Book Notification

Imogen Clark Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Postcards Books

Postcards from a Stranger (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Postcards at Christmas (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of ImogenClark Standalone Novels

The Thing About Clare (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where the Story Starts (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Piece (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reluctantly Home (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Impossible To Forget (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Unwanted Inheritance (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
In a Single Moment (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Imogen Clark
Imogen Clark pens thoughtful contemporary women’s fiction all about the secrets which hide at the heart of the fictional families she creates.

She wrote stories when she was a girl however when she trained to be a lawyer all of her creativity was sucked right out of her. Then one night she dreamed about writing a book and so she decided she would give it a go. That was in the year 2010 and she hasn’t stopped writing books since then.

Her first burning ambition was to become a lawyer so she read Law at Manchester University and then worked for many years at a commercial law firm. After she left her legal career behind to care for her kids, she turned to her second love: books. She went back to university, studying on a part time basis while the kids were at school and was awarded a BA in English Literature with First Class Honors. It was a short step from there to writing novels.

When Imogen was younger, she read whatever books she could get her hands on. Her favorites when she was little were Enid Blyton and A. A. Milne. She also devoured the “Swallows and Amazons” series. As a teen, she fluctuated between the classics and the things that she believed would be cool to have in her bag.

Imogen gets inspired to write by asking herself ‘what if?’, and if the answer is an interesting one, then she begins jotting ideas down. Sometimes the ideas just go nowhere. But sometimes they will sit in her head for months or even years at a time before she’s able to work out how they might make a book.

She will begin with a question, like with “Postcards” this question was what sort of woman would up and leave her kids? From there she comes up with her characters and will dump them into the middle of a crisis and see what happens.

She does her best to get through writer’s block. If her characters start misbehaving, she will put them somewhere new just to see what will happen. What results does not always end up in the novel however it does kick start those little gray cells once more.

Imogen loves sunshine and travel, and she is always planning her next adventure.

Imogen’s debut novel, called “Postcards from a Stranger”, was released in the year 2017. It was self-published initially but quickly spotted by Lake Union, the women’s fiction arm of Amazon Publishing and she was offered a three book publishing deal as a result.

“Where the Story Starts” was shortlisted in the UK for Contemporary Romantic Novel of the year in 2020. Her novels have topped Amazon store wide charts eight times.

“Postcards from a Stranger” is the first novel in the “Postcards” series and was released in the year 2017. A secret lies buried at the center of her family, however it cannot remain hidden forever.

When Cara stumbles upon a stash of old postcards up in the attic, their contents make her question everything that she believed she knew.

The tale that she pieces together is unsettling and confusing, and seems to have been patched over with lies. However who can possibly tell her the truth? With her dad sinking deeper into Alzheimer’s and her brother hesitant to help, it appears she will never get her questions answered. One thing is certain, however: somebody knows more than they let on.

Torn between the loyalty she feels for her family and dread of what she may find, Cara digs deeper into the early years of her parents’ troubled marriage, hunting down some long lost relatives that may help unravel this mystery. However the picture that starts emerging isn’t at all the one she had expected, because like she quickly learns, lies have got a nasty habit of multiplying.

“Postcards at Christmas” is the second novel in the “Postcards” series and was released in the year 2019. Is Cara’s family past ruin her Christmas present, or is she going to let love in?

After learning about her mom’s secret life, Cara doesn’t have all that much faith in marriage.

So when Simeon, the love of her life, proposes to her, she struggles to say yes. She adores the guy, however why risk the perfect relationship by signing on some dotted line which could ruin everything? If her parents’ marriage taught anything to her, it was that a gold ring won’t equal happiness, and she’s no desire to follow in their rather dysfunctional footsteps.

However maybe there is a bigger picture after all. When one tragic accident brings even more truths to the surface, Cara’s forced to question all that she believes, and fears, about long term. And these answers aren’t at all obvious. Could she possibly rewrite her family’s history and create a love story of her own?

“The Thing About Clare” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2018. One dying wish and a devastating secret. Should the truth actually stay buried?

The four Bliss siblings have got a loving yet complex bond, however when Dorothy, their mom, dies apparently without any will, this relationship gets put to the test. While these mourning siblings attempt to make sense of this situation, one of them gets caught with a secret: before Dorothy entrusted her favorite daughter with her will and this letter. And she told her to destroy them both.

It was Anna, of course, their mom turned to for this mission. Miriam, who is the oldest, is much too sensible, while Clare (the middle child) has been too rebellious to rely on and always has been; she also cut herself out of her siblings’ lives a long time ago. Sebastian, the baby of the family, is too sensitive.

However what Anna discovers in these documents could change it all. Do these other siblings not deserve to know what it is about them their mom would be so desperate to hide? And should it be revealed, is the Bliss family ever going to be the same again?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Imogen Clark

Leave a Reply