Peter Ash - Fan of Jack Reacher?  Read this

Honor Harrington Books In Order

Publication Order of Honor Harrington Books

On Basilisk Station (1993) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Honor of the Queen (1993) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Short Victorious War (1994) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Field of Dishonor (1994) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Flag in Exile (1995) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Honor Among Enemies (1996) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
In Enemy Hands (1997) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Echoes of Honor (1998) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ashes of Victory (2000) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
War of Honor (2002) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
At All Costs (2005) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mission of Honor (2010) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Rising Thunder (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shadow of Freedom (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shadow of Victory (2016) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Uncompromising Honor (2018) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Wages Of Sin Books

Crown of Slaves (2003) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Torch of Freedom (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Saganami Books

The Shadow of Saganami (2004) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Storm from the Shadows (2009) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Honorverse Young Adult Books

A Beautiful Friendship (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Fire Season (2012) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Worlds Of Honor Anthologies

More Than Honor (1998) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Worlds of Honor (1999) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Changer of Worlds (2001) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Service of the Sword (2003) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
In Fire Forged (2011) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Beginnings (2013) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Harrington, the eponymous heroine of the novel is a Naval officer in the Royal Manticoran Navy, which is a space navy placed in the Kingdom of Manticore. Honor Harrington is a fearless commander, genius in tackling situations and often overcomes various odds in her professional life. In the first book of the series “On Basilisk Station”, she is introduced as newly promoted Captain of the Queen’s Royal Manticoran Navy. Her first assignment would be in Basilisk Station, which would involve checking cargoes for contraband. Things won’t be the same for long in the location, Another planet Unbeknownst to Manticore, the Republic of Haven tries to invade Manticore, The planet is trying to conquer wealthy planets to better its Economy, and it tries to invade into Manticore through the wormhole junction terminus at Basilisk Station and how Honor Harrington and her crew discovers the plan and saves Manticore is the plot of the novel. In the end Honor Harrington and her crew uncover the invasion plan of Haven and stop it. The entire novel series deals with various military tactics, hyperspace, Weaponry, Calculation of Accelaration rates, technical challenges, etc.

All over the series Honor Harrington is an admirable Heroine, she is smart, intellectual, loyal, courageous, determinant, proud, honest and extremely reliable. In the next book “The Honour of the Queen”, this is the sequel of the first book “On Basilisk Station”, After her deputation and her great work at Basilisk Station, she is given the next challenge of gaining a foothold in another planet, she and her team goes to another planet called Grayson to sign a treaty. But the Grayson planet people are a bit backward in their thoughts and they do not accept a woman being in command, they consider women as property of men. Grayson planet, is also in danger, as another planet called Masada in ally with the weapon supplier Haven, tries to erase Grayson from the star fleet. Honor Harrington has to save Grayson and her own Planet Manticore, despite the rejection she faces and the affront of powers she encounters in Grayson.

The next in the series is “The Short Victorious War”, In this book the people in the till then enemy planet, The People’s Republic of Haven are in Trouble. Meanwhile Honor Harrington recovers from the injuries she sustained in the battle happened in the last novel to protect Grayson. In this book, the People’s Republic of Haven tries to initiate a war with Manticore to fill its treasury which is empty, and unite the unrest people in the planet. In this book, the rise of Honor Harrington is being criticized by a few and appreciated by many.

In the first half, Honor Harrington’s rebuilding is briefed. And she is rewarded as Dame Honor in this Book. In the second half of the book, three battles takes place, only one with Honor Harrington in it is explained briefly and we get to know the real detail on it. The book is filled with dictatorial politics, stereotypical, power politics, etc.

After reading the next book, “ Field of Dishonour”, we would realise it is a prelude the previous book The Short Victorious War, In this book she is the center of the plot. And like the previous books, this book doesn’t focus on Militaristic strategies, instead It focuses on character development of Honor Harrington. In the first half, the surprise attack of the enemy planet, Republic of Haven on Manticore is failed, As usual Manticorian Navy wins again raising the disarray among leaders, she gets trapped in the political crisis, get betrayed by an enemy and she stands alone. She must fight a war which has two ends, one is death, another victory accompanied by dishonour and loss of all she has loved.

“Flag in Exile” is the fifth book in the series and here the brave heroine Honor Harrington is in dismise, she is hurt by the disgrace of political enemies, saddened by the murder of her lover and loses confidence in her. She is retreated to Grayson planet, where she takes up the role of Steadholder, and in the process heals from her bitter past. And again People’s Republic of Haven rise from defeat to fight with Grayson, And the newly formed Navy of Grayson needs the expertise of Honor Harrington and calls upon her, and she doesn’t refuse, and again takes up the challenges she is longer confident of handling. The sixth in the series ”Honour among Enemies”, revelas the intensity of the war between Haven and Manticore, and Honor Harrington is called again to join the Manticore Navy, she is not able to turn down the call and she has to now fight the enemies in the enemy ship and her own ship.

“In the Enemy Hands” is the seventh book of the series, where Honor Harrington is promoted as Commodore, and now she is the commander of a group of ships. And in a worse situation, Honor Harrington and her crew get in custody, and she is sentenced to death for a past mistake. Next in the series is “Echoes of Honour”, shows how Honor and her crew escaped from custody and gets stranded without food for months, and this book elaborates the escape plan of Honor and how her family and friends believe that she and her crew are long dead. The ninth book in the series is “Ashes of Victory”, in this book she returns to her home. She recovers from injuries and shapes the military of Manticore. The tenth book is “War of Honour”, this book doesn’t revolve around honor, again a war building up between Manicore and Haven is given in detail.

The next in the series is “At all Costs”, the eleventh book in the series, deals with the drama in Honor Harrington’s life, not professional life, but her personal life. The next book is “Mission of Honour”, where Honor Harrington’s personal life is explained, how she enjoys her days with loved ones, and how galaxies around her has other plans, which makes her life unrest. The last in the series is “A Rising thunder”, and not much happens in this book, people just talk about then events happened before in the previous books in this book.

And I guess you would get a whole idea of the David Weber’s Honor Harrington series by reading this article.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Honor Harrington