Book Notification

Hidden Cove Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Hidden Cove Firefighters Books

After the Fire (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
On the Line (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nothing More to Lose (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
America's Bravest (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Too Deep (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
It Had to Be You (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chasing the Fire (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fire Inside (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Burning Passion (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Take Me Back (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Hidden Cove Firefighters is a book series written by the novelist Kathryn Shay. The author of the series is a well-known writer, beginning her first novel, a romance short story, when she was 15 years old. Hidden Cove Firefighters is a book series that was based on Kathryn Shay’s five-year experience in a large city fire department, where she was riding fire trucks and interviewing hundreds of those brave firemen. The novels describe the intense life of firefighters, along with their sentiments and their personal lives.

The story

The storyline evolves around the lives of three firefighters who are siblings. After a tragic fire incident, they take vows to make important changes in the way they live their life. Each of them has a unique problem to deal with. The oldest son of the family, Mitch, vows to strive to save his marriage, which is falling apart. Zach, on the other hand, vows to stop womanizing and do his best in winning back his wife. Jen decides to become a mother and raise the child on her own. The readers follow the life stories of those three siblings throughout the series of Hidden Cove Firefighters. The storyline though focuses more on Mitch and Jenn, the choices they make in life and the subsequent results. The author also introduces some other subplots to the readers besides the basic plot. The books are also available in audio form, narrated by Jeffrey Kager.

The Author

Kathryn Shay has been writing with expertise and ease romance novels since she was 15 years old. Her first short story was about a female journalist who strove to make her voice heard aloud in a world that male journalists had the upper hand. That was the first time Kathryn Shay felt that writing was her fate. But that dream did not come true right from the start. In the pursuit of her dream, Kathryn attended creative writing classes at a small college in upstate New York. But it was not the time yet for the fulfillment of her expectations. Instead, marriage knocked her door, as she met a wonderful man who was attending a school nearby. Afterwards, she practiced teaching, a job that she fell in love with, according to her own words. It’s no wonder that she quickly built a successful career in the New York school system. Writing was back in her life by the early 1990s. Then, she submitted the first manuscript to agents and publishers. She was rejected for two years in a row, but she endured. On a white December afternoon in 1994, she sold her first book to the Harlequin Enterprises for the Super romance line. Since then, she has written and sold dozens of original romance books.

Kathryn became famous due to her strongly emotional writing style. Her fan readers say that they feel close to the characters in her books. She has won various awards. Four Golden Quills, the Bookseller’s Best Award, four Holt Medallions and Foreword’s Award for the Book of the year are some of them. Her novels have been featured in USA Today, People and Wall Street Journal, and Cosmopolitan praised her book series.

Kathryn retired in 2004 from her teaching career. Currently, she lives in New York with her family, her loving husband and her two children.

After the Fire

The first book of the Hidden Cove Firefighters series is named After the Fire. There the readers are acquainted with the story’s protagonists. They follow Megan Hale as she arrives to Hidden Cove, accompanied with her painful memories of her husband’s death, who was a policeman and was killed in the line of duty. There, she meets the firefighter Mitch Malvaso, and her heart starts ticking again, even though she is well aware of the risks of falling in love with a firefighter. Readers claim they have been hooked from the very first lines of the book. Romantic souls seem not to get enough of this beautiful and inspiring romance, and their hearts melt upon knowing that the relationship continues to unfold in the other two books of the series. Also, the details of the fire department’s setting are very well presented, and that is due to the fact that the author spent a lot of time gathering information about the lives of the Firefighters. The audiobook seems to have a more powerful emotional impact on the reader, with the narration giving much more emphasis to the melodrama. It is certainly not the typical romance book. It shows the harsh realities of the everyday life, and things that could destroy a happy marriage. No one is perfect, so there are no perfect relationships either. That is also the secret of success in Kathryn Shay’s books. The characters are real, with flaws along with their strong points in their character; thus the readers can be connected more easily with their personalities.

On the Line

On the Line is the second book of the Hidden Cove Firefighters Series. Kathryn Shay presents to her fans another thrilling romance book, a sequel that stands up really well to its predecessor, the novel “After the Fire”. This intense novel promises to keep the readers awake, as their favorite characters go through various challenges with unexpected twists. This book focuses on Zach Malvaso’s life and the readers read how he is trying to reassess his priorities along with another dedicated firefighter. Also, the readers stay in agony throughout the book about Chief Noah Callahan’s story, who encounters a series of arson fires and really unusual accidents occurring among his firefighters. Shay is praised as having crafted another fabulous tale, mixing love and crime together. The quality of Kathryn’s pen is excellent, according to her fan readers, who are absorbed in her writing style and the amazing stories. This book is also available in audio file. The pages of this book are the entrance to a fiery love story which is full of surprises. The author has published more series about the firefighters, such as the books In too Deep, America’s Bravest Anthology, It Had to Be You, Chasing the Fire and The Fire Inside. All of them follow the known writing style of Kathryn Shay.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Hidden Cove

Leave a Reply