Book Notification

Iain Reid Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

I'm Thinking of Ending Things (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Foe (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
We Spread (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

One Bird's Choice (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Truth About Luck (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Things that have beginnings have endings too, or so go a phrase. These endings, whether stimulated or existing naturally, might change the lives of those concerned into hitherto unprecedented ways. But the events that transpire in the run-up to suchlike events might overshadow the endings. This is the drift of the plot in the book penned by Iain Reid. Meet the aforementioned penman.

Iain Reid, who is a tricenarian, was born in the early 1980s in Ontario upon Canada. Reid, whose niche is especially non-fiction and fiction genres, is a novelist and doubles up as a memoirist. He is currently domiciled in Kingston, Ontario. Reid’s literary works have been featured in various North American publications among them New Yorker, New York Times, and British newspapers such as The Independent, Mail, and Canadian publications including The Kingston Whig-Standard, The National Post, and The Globe and Mail.

Iain Reid, who is an ardent bibliophile and loves reading suspenseful books, was influenced by the following authors. They are Irish author-cum-philosopher Iris Murdoch, Austrian scribbler Thomas Bernhard, British author Doris May Lessing, Dutch author Michel Faber, particularly his book titled Under the Skin, and Hungarian novelist Agota Kristof, especially Kristof’s The Notebook Trilogy which Reid read and had restless sleep.

Iain Reid: Background
According to Iain Reid, the inspiration to write the debut novel came during the time he used to live with his parents in their farm, located in a rural area in Ontario. This is well captured in his memoirs wherein he says that, by then, he was in his twenties and jobless but highly educated. He eked out a living in corporate Canada; fortunately for Reid, he landed a part-time stint in a radio station in his hometown. To minimize expenses, he moved in again with his parents in their family farm wherein he lived for more than a year; at the farm, he got into conflicts with farm fowl, fattened up on meals cooked at home, and indulged in a rural lifestyle synonymous with semi-retirement. This countryside lifestyle served Iain Reid in good stead.

Hard on the heels of publishing his memoirs—something which he opines that was a pleasant experience—he decided to venture into something that is out-and-out different, something that would make fear flit up the readers’ spines and make them generally uncomfortable when reading. For long, Iain Reid had wanted to write about unsettling feelings.

Iain Reid: Section on Books
Reid debuted in 2010 and his debut work is creative nonfiction. However, Reid would publish his debut novel eight years later. There are about 20 editions of Reid’s debut novel and the first edition was originally published in 2016, titled I’m Thinking of Ending Things. This standalone book is shelved under the horror, psychological thriller, mystery, philosophical fiction, and suspense genres. For a reason, Iain Reid lets his main character remain anonymous.

Incidentally, there are two dominant figures in the debut novel penned by Iain Reid. There is the Jake the boyfriend and Jake’s anonymous girlfriend. The dominant figure in Iain Reid’s book is an anonymous narrator. Unfortunately but apparently done intentionally, it is only the boyfriend who is named. His name is Jake. Meet protagonist Jake, based on the perspective of Jake’s girlfriend—a youthful, aggressive, and somewhat fascinating woman. Jake is a tall person, awkward, physically appealing, and captivating. Jake is a self-confessed cruciverbalist—he has a penchant for creating crossword puzzles.

The turning point in Iain Reid’s debut novel, I’m Thinking of Ending Things, is when Jake opts to take his girlfriend home and introduce her to his parents. Unfortunately for Jake and unbeknownst to him, the girlfriend has been considering dumping him all along. This is what the girlfriend declares in the formative pages of Reid’s book; she opines thus: “I’m thinking of ending things”. Much of the narration takes place when the two erstwhile lovers embark on a road trip on their sojourn to a lonesome family farm.

The book is sub-divided into three sections: first, during their road trip, a journey teeming with philosophical discussions; secondly, shortly after their arrival at Jake’s parents’ homestead wherein the chill is intensified by the rather weird behavior showed by Jake’s parents, thereby evoking thoughts of a looming sinister event; and, thirdly, the moment Jake and his girlfriend leave the homestead, ushering in frightening developments. All in all, the ensuing plot is intriguing, witty, bewildering, and chillingly appealing. It was nominated for the Barry Awards after all!

Iain Reid Awards
In 2017, Iain Reid was nominated for the Barry Awards, in the Best First Novel category; he got nominated courtesy of his 2016 book I’m Thinking of Ending Things. Two years earlier, Reid had been awarded the RBC Taylor Emerging Writer Award; he received $ 10,000 thanks to his 2013 memoir entitled The Truth About Luck.

Best Iain Reid Books
The following are the best three books authored by Iain Reid. The first one is I’m Thinking of Ending Things. The second one is The Truth About Luck, Iain Reid’s 2013 memoir. This is all about a vacation in Kingston upon Ontario, wherein Reid spent time with his grandmother, something that greatly inspired him.

The third one is his memoir titled One Bird’s Choice. This 2010 memoir chronicles Ian Reid’s life when he was in his twenties. It tells how Reid relocated from corporate Canada to his family-owned rural farm wherein he lived a laid-back lifestyle synonymous with pensioners.

Other Book Series You May Like
Readers who liked the books authored by Iain Reid also liked the following series of books. The first is called Detective Greene series, authored by Robert Rotenberg. This quadrilogy features Ontario-based law enforcers Ari Green, a sleuth, and police officer Daniel Kennicott. The second is called Stranje House series, penned by Kathleen Baldwin. This trilogy is set in the early 1800s during the era of Regency England and at a time when Napoleon Bonaparte was in exile; it features a group of youthful women, presumed unsuitable for marriage, who are torn between a call of duty and pursuing their dreams.

The third is called Eddy Harkness series, authored by Rory Flynn. This duology features a protagonist named Eddy Harkness; Harkness, an intelligent and youthful investigator attached to the narcotics unit, is tackling a quick succession of deadly accidents associated with drug traffickers.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Iain Reid

Leave a Reply