Book Notification

Ian Moore Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Follet Valley Mysteries Books

The Case of the Beached Mermaid (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death and Croissants (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death and Papa Noël (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death and Fromage (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death at the Chateau (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in le Jardin (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Playing the Martyr (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Ian Moore is a much sought after corporate awards host, compere and comedian that has been a regular fixture on “Fighting Talk” a popular “BBC 5Live” program. He is also the author of bestselling novel “A la Mod” that chronicles his move to rural France with his family.
Ian has had much success in the UK National and London the capital circuits and often headlines the “Comedy Store” in London. Ian has made a name for himself with his laconic observations about life.

These range from a pathological hate of physical exertion to how one can go wrong using the wrong vocabulary which have been very popular with audiences across the world from the Middle East to the Philippines, China to Australia.

Moore has also performed at the Montreal “Just for Laughs” comedy festival following a very successful run at the “Edinburgh Festival,” where he performed alongside Catherine Tate. He has also performed with Jimmy Carr and was the headliner of the finale of the Worldcom show.

Ian Moore recently became a mystery author when he penned and published “Death and Croissants.” The novel is set in Loire in France, where the comedian moved with his family when he was fed up with living in London.

The work was intended to be the first of many humorous works that the comedian turned author has been writing ever since. He had previously written “Cest Modnifique” and “A la Mod” that are comedic stories of how he moved to rural France with his family as a middle aged comedian that could not fit in.
He is also the author of “Playing the Martyr,” an independently published work set in the same small town as his other novels. Unlike his other novels, this work is about a middle aged British man who is the proprietor of a bed and breakfast establishment in rural France.

His works have been described as perfect summer reads that are totally charming, properly funny combined with vivid descriptions of the small village in which they are set. Ian has said that he loves writing the novels as they combine murder mysteries and comedy his two loves.

Even though Ian Moore is fed up with England, he still regularly commutes between France and London and has been doing so for the past 16 years. Soon after the Brexit Referendum, he applied for French citizenship as he anticipated that his movements could have been restricted if he did not.
In a recent interview, he said that he loved living in France but never intended to take up citizenship. He loves to consider himself European rather than British, and this is what made him become a French citizen.

He has said that he does not mind being called a traitor for living abroad and for his view as he feels that it is Britain that has betrayed him.
When he is not performing on comedy circuits or raising chickens in France he can be found making jams and chutneys.

Ian Moore’s “Death and Croissants” is a humorous cozy set in rural France that tells the story of Richard Ainsworth, a British expat. He lives in the small village of Val de Follet that is nested in a quiet corner of the French region of Loire, where he owns and runs a bed and breakfast.

Richard likes things boring and dull since that is what he is. Now retired to the small and quiet corner of France, he blends into the background and tends to the needs of his guests. The highlight of his day is usually when he has finished his daily chores and can retire to feed his hens Ava Gardner, Joan Crawford, and Lana Turner.

He also takes some time to sit back to enjoy his whiskey and watch old movies. But everything changes when Valerie Dorcay, the alluring and beautiful woman arrives to stay at his establishment. Richard suddenly finds himself helping the young woman try to solve the mystery of the disappearance of one of his guests.
His boring and dull life takes a backseat as his head spins trying to figure out what could have happened to the guest.

“A la Mod” by Ian Moore is a charming and funny novel that takes a look at the author’s life in rural France. As would be expected from reading work composed by a comedian, there are plenty of laughs, giggles and sniggers as he lightheartedly takes a look into his life.

He introduces himself as a mod that needs to dress a certain way which means his clothing is usually very different from that of the rural folk among whom he lives. He would have blended in fine in Paris and London but in Loire his new home, he really does stand out.

This is particularly amusing particularly his description of what he wears as a mod while doing his outdoor chores such as feeding the chickens and cows among other rural living activities. The locals usually view him with a mix of mistrust, amusement and awe but this does not put him off.

All he wants is a place that is quiet enough where he can spend his days when he is not making people laugh across Europe. It was for this reason that he left London to go live in the quieter regions of France. His ever growing family of animals and children make his search for quiet particularly tricky.

“Cest Modnifique” by Ian Moore is set six years following the comedian and his family’s move to Loire Valley, an idyllic region in rural France. The family and the comedian are beginning to feel that they may finally find the tranquility and peace they so craved when they moved from England to la belle France.
They have finished working on Les Champs Creatifs their very unique writing school project but so far they haven’t received any students. To stay busy, Natalie and the children may have to contend with the Christmas Pudding Man, threatening hunters and Sicilian faith healers from the surrounding countryside.
Ian too will need to test his mettle as a mod against two goats that have gone missing. With animal poop, strains and stresses mounting, the Moore family are nearly overwhelmed but are determined to do the best job they can.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ian Moore

Leave a Reply