Book Notification

Highland Guard Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Highland Guard Books

The Highland Guard series is a series of historical fiction and romance novels written the well known American author Monica McCarty. There are a total of 12 novels and 2 novellas in the series, which were published between the years 2010 and 2015. All the novels of this series feature an elite force of brave men known as the Highland Guard, who get chosen by Robert the Bruce himself in order to assist him in his quest to obtain the independence of Scotland from the English rule. The men of the Highland Guard are all well built, strong, and brave, the likes of which have never been seen anywhere else in the whole world. Each one of them is better than the others and possess some of the superior skills in the different disciplines of the warfare. In the later parts of the series, it is shown that one of the warriors of the Highland Guard stands still till the end so as to ensure that his team comes out victorious in the fight between the brave men and the unjust rulers.

Author Monica McCarty has written the series based on her love for the navy seals and the black ops. She has described the men of the Highland Guard in a very sexy and bold manner. The journey of the Highlander Guard series dates back to the time of the movie Bravehart, in which it is shown that Scotland was trying to fight against the tyranny of the English ruler in order to free itself and live as a free nation. At the same time, Robert Bruce was fighting for his crown. He knew that in order to become successful in his mission and defeat the heavy and superior forces of the English knights, he will need some of the finest men with superior fighting skills in the warfare. His search to find such brave men takes him to the barbarian lands, Christendom, and finally to the Highlanders. He chooses a total of 11 men from the Highlanders and forms a secret group of elite warriors. The men belong to a team of Special Forces who form the Highland Guard. They get bound together in one of the secret ceremonies and get identified only by their superior fighting skills. The men of the Highland Guard get their war names tattooed on their respective arms. They have vowed to die before surrendering and do not stop at anything in their attempt to overthrow the British rule from Scotland. However, there is one thing that they cannot defeat and that is the sensual women and their remarkable love.

One of the initial novels of the Highland Guard series written by author Monica McCarty was published under the title ‘The Ranger’. It was released by the Ballantine Books publishing house in the year 2010. The plot of this novel is set in the Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom, during the time of the year 1307, and revolves around the happenings in the lives of the main characters named Anna MacDougall and Arthur Campbell. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Arthur Campbell is described as being The Ranger, who gets embedded behind the deep enemy lines. He is a well prized warrior because of his sharp senses and skillful abilities to blend into any situation. On one occasion, he becomes successful in infiltrating the clan of an enemy who had killed his father. As a result, he Arthur finds his heart locked for revenge. But, from the inside, he experiences a resistance in the form of a beautiful girl, who is the daughter of his enemy. When Anna MacDougall meets Arthur Campbell as the new recruit in her father’s forces, she becomes intrigued by his rugged and handsome looks. Being vivacious and enchanting from the outside, Anna is a skillful woman from the inside who is capable of uncovering the deceptions around her. She yearns for a peaceful life with a loving man and gets attracted towards the mysterious Arthur Campbell. But, she gets pushed away by his harsh words all the time. As treachery, danger, and a possible war threaten the rule of Anna’s father, Arthur and Anna come closer to each other. However, the steel-body warrior must decide what is more important to him, revenge or love?

One of the other initial novels of the Highland Guard series written by author Monica McCarty was published under the title ‘The Viper’. It was released by the Ballantine Books publishing house in the year 2011. The plot of this novel is set in England and Scotland in The United Kingdom between the years 1306 and 1308. The main character depicted in this novel include Lachlan MacRuairi and Isabella MacDuff. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, it is shown that Lachlan MacRuairi is famous for his deadly strikes and snake like stealth, and is better known as The Viper. But, he is not the one who can be trusted easily. His only loyalty is shown towards his purse, and mostly seems indifferent because of a bitter betrayal. However, everything changes when Lachlan is asked to safely deliver Bella MacDuff to the coronation of the king. On the journey, he gets challenged by the lushly, proud, and sensual countess, and is forced to battle against his greatest desire of loving again. Bella is described as a devoted and passionate lady, who has defied the king of Britain and her husband in order to help Bruce obtain his throne of Scotland. But she is made to pay a heavy price and loses her daughter in the process. She gets imprisoned by her husband with extreme cruelty. Determined to reclaim her daughter, Bella decides to sell even his soul and body to the lethal warrior named Lachlan MacRuairi. She finds his eyes similar to the steel blades, with which he makes her breath faster. Both of them join together and embark on a mission with shocking twists and turns. Eventually, Bella faces the threat to save not only her daughter, but also her own heart.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Highland Guard

Leave a Reply