Book Notification

Hilary Bonner Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DI David Vogel Books

Deadly Dance (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wheel of Fire (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dreams of Fear (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Danger Within (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Cruelty Of Morning (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fancy To Kill For (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Passion So Deadly (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Death Comes Softly (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Deep Deceit (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Kind Of Wild Justice (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Moment Of Madness (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
When the Dead Cry Out (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Reason to Die (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cruellest Game (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Friends to Die for (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Comes First (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cry Darkness (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Rene and Me (With: Gordon Kaye) (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Benny: The True Story (With: Dennis Kirkland) (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heartbeat (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Strange and Saucy World of Benny Hill (With: Dennis Kirkland) (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Hilary Bonner is an English author that has held the position of chairman of the Crime Writer’s Association. She was also once the show business editor of the Mail on Sunday. Bonner writes psychological thrillers.


Hilary Bonner was born in 1949. She grew up in North Devon. The author’s father was a butcher.

Bonner’s grandfather set her on the path to becoming a journalist. The old man loved horseracing. He also loved reading the Daily Express because of its coverage of horses. Bonner loved the Daily Mirror.

She thought it was the greatest campaigning newspaper in the country at the time. And she read it every chance she got. She wasn’t particularly enthused by her grandfather’s penchant for cutting out all the bits he thought she shouldn’t read.

But she definitely knew from a young age that she would grow up to become a journalist who would write for the Daily Mirror.

For all her grandfather’s determination to play the role of censor, he couldn’t keep her away from the truly juicy bits, such as John Pilger’s investigative reports and Donald Zec’s interviews.

Hilary Bonner couldn’t believe that people existed who had the power to captivate her with mere words. And she became obsessed with the idea of growing up to achieve similar feats.

A corner of her mind also contemplated the notion of producing fiction. But it was the field of journalism that truly captivated her.

Not everyone was on board with the Bonner’s dream, though. The author had one particular teacher at Bideford’s Methodist Edgehill College who didn’t have anything good to say about her writing skills.

Bonner refused to be deterred. And she made that teacher eat her words when the Daily Mirror offered her a place in their training scheme when she was only seventeen.

Journalists were highly respected individuals when Hilary Bonner’s stint at the Mirror began. She was just a general news reporter at the time and she had to slog through many a difficult year to land the prestige she desired.

She remembers going into the office during those early years not knowing what she would be assigned and where she would end up by the day’s end. That left her open to adventure, such as the time she went to Greece to find a Greek composer.

It took a few years but Hilary Bonner identified show business journalism as the area where she was most likely to thrive. She got to fill the position of show business editor with three National newspapers.

Bonner eventually left the Daily Mirror in 1993 and began to tackle fiction writing. The author’s first novel was ‘The Cruelty of Morning’. Bonner was in Austria at a friend’s home when she first sat down to write it.

That was two decades prior. With her time at the Mirror behind her, the author stumbled upon the rough outline she had made of the book. She also realized that she had written a few messy chapters of the story.

It was a week’s worth of writing that she had done before forgetting about it for twenty years.

Bonner finally completed ‘The Cruelty of Morning’. It was published in 1995, paving the way for numerous other novels, autobiographies, and short stories.

Many of Bonner’s stories are inspired by the real-life events she has witnessed or been a part of.

+Friends to Die For

When a group of friends in London comes under assault from a dangerous prankster, they do not immediately identify the threatening nature of his actions. Living in London’s Covent Garden, they cannot help but be charmed by the funny tricks at play.

But then the pranks grow increasingly serious and dangerous. Before long, someone actually dies. The rest of his friends must push past their grief to identify the culprit. The trail of breadcrumbs and clues they follow begins to lead a little too close to home and after a while the bonds that held the group together break.

‘Friends to Die For’ is another psychological thriller from Hilary Bonner. The book tells the story of a group of friends who have regular meetings as part of a so-called Sunday Club.

When a sinister prank ends horribly, the group is forced to contemplate the possibility that one of them might be a murderer.

Hilary Bonner introduces an eclectic cast of characters whose friendships have been built and cemented over a long period of time only for a prankster to begin pulling them apart.

The first couple of chapters are designed to be funny. However, Bonner slowly but surely makes things more dangerous and sinister until she has her protagonists looking at one another with great suspicion.

+The Cruelest Game

Marion Anderson has the sort of life most people envy. She has a beautiful home. Her husband is not only loving but handsome. Their son also boasts quite the intelligent spark.

Marion couldn’t ask for a more perfect life. But then tragedy strikes and tears down everything she has worked so hard to build. Now Marion is at the center of a nightmare and nothing she does will wake her up.

As she watches her life disintegrate, she doesn’t think it can get any worse. But that is only because she doesn’t know what waits further ahead.

This psychological thriller from Hilary Bonner follows her heroine, Marion Anderson, as she watches her life go up in flames. Marion is relatively unlikable at the start of the series, and she seems to have an obsession with her idea of ‘home’.

As the story progresses and Bonner takes Marion into the heart of tragedy, she makes it easier to emphasize with her, especially as her perception of the world changes and her will grows stronger.

A notable aspect of these books is Rob, her husband. Like Marion, Rob isn’t meant to be liked at the start and it takes a lot of subtle work on the part of Bonner for the opinions surrounding his person to change.

The author plays with numerous peripheral characters who it isn’t made clear how they will fit into the final picture. This adds to the intrigue at play. Bonner relies on twists and turns to keep readers engaged with this story which focuses on love, family, and loss.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Hilary Bonner

Leave a Reply