Book Notification

Highlander Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Highlander Books

Beyond the Highland Mist (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Tame a Highland Warrior (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Highlander's Touch (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kiss of the Highlander (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dark Highlander (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Immortal Highlander (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spell of the Highlander (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Into the Dreaming (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Highlander Series is a book series comprising of eight highly successful novels, which were published between the years 1999 and 2006. These novels were written by the New York Times bestselling author Karen Marie Moning. The series is based on a blend of fantasy, breathtaking magic and thriller genres. The Paranormal Romance depicted in the series is very well appreciated by everyone. The interesting and passionate love stories with a twist in the form of time-travel makes the series a fun to read. The series comprises of eight great novels with the first one being published in the year 1999. It was titled ‘ Beyond the Highland Mist’ and was followed by the second installment of the series, which was titled ‘To Tame A Highland Warrior’. The second novel was also published in the year 1999. The novels of the Highlander Series are set in the medieval Scotland. Each novel of the series is a stand-alone type and feature similar story lines. The novels depict several time travels between the modern and the medieval times. Based on the story and characters, the Highlander Series is rightly considered as the prequel to the Fever Series. The Fae realm is the common realm shown in both the series.

The first novel of the series, Beyond the Highland Mist shows the love story of the two characters Hawk and Adrienne de Simone. Hawk was a warrior and was ready to sell his warrior soul in order to possess Adrienne at any cost. Hawk was so called by the name as he was a legendary predator and his fighting skill on the battlefield were incomparable. All the women of the kingdom were ready die for him just to get his touch, but he was not stirred by any of them. The scenario was the same for years until a vengeful fairy brought Adrienne de Simone into medieval Scotland from the modern day Seattle. She was forcefully taken to the sixteenth century and held captive. Adrienne was too outspoken and bold too. She was so seductive that everyone in Scotland was finding it difficult to resist. She was forced to marry Hawk, whom she did not like at first and had decided not to let him come close to her. But, hawk’s personality and sweet seduction were irresistible too. Even though she had a ‘no’ on her face for Hawk, he swore that she would one day whisper his name with desire and beg would for passion. He was certain that the his seductive personality would definitely ignite a spark within her.

Finally, Hawk was successful in winning her love by overcoming the barriers of time and space. And despite her uncertainty, Hawk was determined to keep her by his side without caring about the situation. The romance in the novel was so successful that Karen was praised for her debut novel by one and all. The publishers Weekly said that Karen has kept her promise and very well depicted the character of Adrienne as a troubled young lady, who was transported to the sixteenth century from the modern day world. The characters chosen by Karen were justified in every sense. The story is very intriguing and the plot is quite sensual. The end of the novel was liked by many as it shows Hawk, trying to bind Adam Black. He keeps on reading a very long and complicated document without stopping even after being interrupted by Adam Black, Adrienne and the Fairy Queen. And when they both come together, their romance is depicted in a very sensual manner as she wraps her fingers around his arousal and slips up and down with a smooth friction.

The next installment of the Highlander Series titled, ‘To Tame A Highland Warrior’ shows yet another love story involving Gavrael McIllioch and Jillian St. Clair. Gavrael was born to the clan of warriors with supernatural strength. But he wanted to escape the dark fate of being a warrior started his ancestors. So he abandoned his name left the Highland Castle. He changed his name to Grimm in order to hide his identity from the relentless rival clan who were on the hunt for him. He was determined to protect the people whom he cared about and had vowed not to dream for the love of the beautiful Jillian St. Clair. Yet he used to watch her from far places and had an undying spark of her love. When Jillian’s father announced a competition whose winner was to get married to Jillian, Gavrael raced t the competition to win her for marriage. On the other hand, Jillian was confused over his absence for so many years and all of a sudden his return to win her as a prize in the competition. Furious at this, she decided not to marry him. But he was the only man she loved. Even though he tried to pretend indifference and asked her to marry another man, Jillian knew that there were fierce desires still burning in his heart. This compelled him to abduct her, which led their enemies to hunt for them in order to destroy their existence. Gavrael was full of anger and the beast inside him had decided to destroy the enemies, but it was the love of Jillian that kept him tamed and took him far from the materialistic world, into a place where no one would harm them.

The novel received great reviews from the Romantic Times, which described this novel as a highly original and sensual story. The romance depicted in this novel is very difficult to put down. Karen was praised to make her mark on the romance genre. The Rendezvous called it a haunting and beautiful love story. Karen’s masterpiece was declared to be emotional that would urge the readers to read it again and again. The Highlander Series has also been adapted into a film and television series of the same name. A total of five movies has been made till date with two television series as well. The series has also been made into an animated series and an animated movie. Other than that, the series has also been adapted into an animated flash movie series. The whole Highlander series has been developed into a Highlander Merchandise which consists of all the novel series, movie series and the television series along with the animated ones.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Highlander

One Response to “Highlander”

  1. Alan Beattie: 1 year ago

    I wander how many of the screen/scriptwriters and novelist have been to Scotland, how many say Scotch instead of Scots or Scottish.


Leave a Reply