Book Notification

Hugh de Singleton, Surgeon Chronicles Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Chronicles Of Hugh De Singleton, Surgeon Books

The Unquiet Bones (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Corpse at St. Andrew's Chapel (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Trail of Ink (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unhallowed Ground (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tainted Coin (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rest Not in Peace (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Abbot's Agreement (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ashes to Ashes (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lucifer's Harvest (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deeds of Darkness (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prince Edward's Warrant (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Without a Trace (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Easter Sepulchre (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Master Wycliffe's Summons (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Suppression and Suspicion (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Polluted Font (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Hugh de Singleton chronicles are a series of medieval mysteries novels, which were written by the American author Mel Starr (Melvin R. Starr). Mel was born in Kalamazoo city, in the SW region of Michigan in the US.

He studied medieval English and medieval medicine in Western Michigan University and graduated with an MA degree in history in 1970. He spent around 39 years of his whole life teaching history in public schools around the area of Michigan and he retired in 2003.

Today he lives with his wife Susan Brock. They have 2 daughters and 7 grandchildren.

Hugh de Singleton, Surgeon Chronicles (Series by Mel Starr).

The Hugh de Singleton series of medieval mysteries consist of many novels. The stories of the books are set in UK, in the middle Ages, in the small and lovely town of Bampton in Oxford. The stories of the books take place in the 14th century England and the readers can learn a lot about the challenges and the lives of people of that time.

The characters in the small village of Bampton are also based on real historical people. The books are rich in background and history, especially in circumstances that follow the Black Death and many medical details. These fictional stories easily bring the readers to the place of walking the paths and conversing with the Lords, as well as villains and maidens of that time.

Hugh de Singleton is well educated in Oxford and he is a close friend of John Wycliffe, a Bible translator, who deeply believes in God. Hugh hasn’t married yet, but he wants to find a warm wife to settle down with. The author of these amazing series is a great historian and did a thorough research before writing these series. He actually writes with ease and he knows every detail of the historical period of that time. For example, he depicts in every detail the jobs and statuses of people of that time and how their statuses determined the frequency, quantity, as well as the types of food they were able to eat that time. In addition, Mel Starr made his characters look real. All the books of the Surgeon Chronicles of the mystery series have great views of the local castle, as well as the chapel and the surrounding area, that they are all portrayed in the most amazing way.

The Unquiet Bones (Surgeon Series #1, published in 2008 by Monarch Books).

The first chronicle of the series by Mel Starr opens with the discovery of a body that was found by the locals at the base of the beautiful castle in the small town of Bampton. Hugh de Singleton, the 4th son of a knight, was educated in Oxford as a clerk. But he actually didn’t feel any kind of real calling at that time, so he decided to become a surgeon. He did his training in the capital of France, Paris, and then he moved to Oxford. An accident takes place below his window and he helps the injured man, who turns out to be Lord Gilbert Talbot, Lord of the castles of Bampton. As a consequence, Hugh moves into Bampton, in order to serve this Lord and his people as their Surgeon. Lord Gilbert asks him asks him to identify the victim that had been murdered. Reluctantly at first, he agrees to help him and he soon finds himself examining the bones of a woman at a young age who has been found hidden in the cesspit at the base of the wall of the castle of Bampton. Hugh is asked to try to solve a series of crimes. But Hugh of Singleton is not a detective, so he tries to combine all the facts in a logical way, in order to fulfill this task. He is a kind, smart and spiritual man and he is very down to earth. He actually identifies the victim that was found in the local castle as the missing daughter of a local blacksmith. During his investigations, Hugh is rather enamored by the sister of Lord Gilbert, Joan, despite their differences and he tries to get to know her better. The story of Hugh’s adventure in the novel unfolds with very realistic medical procedures, romantic intervals and a consistent sense of compassion.

A Corpse at St. Andrew’s Chapel (Surgeon Series #2, published in 2010 by Monarch Books).

The second novel in Surgeon series takes place in the village of Bampton in the year 1365. It was also featured in the first book,. Now it’s spring time and death has come to the small town again. The beautiful colors of the village come through the amazing descriptions and details that are given by the author, including the various local feasts, medical herbs and many more. This time the author centers on finding answers on the murder to the beadle of the small town of Bampton, Alan. One night Alan went out for Ovals at dust, but he never returned home. The next morning his wife, Matilda, realized he hadn’t returned home and she decided to start looking for him all over the village with the help of other locals. Unfortunately two days later they discover his corpse just outside the Chapel of St. Andrew’s. His throat had been ripped out and they also found mysterious and deep scratches on his whole body. Hubert, the coroner, decides that a wolf killed him and made his body look like that But Hugh de Singleton doesn’t accept this version and tries to find out who and why took beadle’s life. As he continues his investigation, in order to find the killer, he is one night attacked by a stranger and that’s how he concludes that the person who killed Alan might be just around the corner. Hugh consults with Master John Wycliff, one of his teachers at the University, about the murder, as well as about finding a wife. They discuss various topics, such as biblical matters, God etc. While in Oxford to see John Wycliff, he goes to a shop to buy ink and he meets the daughter of the owner, Kate. Hugh has been disappointed in matters of love with his first love, Lady Joan, who married someone else. Kate’s father needs of a surgeon, so now Hugh can have the chance to see her more and spend more time with her.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Hugh de Singleton, Surgeon Chronicles

One Response to “Hugh de Singleton, Surgeon Chronicles”

  1. Claire Sniegoski: 6 years ago

    My daughter gave me the first chronicle of Hugh de Singleton for Christmas, and I have been reading them ever since. Very good reads, and very informative about early England, from whence my ancestors came. I highly recommend them for anyone interested in English mysteries. Anne Perry fans will enjoy these while waiting for her next book!


Leave a Reply