Book Notification

Ian K. Smith Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ashe Cayne Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Blackbird Papers (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ancient Nine (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Take-Control Diet (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dr. Ian Smith's Guide to Medical Websites (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fat Smash Diet (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Extreme Fat Smash Diet (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The 4 Day Diet (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Happy: Simple Steps to Get the Most Out of Life (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
4 Day Detox (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
EAT: The Effortless Weight Loss Solution (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Truth About Men: The Secret Side of the Opposite Sex (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Get Ready to Shred (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shred: The Revolutionary Diet (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Super Shred: The Big Results Diet (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shred Diet Cookbook (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blast the Sugar Out! (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Clean 20 (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Official Clean & Lean Recipe Book: The Official Companion to Dr. Ian Smith's Clean & Lean (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Clean and Lean (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mind over Weight (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fast Burn!: The Power of Negative Energy Balance (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Burn Melt Shred: Transform Your Body in 8 Weeks (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Plant Power (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Met Flex Diet (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ian K. Smith is an American doctor and author. During his career he has written extensively on health and weight loss, and helped millions of people reach their dieting goals through his Fat Smash Diet and The Shred Power Cleanse. Smith shared his work on a national level with appearances on shows such as The Oprah Show, The View, Dr. Oz, and Dr. Phil. Smith was also a co-host of the Emmy award-winning The Doctors television show. In addition to that, he was a medical contributor on The Rachael Ray.

While Smith originally became well known thanks to his non-fiction books and his television appearances, he has also written numerous books in the fiction category. His first work of fiction was 2004’s The Blackbird Papers. The book was his first entry into the world of crime fiction and he has proven to be a fresh voice in the genre since then. In addition, Smith has written for numerous newspapers and magazines including Time, Newsweek, Men’s Health, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, People, and Essence.

Ian attended and graduated from Harvard, Columbia, and the University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine. He is a licensed medical doctor and even served on the President’s Council on Fitness, Sports, and Nutrition in 2010 under President Barack Obama.

Smith’s most popular work as a fiction author has to be The Unspoken which is the first book in the Ashe Cayne series of books. The series follows a former cop who is now working as a private investigator in Chicago and his ongoing quest for justice in a tough city.

The Unspoken is Smith’s first book in the series of books following private detective Ashe Cayne. He is a former police officer who refused to participate in the cover-up involving the death of a young black man and now finds himself out of the force. For many this would be the end, but not Ashe. He is determined not to sit on the sidelines and has pans to continue to fight for justice as a private investigator – no matter how dangerous that gets.

Cayne is sprung into action when wealthy parents hire him to find their daughter, Tinsley Gerrigan, who has gone missing. The young woman has her secrets and Cayne goes about finding them. His investigation leads to many things that her family has no clue about and he begins to fear that she will never be found alive. When Tinsley’s boyfriend is found dead, Cayne’s worries increase. While many see another black man murdered on the streets of Chicago, Ashe sees more. In order to find the girl, he’ll need to use his contacts within the Chicago PD and his investigation skills to try and find her – and earn his own redemption.

Smith is also the author of The Ancient Nine. This book follows two unlikely men at Harvard who become friends. Spenser Collins is smart and athletic, but an unlikely Harvard prospect. He was raised in Chicago and strapped for cash, but here he is. While Dalton Winthrop was seemingly born to go to Harvard. He’s a legacy and he has the ease of life that comes from belonging. Their bond is formed and then solidified when Spenser joins the Delphic Club, one of the most exclusive final clubs at Harvard.

Dalton is more than familiar with the exclusive club as his great-uncle is one of their oldest living members. Dalton has always known of the club’s rituals, but he doesn’t know much about the Ancient Nine. What he does know is that it’s a group of alums who are unknown, but extremely powerful. They protect Delphi’s secrets including what really happened with the death of a student back in 1927.

Spenser is guided through the deeper recesses of the club by Dalton as the two try to make sense of what they think they are seeing. The friends are determined to find out more about the Ancient Nine, but the more questions they unearth and the more they learn about the history of the club – the more danger they find themselves in.

Smith’s debut novel was The Blackbird Papers. The book tells the story of a murdered Dartmouth professor named Wilson Bledsoe who is found murdered with a racist epithet carved into his chest. Soon after, two white supremacists are arrested for the crime and the local authorities are ready to close the book on this one. That’s not good enough for Sterling Bledsoe, an FBI agent and Wilson’s brother. He thinks there is more to the story and inserts himself into the investigation. The only thing he has to go on is one of his brother’s final projects, a paper on the mysterious deaths of hundreds of local blackbirds.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ian K. Smith

2 Responses to “Ian K. Smith”

  1. Dian M Moran: 4 months ago

    My greatest pleasure is reading a book a day and today I completely indulged myself. Thank you. I just finished reading The Blackbird Papers I started reading this Easter morning at 7am and just finished. What an absolute pleasure! You are at the top of my favorite authors list next to Grisham, Baldacci, Coben, Kellerman and Robert Crais. Thank you!

  2. Lauren S. Wright: 2 years ago

    I totally enjoyed The Unspoken and Wolf Point. And I just ordered the other two Novels.


Leave a Reply