Book Notification

Hillary Greene Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DI Hillary Greene Books

Murder on the Oxford Canal / A Narrow Escape (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at the University / On the Straight and Narrow (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder of the Bride / Narrow is the Way (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Village / By a Narrow Majority (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Family / Through a Narrow Door (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Home / With a Narrow Blade (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Meadow / Beside a Narrow Stream (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in a Mansion / Down a Narrow Path (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Garden / Across the Narrow Blue Line (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder by Fire / A Narrow Point of View (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Work / A Narrow Exit (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Narrow Return / Murder Never Retires (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Narrow Margin of Error / Murder of a Lover (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Walk a Narrow Mile / Murder Never Misses (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Narrow Victory / Murder at Midnight (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Work of a Narrow Mind / Murder in Mind (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Narrow Trajectory / Hillary's Final Case (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hillary's Back! (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Now and Then (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Parish (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Train (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Hillary Greene is the lead character in the DI Hillary Greene series of novel by British crime mystery thriller author Faith Martin. Similar to her other popular works such as the Inspector Morse series, Hillary Greene series is a crime mystery thriller that features Greene, a homicide detective working in the northern villages and towns of Oxford shire. She holds the ranks of Detective Inspector with the Thames Valley Police. DI Hillary Greene is first introduced in the first novel of the series – A Narrow Escape, in which she is described as living on a narrow boat, hence the titles of the novels. Thanks to her late husband, she finds herself under police investigation for corruption that threatens to end her career if she is found guilty. An expert at solving the most complex cases that have gone cold or have virtually no leads, Greene’s biggest problem is that she never seems to get along with her superiors. Even so, Hillary has to deal with some of the meanest bosses that either have dodgy criminal backgrounds, or just hate her guts.

The Hillary Greene series of novels is composed of 14 titles that Faith Martin published between 2004 and 2013. While they initially did not get much attention, over the years, most of the books exploded in popularity, particularly when they were republished in Paperback. The 2008 republication of A Narrow Escape into paperback by Blackstar Crime was a major success that gave Faith Martin and the Hillary Greene series much exposure. Given the massive success of the republication, the second book in the series and one of the most popular, On the Straight and Narrow is set to be released in paperback. The popularity and success of the series made certain that Faith Martin established her name as one of the best crime mystery writers from the United Kingdom.

DI Hillary Greene is a tough talking, no nonsense female detective assisted by a supremely talented cast of colleagues. Due to her go-getter, tough talking attitude, she is always getting into open and subtle altercations with her superiors which makes for quite intriguing story lines. Competent in her job and virtuous almost to a fault, she finds that her investigations often step on too many toes, potentially jeopardizing her career. Fiercely protective of her team, she has to deal not only with criminals fighting back by targeting her and her team members, but also some of her senior colleagues that she crossed swords with in the past turning on her. To make matters worse, some of her adversaries such as DS Gemma Knowles and Superintendent Brian Vane are keeping dark secrets both present and past. They are willing to do anything, to protect themselves from exposure, even if it means destroying the career of a persistent detective such as Greene. With her team increasingly under siege from criminal stalker and internal politics, she ultimately decides to resign from her police job. Nevertheless, she is soon back as a civilian consultant, working cold cases for the Thames Valley Police.

A Narrow Escape

The first book in the DI Hillary Greene series, it introduces us to Hillary Greene, a police detective with nothing to lose. Thanks to her late husband, she finds herself facing an internal police investigation that could very well spell the end of her career. Meanwhile, a body has been found in the canal and she is assigned as the lead in the case. With the case having all the telltale signs of an accidental death, she believes that she has been given the case to ensure that she keeps a low profile on the happenings regarding the corruption investigation. However as she moves forward with her investigation, she finds out that there is something bizarre and not so straightforward about this case. It is clear that there is something much bigger than anyone ever suspected. Always a meticulous detective, she is not going to let this one lie; she goes after the killer disregarding recommendations from her superiors to maintain a low profile.

Similar to Hillary Greene, the killer also has nothing to lose and would do anything to protect themselves from being apprehended. Greene turns to her well-drilled team of detectives for help and finds out that the killer may in fact have connections with some of the senior people in the Thames Police Department. The closer they get to solve the mystery, the more resistance they face from the higher ups in the department, who would rather have the case closed as an accidental homicide. With an ongoing corruption investigation, she is putting her career in even more jeopardy in trying to unravel the canal case, contrary to the wishes of her superiors.

On the Straight and Narrow

The second title in the Hillary Greene series has Greene investigating the death of pretty French exchange student, found murdered in an exclusive private college in Oxford. As is the norm whenever a student dies in similar circumstances, everybody assumes the she has died of an accidental overdose. However, Detective Inspector Hillary Greene believes there is more to this case than meets the eye, and begins to investigate. Uncovering some interesting aspects of the life of the exchange student makes her even more certain that, what had been taken as an overdose could in fact be a murder. It is soon established that the exchange student had led a very interesting life that could have exposed him to some very dangerous people. Putting the resources of the police to work, she soon establishes the cause of death of her victim, and takes on one of the most high profile cases she has ever handled.

Nonetheless, as is wont to happen with Greene, her past demons begin to resurface. It turns out that one of the lead officers in her corruption investigation, a man she had clashed swords with on many times was being transferred permanently to her workstation. To make matters worse, she also has to deal with a cheeky charity that has inexplicably claimed her house. However, this is not the time to deal with such trivialities, not when she has such a high profile murder case to solve.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Hillary Greene

Leave a Reply