Book Notification

Heroes in Training Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Heroes In Training Books

Zeus and the Thunderbolt of Doom (By:Suzanne Williams,Joan Holub) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Poseidon and the Sea of Fury (By:Suzanne Williams,Joan Holub) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hades and the Helm of Darkness (By:Suzanne Williams,Joan Holub) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hyperion and the Great Balls of Fire (By:Suzanne Williams,Joan Holub) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Typhon and the Winds of Destruction (By:Suzanne Williams,Joan Holub) (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Apollo and the Battle of the Birds (By:Suzanne Williams,Joan Holub) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ares and the Spear of Fear (By:Suzanne Williams,Joan Holub) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cronus and the Threads of Dread (By:Suzanne Williams,Joan Holub) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crius and the Night of Fright (By:Suzanne Williams,Joan Holub) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hephaestus and the Island of Terror (By:Suzanne Williams,Joan Holub) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Uranus and the Bubbles of Trouble (By:Suzanne Williams,Joan Holub) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Perseus and the Monstrous Medusa (By:Suzanne Williams,Joan Holub) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hermes and the Horse with Wings (By:Suzanne Williams,Joan Holub,Tracey West) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dionysus and the Land of Beasts (By: Tracey West) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Zeus and the Dreadful Dragon (By: Tracey West) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hercules and the Nine-Headed Hydra (By: Tracey West) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Alkyoneus and the Warrior Queen (By: Tracey West) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Zeus and the Skeleton Army (By: Tracey West) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

With a serious approach on ancient Greek mythology, Olympian gods, mythical creatures and famous tales, Joan Holub & Suzanne Williams deliver us some great classical stories with big creative spin ups on these millenary fantasies, with the “heroes-in-training” series of books. The saga gives us something that not many people would wait in ancient stories like the Greek mythology ones, a refreshing and captivating change.

We have all heard about those fantastic mythological stories about Hades, the god of the underworld, Poseidon, the god of the sea and Zeus, the god of all gods; and how these 3 brothers used to run the world in harmony and peace many centuries ago. Well, in the Heroes-in-Training series, the main story still about these powerful gods, but in a completely different era. Yes, you read that, the saga focuses on how these big heroes achieved the position of the three most important gods of the twelve Olympians; and trust us, it was not easy, because they were no more than 10 years old at the time.

Hades, historically known as the god of the underworld, is represented in the series as a young and intrepid kid, how loves the dark and the smell of sulfur. Poseidon, the majestic god of the sea, and this is a great twist, is just a kid who can’t swim, and he is terrified of water. Zeus, in the other hand, the famous god of all gods, remains with a similar personality than in the classical stories, he is a brave kid who loves adventure, but has never been far away from the cave where he grew up. Also, he keeps getting hit by lightning every year, a weird coincidence.

The first three books of the series are dedicated to one of them each, how they were as little kids, how they discovered their superhuman powers, and how did they fought in a lot of different environments to end with the domination of the terrible Titans. The Titans were a group of malicious giants that used to run the world, but everything was just in chaos. The young kids will have to go toe to toe with titans like Oceanus (the famous personification of the sea), Cronus (historically known as the main leader of the first generation of titans), and many more.

These young, but brave mini gods travel through a lot of incredible scenarios during the series, trying to save the world, one titan at a time, and sometimes more than one. But, even imprisoning the terrifying Titans is the main goal of these guys, they will have to face more than one risk besides them. The ancient Greece is full of mythological creatures, with amazing powers beyond imagination, and Hades, Poseidon and Zeus are not exempt from these threats. The underworld, the ocean’s depth and the little-known lands are full of dark creatures, that these Young kids have never seen.

We are sure most of you know something about Medusa, described as a winged human female with a hideous face and venomous snakes in place of hair, or about Perseus, the greatest Greek hero and slayer of monsters before the days of Heracles. Well, as the series goes on, the narrative does not remain only in the deeds of these young heroes. The story of many other gods is told, again with some great twists. Also, some famous mythological stories integrate new characters to the series, like Perseus & the Monstrous Medusa, Apollo, Typhon and many others.

The books may not be too long but, but we believe that it has a great length for kids. It is acceptably deep in most of the principal characters, and tries to give the readers a great view of the secondary characters as well. It develops a narrative that really motivates a child to read, because it is colorful, not very extensive, and tries not to get lost in the details that most of young readers are not interested in.

This is a complete series of books directed to kids and young teenagers, and we truly could not find another better book for the young ones. These books are a great way to introduce your kids not only to the beautiful habit of Reading, but to the magnificent world of the Greek Mythology. This saga goes beyond a simple story of Greek mythology with a twist in the times of the stories, it is a group of children exploring beyond what they know, challenging horrors and their greatest fears, and fighting for their fondest dreams. The Heroes-in-Training series is really a collection of inspirational and motivational stories that go beyond expectations when it comes to infantile fables.

From the familiar point of view, the book represents a way of bond between generations. How these old stories have been passed from one generation to another, so today they are developed with a completely different perspective, but based on the same mythological principles.

Finally, there is truly a very nice plot in all chapters of the series; there are no boring moments, and it keeps the public with high expectations of what’s going to happen at most of the reading time; which represents a key factor when talking about kid’s literature specially.

There are currently 11 books available conforming the series: Zeus & the Thunderbolt of Doom, Hades & the Helm of Darkness, Poseidon & the Sea of Fury, Hyperion & the Great Balls of Fire, Apollo & the Battle of the Birds, Typhon & the Winds of Destruction, Ares & the Spear of Fear, Crius & the Night of Fright, Cronus & the Threads of Dread,Hephaestus & the Island of Terror and Uranus & the Bubbles of Trouble. But this is definitely not the end for this fantasy series of books, since there is some great material coming soon, like Perseus & the Monstrous Medusa, the book number 12 of the saga, that is going to be on sale starting the 4-12-2016, so be prepared to continue this journey with the “Heroes-in-Training” Series.

So, do you want to join these young group of little Olympians as they battle the evil titans? Go and get The Heroes-in-Training series now.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Heroes in Training

Leave a Reply