Book Notification

Inger Frimansson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Justine Dalvik Books

Good Night, My Darling (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadow In The Water (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Cat Did Not Die (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Island of Naked Women (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

In Our Darkened House (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Darker Shade of Sweden(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stockholm Noir(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Inger Frimansson
Inger Frinmansson was born November 14, 1944 in Stockholm, Sweden, and grew up in different places in the middle of Sweden. Now she lives with her husband, Jan, in Södertälje, a town close to Stockholm. She worked for thirty years as a journalist before writing fiction. When she was younger, she won many literary competitions, one of which was the so-called Little Nobel Prize in the year 1963.

Right from early on, she had the ambition to become a writer, and began a career as a journalist. Up until she released her debut novel, in the year 1984, she was publishing short stories, poems, and novels for younger readers.

She has won the Best Swedish Crime Novel Award twice, for “Goodnight My Darling” in the year 1998, and for “The Shadow in the Water” in the year 2005. She is the only female crime author to do so twice. “Good Night, my Darling won Gold for Best Translated Book in the year 2008.

Inger’s debut novel, called “The Double Bed”, was released in the year 1984. Her work is from the crime and psychological thriller genres. She has also penned short stories, poems, and books for kids. Her work has been published in many languages and published in countries such as Holland, Norway, Latvia, Finland, Denmark, Bulgaria, Spain, the U.S.A., and Germany

“Good Night, My Darling” is the first novel in the “Justine Dalvik” series and was released in the year 2005. Who is Justine Dalvik? The woman that lives in the tall narrow stone house at Lake Malaren. She who continues to refuse to sell and appears to live a totally independent life with much wealth.

What actually happened during the tragic journey in the Malaysian jungle? In Justine’s presence, there are always frightening events that just happen to take place. Possibly the answers could be in her childhood and the way she attempted to settle with her past was such a disaster.

This is one psychological thriller about revenge and senselessness that never once loosens its grasp of your attention for an instant.

“The Shadow In The Water” is the second novel in the “Justine Dalvik” series and was released in the year 2005. Justine Dalvik has returned. Six years have gone by since Justine Dalvik successfully killed all her tormentors. Since then, her life has taken a much calmer direction and the risk for being found out should be over. However, the past threatens to catch back up with her.

During her nightmares, she sees Berit’s corpse coming up to the surface of the water in Malaren. At the same time, Berit’s family and friends have begun digging into the past. There is also a violent cop that is gaining an interest in many of the already closed down investigations.

While these people close in on the ancient stone house near the water of Malaren, where Justine lives with her bird, she begins feeling the noose getting tighter around her neck.

Inger skillfully weaves themes of light and darkness, life and death, guilt and innocence. It is a bleak mystery that isn’t for the faint of heart, and will linger in the mind of the reader long after the last page has been turned.

“The Double Bed” is a stand alone novel and was released in the year 1984. Erika wants kids of her own. She is unable to tell anybody because somebody would make her get an abortion. Not even Torwald knows anything about it, despite the fact that he is father of her child.

Erika knows for sure that she is able to take care of kids. One of her own. Then she would truly be like the other women her age. Then she would be treated like an actual adult. People don’t think that people who are mentally retarded are able to cope with being parents.

One day, Erika steps out of the shower, and a caregiver in the house just happens into the bathroom. She gets found out for being pregnant. Therefore, Erika has to escape. She has to attempt to hide until her baby has been born.

“The Cat That Didn’t Die” is a stand alone novel and was released in the year 2000. Ulf and Beth are one middle-aged couple that have marital problems. While they are on their way to a summer village, close to Tidaholmsanstalten, they hear that two interns, thought to be dangerous, have just escaped.

During the evening, while the couple was drinking a lot, they find that somebody is at the shed’s outbuilding. Beth is gripped by both anger and fear and rushes toward the guy. She pulls an ax on him. The guy raises his hands and moves towards her, she kills him.

After one sleepless night, they make the decision to report this incident to the cops, however, on the way they find a flyer that says that those two escapees have been captured. In a panic, they hide the dead, burying the dead guy behind the house. Because of this decision, they get pulled deeper and deeper into invented stories and lies that work to threaten their very existence.

“Island of the Naked Women” is a stand alone novel and was released in the year 2002. Tobias, who writes mystery novels, has to go back to the family farm after his dad was incapacitated because of a fall from the hayloft. Tobias is resentful of his dad’s judgmental attitude, however, he finds the allure of Sabina, his dad’s young wife, tough to resist.

At the same time, the hired hand, Hardy, scoffs at Tobias’ city ways and encourages Adam, Sabina’s mentally challenged son to become an Elvis impersonator. Ingelize, the runner of a nearby riding school, finds Tobias to be irresistible.

This rural life gets more and more claustrophobic for Tobias, however, before he is able to return to the city, death strikes a blow. And that is when chaos ensues.

This is a gripping read that features controlled and taut prose and some offbeat characters. Inger vividly conveys the protagonist’s inner turmoil in this hypnotic psychological study.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Inger Frimansson

Leave a Reply