Book Notification

Immortals After Dark Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Immortals After Dark Books

By: Kresley Cole, Gena Showalter
The Warlord Wants Forever / Blood Red Kiss (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Hunger Like No Other (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
No Rest for the Wicked (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wicked Deeds on a Winter's Night (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dark Needs at Night's Edge (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dark Desires After Dusk (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kiss of a Demon King (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Deep Kiss of Winter (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Pleasure of a Dark Prince (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Demon from the Dark (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dreams of a Dark Warrior (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lothaire (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Brothers Wroth (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shadow's Claim (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
MacRieve (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Untouchable (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dark Skye (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sweet Ruin (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shadow's Seduction (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wicked Abyss (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Munro (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

A popular and burgeoning talent within the field of Young Adult literature, Kresley Cole is making a name for herself as a successful American author who’s fast becoming highly influential among her peers and contemporaries. Writing within the field of romance, paranormal and fantasy, she’s been able to carve a unique name for herself that’s all her own, producing one of the most idiosyncratic voices to date. Creating in depth worlds and fully immersive universes within her pages, she’s been able to transport the viewer with her extremely vivid and evocative writing that takes it beyond pure escapism. Setting a style that’s just as character driven as it is plot driven, she’s got a talent that captures her audience and holds them within her pages. Whether it be romance or fantasy, she transgresses the different genres to get to the truth of the matter and find the heart beneath the deceptively simple subject matter. Her Immortals After Dark series is no exception to this particular rule, as it manages to capture everything that works in her novels and much more, creating a much beloved series that has been taken up by both critics and the general public in equal measure.

The series itself is one of paranormal romance which, whilst it may appear to be a fairly distant subject to many people far removed from their own experiences, Cole manages to bring it back down to a more relatable and intimate level. Charting the stories of a group of vampires who live shrouded in secrecy, existing alongside humans unbeknownst to them, as they go about their night-to-night activities maintaining their secrecy and keeping order. Hiding in the shadows they have broken themselves up into factions creating subsets and groups which they manage themselves from. Humans don’t often come into contact with them and they try to keep that to a minimum, but it appears to be getting harder as things are starting to change. There is a war coming, one that comes every 500 years and it threatens to engulf them all if they’re not careful and become the undoing of life as they know it.

The Warlord Wants Forever

Originally published in 2006, this was to be the book that first brought readers worldwide into the universe of the Immortals After Dark, with all their shadows and secrets waiting round every corner. Setting up the key players and principal characters, it built the foundations for much of what was to follow in the subsequent novels and give birth to a highly entertaining franchise. Establishing the factions and clans within, it also sets up the style and the tone, thus providing the reader with an idea of what to expect in regards to the overall ambiance throughout.

Facing the prospect of a new war that threatens to engulf the world and life as they know it, a group of vampires hiding within the shadows are keeping their presence in the world a secret. There’s the warlord Nikolai Wroth; a mysterious being who is searching for ‘the bride’, his one true love and the key to his heart and soul, who can make him beat once more. Then there’s the seductress Myst; a beautiful Valkyrie who has sworn herself to protecting the world from the danger of the vampires and keeping guard over an ancient jewel. It is when these two come up against each other, needing something from one another, that sparks begin to fly and they deny their passions in the face of an even greater danger. What will become of Nikolai and will he ever be able to find his one true bride to spend the rest of his existance with, or is he destined to spend eternity alone and unloved? Can Myst protect the jewel along with the human race, or will she falter as her passions are inflamed? Just how will things come to ahead once they find out the warlord wants forever?

A Hunger Like No Other

Initially published in 2006, this was released just shortly after the first in quick succession, picking up from where the last left off and continuing the action that made the original so compelling. Establishing tone and setting once again, it jumps straight into the action this time without missing a beat, this time with a new set of characters existing within this dark and mysterious world. What also remains are the themes and arcs that stay throughout, such as passion, romance and stories of enduring love that holds out despite the seemingly insurmountable odds.

Two beings are destined to be together, but it’s not quite what they were expecting and, after a millenia waiting to meet, things now come to ahead once they realize who the other is. Lachlain MacRieve has been fighting vampires for as long as he can remember, so when Emmaline Troy, a half-vampire, half-valkyrie, is set to be with him he gets a burning fury unlike no other. She soon manages to quell this anger though, as the two of them find more in common than they otherwise expected, as they join forces in hearts and souls. Will they manage to overcome their differences? Can they defend themselves from the evils of the world at large? What will become of them as they discover a hunger like no other?

The Immortals After Dark Series

Basing itself on mythical folklore and legends, this is a series which is really aware of its subject matter and what it’s working with, as it manages to play with the many codes and conventions of the genre. Producing fifteen books in the series so far and counting, this series has been running since 2006 to much success, as there’s much scope for the overall narrative. Winning a number of awards for novels, she’s quickly becoming a well recognized presence within the fantasy romance community, establishing a persona that become highly respected. Gaining both critical and commercial success, she has built herself a legacy that’s both influential and fast growing, as her career goes from strength-to-strength. With plenty more stories available on the horizon as well it appears this increasingly popular line of books is not going to be stopping anytime soon, as it continues on into the foreseeable future with much success.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Immortals After Dark

Leave a Reply