Book Notification

Imogen and Hugh Croft Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Imogen and Hugh Croft Mysteries Books

Aoife's Chariot (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Only Survivor (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lawful Death (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Full Beam (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Woman Who Vanished (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Memorial for the Dead (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ghost Of Marchmont Hall (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery at Christmas Cottage (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Flawed Emerald and Other Stories (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Better Place (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Imogen and Hugh Croft is a series of mystery books by an English author of crime, mystery, and fiction books Katherine Pathak. The series features Imogen and Hugh, a couple who are dedicated in solving murder and other criminal cases. Pathak began her Imogen, and Hugh Croft books in 2013 and the series lasted six books concluding in 2015 with The Ghost of Marchmont Hall. Each book in the series can be read as a standalone as Imogen and Hugh solve distinct cases in each story; however, to get a better understanding of the series, it’s recommended you read it in order of publication.

Aoife’s Chariot: Mirrored Murder

This is the first book in Imogen and Hugh Croft series by Katherine Pathak. We meet Imogen and Hugh Croft investigating two identical deaths which took place forty years apart.

After the sudden demise of her mother, Imogen returns to her childhood home in Garansay, Scotland. Her brothers have assigned her a task of deciding what to do with her parent’s farm, which is slowing turning into ruins. Imogen, however, won’t be hastened into passing judgment on the place. But when she begins to carry out research into the history of her parent’s farm, she unintentionally sets off a series of events that ends in tragedy.

Suddenly she and her husband, Hugh finds themselves entangled in an insoluble puzzle. How can it be possible that a death in the present day matches precisely and in detail an unsolved death that occurred four decades ago? As the past swiftly begins to catch up with the present, Imogen soon realizes that she must investigate if she is to discover the truth about her family. She will have to do whatever it takes; even if it means that her life will never be the same again.

The first in Imogen and Hugh Croft series is an intricately woven novel, that’s cleverly interwoven with occasional red herrings and subtle clues. The story will keep you on the edge of the seat guessing and turning pages as fast as possible until the final and shocking conclusion. Aoife’s Chariot is the debut novel in Imogen and Hugh Croft series. It’s an entertaining and engaging family saga, filled with mystery and suspense. The main characters are husband and wife Imogen and Hugh Craft. Set in Essex and Scottish Islands, these settings provide a detailed and interesting background and the island life that play a vital role in the plot.

The Only Survivor

Can you trust the only helicopter crash survivor? When a helicopter crashed off the west coast of Garansay, only one person survived the crash. It was a 19-year-old boy by the name Cameron Fleming. The boy was quickly befriended by one of the rescuers, Michael Nichols. However, when Michael’s sister and her family travelled to Garansay to spend their summer, Imogen soon discovered that the boy was never innocent as everyone thought.

The Only Survivor is a gripping and intriguing second book in Imogen and Hugh Croft series. The main characters, husband and wife again find themselves dragged into the dark and seedy world of international organised crime and find themselves terrified out of their depths. They embark on a journey to the city of Dubai in order to investigate and solve a puzzling crime behind Fleming’s deaths and then return to Garansay to reveal the mystery and unexpected solution.

Lawful Death

When a young man is killed during a burglary at Langley Farm, the murder divides the local community into two. Having recently published his book on Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), professor Hugh agrees to help Thomas Langley’s as an expert witness. As Hugh starts to interview Langley, he soon realizes that the older man is not as he seems. The professor finds it impossible to see this tough retired soldier as a fragile victim the press has made him out to be. He soon discovers that the Langley’s Farm case is intricate than it first appeared to be.

While Hugh and his wife are struggling to deal with their family problem, they find themselves caught up in a web of retribution and life, resulting into a race against time to protect those they love the most. Lawful Death is a fast-paced and engaging thriller that will have you turning pages from the first page to the last. Some of the themes Katherine Pathak discusses here include grief and impact of war and dealing into the complexities of the human psyche.

The Woman Who Vanished

While enjoying the peaceful time in Suffolk, Kathleen and Gerry find their restful break interrupted when a bunch of rowdy middle aged volunteers arrive. The noisy group is helping bring back the glory of a nearby country estate which has been isolated for more than 40 years. The more Kathy and her partner hear about the mysterious history of the Sandlings Hall, the more they become intrigued. Kath finds herself unable to resist the urge to explore the intricate past of this beguiling place. In the process, she comes to discover the disappearance of a woman in the estate, which happened more than six decades ago.
Can Kathy find out what happened to Lillian Cartwright and solve the complex mystery of the country estate- or will the dark forces present prevent her from finding out the truth? With some assistance from her son and daughter in law, Kathy won’t stop at anything until she finds the truth. But Imogen and her husband have their marriage problem to deal with, as the death of a teenage girl draws them into a new shocking investigation where they will be forced to face their most lethal enemy yet. Once again, Katherine Pathak has woven an intricate and intriguing mystery story that will transport you back and forth in time as Kathy tries to find the answers to what happened to Lillian. If you enjoy reading mystery books featuring couples as the lead character, then Imogen and Hugh series by Katherine Pathak is a recommended read.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Imogen and Hugh Croft

Leave a Reply