Book Notification

Iain Maitland Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bloomfield & Palmer Books

The Wickham Market Murder (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sweet William (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr Todd's Reckoning (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Girl Downstairs (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Perfect Husband (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Soulmate (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The New Son (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Lies Inside (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Dear Michael, Love Dad (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out of the Madhouse (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Iain Maitland
Author Iain Maitland has worked as a professional writer since the year 1987. He has been published in countries all around the world, in places such as: Australia, Russia, India, USA, and Japan.

He has written articles for the national press, books on business, and edited a ton of newsletters.

Iain and his son Michael are proud ambassadors for Stem4, a wonderful mental health charity. They go into the workplace in order to tell Michael’s story and help promote better mental well-being in the workplace.

After Michael, his oldest son, spent five months in the Priory with anorexia and depression, came home he would snip-snip away as he prepared his food in the kitchen. This drove Iain nuts. It made him wonder if you put a troubled son and an angry dad together in some confined space after a while, what could happen. This served as a starting point for “Mr. Todd’s Reckoning”.

He had penned two memoirs and a thriller by this point. After that, he chose to write an out-and-out Psycho meets The Silence of the Lambs type of novel.

When he started dreaming up the novel, Michael and Iain were in the book. The dad character was a bit of a skewed version of Iain and the son was a twisted version Michael. However, as the writing progressed, the characters became entirely fictionalized and came completely into their own.

Writing dark and literary thrillers is what he does and is just fine with the content. Sitting by himself at his desk nine to five, all day, Monday through Friday, can be tough on mental health. Confidence in his writing ability can wobble considerably sometimes and he will have to work spectacularly. He has to work hard not spending too much time on his own, and just dwell on the negative stuff.

While Iain doesn’t sit down and try to consciously talk about mental health, it is still a thread that runs through every single book, in some way. Somebody who is fine out on the outside that suffers on the inside. Possibly, though, his subconscious was working overtime. The world is a harsh place at times and that is an added burden for folks with mental illness.

Each morning, he swims and stops to have lunch with Adam, his youngest son. He walks their dog, Dolly, on a regular basis. At the end of every day, he goes up the town with Tracey, his wife. Writing in short bursts aids in keeping things in proper perspective.

“Sweet William”, his debut novel, was released in the year 2017. His work is from the mystery genre. Iain has also written a lot of non-fiction books, having written for the Financial Times, Which?, and the Sunday Times. A couple of his non-fiction works have been on mental health.

“Dear Michael, Love Dad” is a non-fiction book and was released in the year 2016. When Iain Maitland’s oldest son left home to attend college, he regularly wrote to him. They were curmudgeonly and funny that chronicled their family and gave Michael some hopeless and unsolicited advice on everything from women to DIY. He never expected any kind of reply, they were just his own way of trying to continue their relationship.

What Iain did not realize was that while he was away from his home, his beloved child was suffering from anorexia and depression. Only a lot later was it more apparent to both Iain and his wife just how oblivious they were being and for how long.

The book features letters that Iain sent to Michael, without realizing the university student was having mental health problems which came close to killing him.

The book is heartfelt and is simply an excellent and informative read, yet is able to make you laugh in some spots.

“Sweet William” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2017. Life and death being played out over the course of forty-eight hours.

A father that is desperate to spend some time with his young son escapes from the secure psychiatric hospital and knows they have just a single chance to begin a new life together.

His objective is to grab his three year old child, who is a diabetic requiring insulin to survive, and run off to France. First he has to locate the boy, stay clear of the cops (already in pursuit of him), and evade his foster family.

Readers found the horrors inside of the human brain to be very real in this troubling tale. Iain delivers a tense story, one that makes you hold your breath each and every time you turn the page, while wondering what is coming next. The sense of place is magnificent and it feels very chilling and quite dark.

“Mr. Todd’s Reckoning” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2019. Behind a normal house’s door, on a normal street, two guys slowly drive one another insane. One of them is a psycho.

The dad is Mr. Todd, who is at his wits end. He has had his job stolen as a tax inspector and now is stuck at his home. With him. Lonely. Frustrated. Mad. Very mad.

The son is Adrian and he has no friends and no job. He stays at home all day, all the time. Tap-tap-tapping on his computer and obsessively he chops vegetables. He is getting progressively worse, vanishing for hours at a time and he sneaks off to god knows where.

The unholy spirit is one man has developed his taste for killing while in the safety of suburbia. He will murder again.

All of these characters are brought to life in such a vivid way, and Mr. Todd’s observations on life are equally frightening and funny novel. The story has some great flow and the characters interact with each other in brilliant ways. The reader cannot help but turn the pages frantically while they slowly but surely learn the terrifying truth behind Mr. Todd and Adrian to see what will happen next.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Iain Maitland

Leave a Reply