Book Notification

Ian McGuire Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Incredible Bodies (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The North Water (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Abstainer (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Richard Ford and the Ends of Realism (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Manchester Anthology 2014(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ian McGuire is a published author from the United Kingdom. He is known for writing intriguing fictional novels that always have plenty of the dramatic.

Ian is not only a writer but a professor as well. The English author is married to his wife and the couple have two children together. The family resides together in Manchester, where Ian also happens to work. He is employed by the University of Manchester and keeps busy teaching American Literature.

He is known for writing his debut novel Incredible Bodies, which came out in 2006. He then followed his first novel up with another stand alone fiction novel that he titled The North Water, released in 2016. The book has been optioned to be made into a 2021 four part miniseries for television starring Colin Farrell and Jack O’Connell. His third novel came out for readers to enjoy in 2020 and is titled The Abstainer. It was released by Random House in the United States and Simon & Schuster in the United Kingdom. His book The North Water was also released by Simon & Schuster in the U.K., being published by Henry Holt in America. Bloomsbury would be the publisher of his first novel.

The author spend his younger days n the East Yorkshire area. Once he was older, he would enroll to study at home in England at the University of Manchester before going across the pond to the U.S. in order to attend the University of Virginia. However, it was only a matter of time before his home country called him back and he not only found a job there but started a life with his wonderful family. In addition to instructing students on the finer points of literature, he’s also an instructor on the topic of creative writing, appropriately enough.

McGuire also co-founded a center for new writing at the University he teaches at. As a noted author, he has enjoyed several glowing reviews, positive attention, and even awards. The author has been the recipient of the Encore Award from the Royal Society of Literature as well as the winner of the Gold Crown Award from the Historical Writers’ Association.

Incredible Bodies is the first fictional novel to come out from author Ian McGuire. If you have been looking for something new to read that is interesting and will keep you engrossed until the very last page, then check this book out.

In this debut, readers get to meet the main character of Morris Gutman. He’s a man that is in the middle of his thirties and he is employed as a lecturer at college. He’s only teaching at the University of Coketown on a temporary basis, however, and has a tough time making decisions. It appears that this has had a salient effect on how things have turned out for him.

When it comes to life, Morris didn’t plan that it would turn out this way. In fact, had he seen it coming, he probably would have found his way to the nearest door and taken off running. Everything in his world is completely taxing in one way or another. His wife is demanding and he has no happiness in his marriage (and neither apparently does his spouse). They have a child together that never appears to get a good night of sleep, disrupting their rest continually. Then there’s his job, where he’s teaching courses to students in English that could not be less grateful for the information that they are receiving.

Even though things could be better, Morris is determined to try and get ahead and change things for himself. He’ll do anything to try and negotiate his way into getting hired on as part of the department on a permanent basis. This may mean wading his way slowly through the academic world and all of the mines that appear to come with it, and it may also mean that he has to win the confidence of Zoe Cable, a research fellow that is as attractive as she is cunning and manipulative.

Can Morris pull it off and turn his life around completely? Or will he find that it is something about him that led to all of this coming about and manifesting in the first place? Can he land the job and find peace in his personal life? Read this unique novel from this author to find out!

The North Water is the second novel by Ian McGuire. It was nominated for the best novel category to receive the Man Booker Prize. It was also longlisted for the 2016 Man Booker Prize and named a top ten notable book selection in 2016 by the New York Times. It was also shortlisted for the Book Prize given by the LA Times in 2017. The novel would be the recipient of the RSL Encore Award in 2017.

The year is 1859 and times are tough. When Patrick Sumner decides to sign up for a jaunt on a ship to hunt whales, he thinks that he’s going to come away with a little money and hopefully be able to leave the past behind where it belongs. The ship itself is on its way to the Arctic Circle, and for Patrick, the voyage cannot come soon enough.

Patrick made his way out of the British Army and found that his good name had been besmirched. Getting on the ship and taking the job as the surgeon is pretty much his best bet. But whether the voyage runs smoothly remains yet to be seen. There is still time yet for everything to go horribly wrong, and go horribly wrong it shall.

Patrick has no idea that this is about to be the trip of a lifetime, and certainly not in a good way. When they find one of the cabin boys dead and can be sure that it was murder, things get strange. But Patrick finds that he must act. Meanwhile, an evil is approaching that may outstrip anything that he has faced down yet. Can Patrick survive this journey in one piece? Read this novel to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ian McGuire

Leave a Reply