Hire series is an action-thriller, mystery, and suspense books written the popular American author named Shirlee McCoy. It consists of 9 books in total, which were released between the years 2010 and 2013. Each and every novel of this series depicts a different set of central characters. Author Shirlee has described them getting involved in various mysterious situations that make them fight hard to come out of them. The debut novel of the series is titled as ‘Running For Cover’. The Steep Hill publication it in the year 2010. The main characters of this book include Morgan Alexandria and Jackson Sharo. The book opens by showing that Morgan Alexandria escapes to Virginia in order to leave behind her past. But, she does not seem to get away with it so easily. Because of the shady dealings of her husband, someone is after Morgan. If Jackson Sharo would not have come to her rescue, she might have been dead long ago. But, Morgan still doubts whether Jackson can be trusted because the former army man from big city is mainly a stranger for her. Whenever Morgan tries to handle everything by herself, without the support of Jackson, she keeps getting coming across new disasters. Therefore, she is forced to take Jackson’s help in order to avoid getting into major problems. Jackson Sharo had arrived in Lakeview, Virginia to attend the wedding of one of his friends named Jude Sinclair. Previously, he used to work with Jude as a detective in New York, but now, he has joined the Information Unlimited and works under Kane Dougherty as a private investigator. He goes to a local gallery to buy a wedding gift and notices that the shop owner was in bad shape. When she tells him to come back tomorrow, Jackson becomes absolutely sure she is in problem.

Just when Jackson is about to break into the building to check on her, she comes running into his arms. Morgan was badly beaten by some men, who had broken into her shop, and was almost dead. Morgan’s ex-husband named Cody had told the men that she possessed a disk which she did not actually have. And when they could not find it, they harmed her. When Jackson had first rang her doorbell, Morgan hoped that the handsome man would help her. But, the goons were already inside the shop and had put a gun on her. Knowing that if she asked for help at that time, both of them would get killed. So, she avoided asking for help from Jackson. Seeing the injured Morgan in his arms, Jackson quickly rushes to the hospital. Jackson learns her tragic story after she gains consciousness and promises that he would look after her and make sure she is safe. Morgan thinks that it is just another promise from a stranger which does not have any real meaning. She had already learned her lessons with Cody. But, after realizing that Jackson actually stayed back for her until she recovered fully, she begins to fall for the handsome Jackson Sharo for keeping his word like a real man. And when he decides to head back to Washington to be with his parents, Morgan becomes worried. So, Jackson asks her to come along. She goes on to stay with her Aunt Helen in a cabin in Washington, but trouble keeps following her. All her life, she had tried to be independent, but letting Jackson help her seemed easy for her. Author Shirleee has also mentioned a secondary story in the plot, which shows that Morgan was abandoned when she was 9 years old in Latvia. Her older brother and younger sister were separated from her, whom she has been searching even today. Jackson had a sister who was killed several years ago. He had the guilt in his heart that he could not protect her. Due to this feeling, he was determined that he would not let any harm come to Morgan.

The next book to be released in this series is titled ‘Running Scared’. The Steepe Hill published this book also in 2010. Author Shirlee has depicted the lead characters in this book as Maggie Tennyson and Kane Dougherty. At the beginning of the story, it is shown that the son of Kane Dougherty, who was kidnapped around 5 years ago, has been found recently because of Maggie Tennyson. Now, in order to show his gratitude to Maggie, private investigator Dougherty wishes to take her out. But, he does not understand why she keeps pushing him away. As for her, she feels thrilled that she helped unite the father and son pair. And now, she just wants that Kane leaves her alone and enough of him showing gratitude. She knows that if he stays close to him, it could prove dangerous for his life. Maggie Tennyson understands very well that her shadowy past may play a spoil sport for both of them. And this is the reason why she is not ready to get into any kind of relationship with Kane Dougherty. However, Kane is also determined to protect her and refuses to leave her like that. And when the next a danger comes near Maggie, Kane is sure that she will have a hero by her side, whether or not she wishes to have him.

Maggie had a rough childhood when she used to live in Miami, Florida. She considers herself lucky to have been able to come out from there and live a peaceful life in Washington. As a child, she was not able to choose her lifestyle, but when she became a grown up teen she started living on her own terms. Maggie got addicted to drugs and on multiple occasions she got treated for a drug overdose. It was after her grandmother’s death that she realized she was headed on a wrong path. Finally, Maggie decided to change her lifestyle. Kane had already lost his wife and after a few years his 4 year old son named Eli was kidnapped. He got broken by this and gave up his career as a lawyer. To find his son, he started a private investigating firm called Information Unlimited. Five years later, he gets back his with Maggie Tennyson’s help. When the sheriff informed Kane about Maggie, he decided to reward her with some money. But, Maggie did not want to come into the limelight for helping find Eli. The only thing that she wanted from Kane was anonymity. Along with these two chief characters, the other supporting characters introduced by author Shirlee in the series include Kane’s sister Jenna, who is suffering from cancer, an Edith, who is the landlady of the cabin in which Maggie live.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Heroes For Hire