Book Notification

The Heroes of Olympus Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Heroes of Olympus Books

The Lost Hero (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Son of Neptune (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mark of Athena (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House of Hades (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Blood of Olympus (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Heroes of Olympus Companion Books

The Demigod Diaries (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Camp Half-Blood Confidential (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Heroes of Olympus: The Graphic Novels Books

By: Rick Riordan, Robert Venditti
The Lost Hero (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Son of Neptune (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Heroes of Olympus a collection of fantasy novels created by author Rick Riordan. They are a continuation of the very popular series, Percy Jackson & The Olympians. The story continues from where it left off in the final novel of the Percy Jackson series. The series focusses on the adventures of seven demigods and their attempts to prevent the earth goddess Gaia from awakening. Knowledge of a prophecy surrounding the future of the seven demigods is provided in the pages of The Last Olympian, which was the fifth and final book in the Percy Jackson series. The prophecy refers to seven demigods in particular, some of which are already known.

Teenage Gods

The Heroes of Olympus is an appealing series and a must read for anyone who has followed the Percy Jackson series. Familiar places such as Camp Half-Blood are back as are many of the characters and creatures. What truly makes this series fly is the way in which the classic ideas of Greek and Roman mythology and wound together and become a part of everyday modern life. These are ancient powerful beings living among the average population. These novels are aimed at a teenage crowd which, has some notion of the pantheon of the Greek and Roman deities. The characters are still teenagers in both their age, experience and attitude toward what must be done. They rise to the occasion when needed, but with a fragility and self-doubt that is usually apparent for children of this age. Furthermore while all of the surreal adventures are occurring there is still time for romance and other teenage pursuits.

The Lost Hero: An opening to a new chapter

To say that The Lost Hero is the beginning of a new series would be somewhat of a lie. It is more like the opening of a new chapter in an already established and growing tale. Nonetheless it is the beginning The Heroes of Olympus and of a new story line for the modern day demigods. There is one difference from the Percy Jackson series. There are not only Greek demigods, but Roman ones as well. The novel opens 3 months after the finale of The Last Olympian. The novel begins with the introduction of a new character: Jason Grace who awakens on a school bus unable to remember where or even who he is. He has two classmates, Piper and Leo, sitting next to them who know his name and Piper informs him that she is his girlfriend. He also finds out that they are on a field trip from the Wilderness School, which is a boarding school for delinquents. Once they arrive at their destination, the Grand Canyon, one of their classmates turns out to be a storm spirit and begins to battle the three friends. Everyone, including Jason himself, is shocked when one of his coins turn into a sword and he battles the foe. At the end of the fight a flying chariot appears and Annabeth Chase, from the first series, takes the three surprised children with her. They discover that they are demigods are brought to camp Half-Blood. The new demigods are thrust into action and Jason’s memory begins to return and he remembers that he is in fact the son of Jupiter and was a hero from camp Jupiter.

The Son of Neptune: Percy is back

The end of the first novel The Lost Hero gave the reader insight into the whereabouts of Percy Jackson. When Jason Grace’s memory returns it is divulged that his place at Camp Jupiter was taken by Percy, who will likely be afflicted with the same amnesia that afflicted Jason. Eventually Percy embarks on a quest to Alaska to free Thanatos who has been captured and can no longer keep mortals dead. Percy struggles with his memory loss during the quest. The only clear memory he has is of Annabeth. Eventually Percy begins to regain his memory during his trials. In the end Percy and his cohorts manage to free Thanatos and in the process must face a giant. After these trials Percy regains his memory as he is traveling back to Camp Jupiter. Upon his arrival he finds the camp under attack and he leads the Romans into battle. He leads them to victory and challenges the giant Polybotes the sworn enemy of his father Neptune/Poseidon. With the help of Terminus he defeats the giant and is heralded as leader of the Roman camp. In the end Percy manages to allow the Greek and Roman demigods to join forces. The Argo II arrives carrying the characters from the first novel and Percy is reunited with his girlfriend. The group of demigods has grown and the prophecy continues to advance.

The Series on Film

Although there are no immediate plans to make this series into movies, there are already two Percy Jackson movies that have been released. Although these were not widely praised by critics they did turn in a sizable profit. There is already a deal in place for a third film in the series. If the films continue to be profitable at the box-office, it can be assumed that the first series will be filmed in its entirety, and The Heroes of Olympus series can then be undertaken. If you want to get an idea of the type of characters that are involved in the series, the first two films can give you a good idea.

The End

The Heroes of Olympus is slated to be a series of five novels which will be completed in October of 2014. The characters are rich and the possibilities endless when dealing with a mythological element. We cannot look at the end of this series as necessarily being the end of the Camp-Half Blood and Camp Jupiter adventures. Perhaps the characters involved in the first two series will grow up and no longer be the focus of future stories, but that does not mean that the setting and premise need disappear. The tales are exciting and enthralling for young readers. Hopefully The Heroes of Olympus is just another part of a series of stories that will continue to grow and entertain future generations of young readers.

Book Series In Order » Characters » The Heroes of Olympus

Leave a Reply