Book Notification

Horseclans Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Horseclans Books

The Coming of the Horseclans (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Swords of the Horseclans (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Revenge of the Horseclans (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cat of Silvery Hue (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Savage Mountains (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Patrimony (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Horseclans Odyssey (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death of a Legend (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Witch Goddess (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bili the Axe (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Champion of the Last Battle (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Woman of the Horseclans (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Horses of the North (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Man Called Milo Morai (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Memories of Milo Morai (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trumpets of War (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Madman's Army (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Clan of the Cats (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Horseclans is a series of post-apocalyptic fantasy novels written by Robert Adams. The books take readers to an alternate timeline where the world was destroyed by nuclear war.

+The Story

‘Horseclans’, the title of this series, is taken from a nomadic people in Robert Adams story emanating from an area in North America ranging from Southern Canada to Texas.

‘The Coming of the Horseclans’, the first book in the series, introduces readers to Milo Morai, Robert Adams’ protagonist. Milo is a product of the apocalypse. The world was brought to its knees by the eruption of World War III.

Nuclear and biological warfare broke out at the end of the 20th Century, essentially destroying civilization and knocking the world back to the Middle Ages. A mutant with regenerative abilities that make him practically immortal, Milo survived the horrors of war.

He found orphans in Los Angeles, took them to the Great Plains in the East and there laid the foundations for a Mongolian-type nomadic people that would later become the Horseclans.

Milo eventually leaves them behind to search for a land of Immortals, promising to return to take them to what he intends to make their homeland. When Milo does finally return generations later, the Horseclans are no longer just a small tribe struggling to survive.

They have grown in military and economic might and they now dominate all the land between Canada and Mexico. Milo’s goal is to lead the Horseclans to a promised land of sorts.

However, the world has changed drastically since Milo last walked the Great Plains. There are dangers everywhere Milo turns, new civilizations, and gangs with nefarious intentions who seek to either oppose the Horseclans as a whole or Milo as a person.

The World of the Horseclans series is primitive in its makeup and boasts numerous fantastical elements. Chief amongst these aspects are the Undying, individuals that have long lives and who are largely immune to disease and physical wounds.

For a long time, Milo is the only immortal known to readers. Over time, characters like Bookermann and Aldora come to light. The Immortal’s biggest plight is the fact that they are sterile, which causes them considerable anguish.

In the time that Milo is off traversing the world, the Horseclans encounter people that have telepathic abilities which permit them to communicate with animals. They develop these same powers and that allows them to become the nomadic people Milo encounters when he comes back to the Great Plains.

Then there’s the Witchmen, former scientists who have the ability to possess the bodies of others as a means of extending their lives.

A central antagonist in the series is the Ehleenee, a gathering of Mediterranean people who came to North America with the intention of conquering new.

The Horseclans must also deal with the Ganiks (descendants of hippie communes) and Mehrikans (remnants of the present day Americans).

The Horseclans series is not published in chronological order. Later books shift into different points of history to elucidate upon characters like Milo and Bookerman that plug the gaps in the overall story.

The reception to these books has always been mixed. Robert Adams’ critics are primarily opposed to all the violence. Adams definitely goes a little overboard with the gore and the torture.

In fact, it is often difficult to separate the villains from the heroes because both sides so easily commit violent acts. Adams’ objective is to manifest the transformations that can occur in society when a nuclear and biological holocaust reduces civilization to a barbaric state.

The Horseclans books are products of their era and it shows. The series is chockfull of misogynistic tendencies and attitudes, and the characters verbalize opinions that would not fly today.

It doesn’t help that the women in Adams books exist primarily to serve sexual needs and are only tolerated if they are attractive and maintain a demure personality. Many a modern reader is bound to take offense with all the rape scenes that play out.

+The Coming of the Horseclans

Milo Morai, the Undying High Lord, left the Horseclans in search of the homeland of the immortals.

Before his departure, Milo left his people a prophecy promising them his return and their eventual journey to a destined homeland. When Morai does return, it is to marvel at the growth of his people and the challenges that await them.

It isn’t just the Ehleenee that seek to obstruct the Horseclans but the pre-Holocaust scientists called Witchmen who have the ability to steal the bodies of others and use them for their evil purposes.

With two deadly forces at his doorstep, Milo must keep the Horseclans safe even as he strives to keep the secret to his immortality safe.

The first book in the Horseclans series takes place six centuries after North America was decimated by a cataclysm. Milo takes center stage a mutant that watched the cataclysm unfold and survived it.

He created the Horseclans, a people that later gains the ability to telepathically communicate with large cats and even horses, gaining new allies in battle as a result. Milo’s goal in this book is to lead the Horseclans to a land on the Eastern Seaboard.

However, North America is now home to new foes who emigrated from Europe. They control vast territory and they won’t give it up for anyone. It will take all Milo’s strength to safeguard his people’s future.

+Swords of the Horseclans

Milo is an undying High Lord leading the Horseclans across what used to be the United States. Milo intends to create a powerful confederation. He has proceeded to conquer and absorb every tribe, city, and community he encounters, and not always by peaceful means.

Unfortunately for Milo and his grand plan, his enemies won’t stand by and witness his ascension. Led by a great evil, they band together to create a massive army. To survive the threat, Milo must call upon all his allies, and hope that they answer.

The second book in the Horseclans series finds Milo fighting a war of expansion. When he learns of a force gathering in the south, he reaches out to his past foes and attempts to forge new alliances in the hopes of steering the Horseclans through the coming storm.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Horseclans

One Response to “Horseclans”

  1. gardenman3: 4 years ago

    Now that Mundania Press is gone does anyone know if the horseclans is going to be republished again in ebook format


Leave a Reply