Book Notification

Humphrey Hawksley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Future History Books

Dragon Strike (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dragon Fire (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Third World War (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of An Agent Kat Polinski Thriller Books

The History Book / Security Breach (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Home Run (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Friends and Enemies (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Rake Ozenna Thriller Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Ceremony of Innocence (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Absolute Measures (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Spirit (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Humphrey Hawksley
Humphrey Hawksley, born in 1964, is a journalist and an author. He has a voice and face known to millions through broadcasts on TV news and on the radio. He has reported on some important trends, events and conflicts from all over the world.

His writing has a rare distinction of getting praise from both household names among the top thriller authors and experts in the world that he writes stories about.

Humphrey was educated at both the Junior and Senior schools of St. Lawrence College, located in the coastal seaside town of Ramsgate in Kent. After finishing school, he joined the Merchant Navy, sailing all over the world.

After that, he started working for the BBC at the beginning of the eighties. Working as a foreign correspondent for BBC, he has seen crises on every continent on the planet. He opened the BBC’s television bureau in China, started a global campaign against enslaved kids in the chocolate industry, got expelled from Sri Lanka, and was arrested in Serbia.

Humphrey’s work has appeared such places as Yale Global, The Guardian, International Herald Tribune, and the Financial Times, as well as other publications. He has lectured at places such as the London Business School, Columbia, University College London, and Cambridge.

Hawksley regularly serves as a panellist and speaker at places such as the Royal Geographical Society and Intelligence Squared. He has also presented his work and served as the moderator at several literary festivals.

Humphrey has written the “Future History” series, the “Rake Ozenna” series, and the “Agent Kat Polinski” series, as well as some stand alone novels and non-fiction books. His debut novel, called “Dragon Strike”, was released in the year 1997.

“The History Book” is the first novel in the “Agent Kat Polinski” series and was released in the year 2007. Catherine “Kat” Polinski, an undercover agent, burglar, and hacker, comes back home from a lethal mission in Washington D.C. At the Kazakh Embassy only to find a cryptic message written by her sister. Right after, she finds out that Suzy, her sister, was killed, having been shot with a high powered rifle out in a desolate spot, some thirty miles outside of London.

What could Suzy have been doing there? Could it have had anything to do with the controversial Project Peace? Project Peace is an international security agreement and allows constant surveillance and takes away individual freedom for order and stability.

Kat has to use all of her skills at her disposal, from computer hacking to martial arts in order to bring her sister’s killer to justice. In her quest to find answers, she finds this increasingly plausible threat that might destroy the world as we know it.

This novel is intriguing, suspenseful, fast-paced, and intelligent. Overall, it is just a political thrill ride of surveillance, murder, power, and corruption that reminds the reader that the line separating good and bad can be quite blurry. There are multiple twists and turns that keep you on the edge of your seat until the very end.

“Home Run” is the second novel in the “Agent Kat Polinski” series and was released in the year 2013. Kat, who is driven, vulnerable, and a no compromise heroine and is employed by the Federal Containment Agency in Washington D.C. Kat, attempts to lead a much more settled life, with the same good guy in her bed each night. Her weekend gets interrupted by a call from Bill Cage, her boss, who wants her to go off to Asia.

From inside of North Korea, the most secretive state in the entire world, Bill has gotten an incredible offer. There is a deep cover agent that can guarantee the end of the regime as well as the destruction of every single nuclear weapon. There is but a single condition.

One nine year old boy has to be taken safely into the United States, a mission that Kat has been given.

Fans found this to be high octane and high stakes fiction, and it is a taut and hard driving thriller. This novel is for readers that love riveting and action packed reads, and is another book that is proof of what a skilled writer Hawksley really is.

“Friends and Enemies” is the third novel in the “Agent Kat Polinski” series and was released in the year 2013. Kat, having ended a stultifying relationship, buys an apartment in Washington with her best friend and trauma surgeon who travels to the trouble spots in the world, Dr. Jennifer Fox.

While in Iraq, Jennifer gets kidnapped. Kat and Bill Cage (Kat’s boss) are determined to bring her back using whatever means are necessary. These kidnappers are a step ahead and Kat becomes faced with a most devastating of decisions.

This is a complex, skillfully turned, and brilliant adventure story that keeps the reader thoroughly spellbound the entire way through. The novel is filled with surprises the whole way through, with some political implications that are worth thinking about.

“Man on Edge” is the second novel in the “Rake Ozenna” series and was released in the year 2019. Carrie Walker, a trauma surgeon, becomes taken aback after her estranged uncle (a senior Russian naval officer) makes contact with her. He claims that he has some explosive information, which he offers to share with the West.

She journeys undercover to meet him in Moscow, but the operation goes horribly wrong. She finds that she is stranded and on the run. The only person she is able to trust is Rake Ozenna, her ex-fiance. What could Carrie have that is so damn important and can Rake actually get to her before any foes of her’s and any high-profile military exercises off of the coast of Norway set off a global catastrophe?

This novel is reminiscent of all the best Cold War fiction out there, and is filled with double-dealing, intrigue, and rather ingenious political intrigue. Rake Ozenna is both tough and brilliant, and readers like that he is on the side of the good guys. Humphrey delivers a fast-paced, well written, and cleverly plotted page turner of a read.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Humphrey Hawksley

Leave a Reply