Book Notification

Honor Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Honor Books

At the Edge of Honor (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Point of Honor (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Honorable Mention (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dishonorable Few (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Affair of Honor (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Different Kind of Honor (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Honored Dead (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Darkest Shade of Honor (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Honor Bound (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Honorable Lies (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Honors Rendered (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Assassin's Honor (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Honorable War (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Honoring the Enemy (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Word of Honor (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Code of Honor (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Full Naval Honors (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Honor” series written by author Robert N. Macomber is from the genres of military and historical and thriller fiction. The series began in the year 2002, with the release of “At the Edge of Honor”. The series has a big following, it has gotten acclaim from critics, other authors, and of course readers. People have named themselves “Wakians”, after the main character of the series.

The “Honor” novels illustrate the United States Navy’s role from taking America from just a continental country (which they were in the mid nineteenth century) to being a global power by the start of the twentieth century. The series stars Peter Wake, who is a lieutenant in the navy during the American Civil War. Later on (from 1882 until 1908), the character is a part of the Office of Naval Intelligence, which is America’s first agency for espionage.

Some of the books in the series have won awards. These include: “At the Edge of Honor” won Patrick D. Smith Literary Award (in best historical novel in Florida), “Point of Honor” won 2004’s John Esten Cooke Literary Award for best work in Southern Fiction, and “Honors Rendered” was given Editor’s Choice by Historical Novels Review. Other books have won awards as well. These include “A Different Kind of Honor” which won American Library Association’s W. Y. Boyd Literary Award for Excellence in the field of Military Fiction.

“At the Edge of Honor” is the first novel in the “Honor” series and was released in the year 2003. It is the year 1863, and America’s Civil War is leaving a bloody trail all over the nation. Peter Wake is a third generation schooner from New England, and is facing conscription while out of work.

His dad gives him the advice of going to war as a sailor, which he takes and joins the navy as a volunteer officer. He is sent to East Gulf Blockading Squadron, which is based at Key West (an island located off Florida’s extreme southern end).

He is assigned a command, the Rosalie (which is a small armed sloop). While working this new command, Wake finds out that the glories of the navy during war time do not really exist on the steamy coasts of Florida. This is contrary to what he read in the northern papers. He finds a dirty and small guerrilla war, where nothing is like it seems, and every decision comes with consequences that he did not see at first.

Fans of the novel enjoy the way that Macomber tells a story, and create great characters that stay with the readers even after the book has ended. The story has a fast pace to keep readers turning the pages and keep them unable to put the book down. Some cannot wait to read more books from this series, as this one showed a lot of promise and they hope that it will deliver on its potential.

“Point of Honor” is the second novel in the “Honor” series and was released in the year 2003. Peter Wake has left his mark upon the United States Navy’s East Gulf Blockading Squadron, gotten promoted, and been given a bigger command: the schooner called St. James. He does his work, but soon finds that he is afoul of his own senior officers who are political appointees on Army commands. Their mistakes are measured in other American men’s blood.

His personal life takes a turn for the better, and his love gets the better of the animosity that he feels in a unique way. This new love becomes the anchor and the soul; at the same time, he accomplishes daunting missions, even ones that do not seem to have a solution to them.

His reputation as an intelligent officer, able to get through anything, and gets the biggest challenge yet. It puts everything on the line and it is all for a point of honor.

Fans of the novel found that they could feel and taste the time period, due to the author’s ability to take them to that time and place. Wake is an interesting character to read about, and he really drives everything. The book makes the reader wonder what will happen next in this book, and they were unable to put the book down. He also uses quite a bit of the jargon that sailors use to keep things feeling authentic.

“Honorable Mention” is the third novel in the “Honor” series and was released in the year 2004. Peter Wake hoped for a quick end to the Civil War, but those hopes are destroyed in the turmoil of 1865 Florida and the Caribbean. Old acquaintances (both enemy and friendly) return to Wake, in ways that he did not plan on. There are also convoluted intrigues of the sinister characters that make the danger stay real and keep the future uncertain. Peter Wake has a way to make things happen in a way that no one else can.

Fans of the novel found that the author is able to bring the Civil War alive in a way that authors do not. It is much more interesting than most series, and it is fun for some readers to discuss the series with other people. It is well researched, has great characters in it, and some vivid settings. Some felt like they were able to picture everything that the author was describing in their minds. Once again, Robert Macomber has written an excellent novel that readers could not read quickly enough.

“A Dishonorable Few” is the fourth novel in the “Honor” series and was released in the year 2005. The year is 1869, and Wake is finishing up his first tour of shore duty at the Pensacola Navy Yard. He will then go to Central America as an executive officer on a gunboat. His mission is to find and end the rampage of an ex-United States naval officer that became a mercenary and turned bad, really bad.

He goes from Columbia to the jungles of Panama to Nicaragua and even to Haiti. He worries about his marriage back home, while he meets evil men and naval men with other countries navies, and a traitor on his own ship. He is able to brave a rescue on a lee-shore. At the end of it all, he still gets court-martialed in Washington D. C.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Honor

Leave a Reply