Book Notification

Ingrid Langley & Patrick Gillard Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ingrid Langley and Patrick Gillard Mystery Books

A Murder of Crows (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death of a Raven (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Brass Eagle (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who Killed Cock Robin? (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rook-Shoot (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gallows Bird (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Hanging Matter (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Trouble (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
So Horrible a Place (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tainted Ground (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cobweb (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Substitute (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Souvenirs of Murder (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Corpse in Waiting (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rat Poison (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stealth (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Side (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ashes to Ashes (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dust to Dust (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stone Cold, Stone Dead (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gillard's Sting (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Not Quite Perfect Murderer (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Margaret Duffy began writing after her long military career at the Ministry of Defense and the Inland Revenue. She has authored numerous books; key among them is the Ingrid Langley/Patrick Gillard Mystery series book, which comprises of fifteen complete editions. Margaret lives in Devon, Scotland with her family.

A Murder of Crows #1

This is the first book in the Ingrid, Patrick Mystery Series. In this espionage thriller, Patrick and Ingrid are teamed up, one being a professional and the other an amateur. Patrick is the ex- British SAS agent and Ingrid is his ex-wife. The book is typically romantic, with the hero exuding some charming weaknesses. The story is one of pure escapism. Ingrid’s present husband is killed (she seems aloof and unmoved with the death of her husband, another typical British snobbish character). Major Gillard, Ingrid’s ex-husband grievously– wounded in the War at Falklands, has begun investigating Patrick’s death. His superiors have instructed him to work with a female partner who will act as his wife in his next mission. Who can fit in that role more perfectly than his now-single ex-wife? But their breakup was a cruel one. Ingrid had kicked him out and then later divorced him in a bitter row where she furiously smashed up his precious guitar! But he’d loved her, and never wanted to leave. Will she accept his ludicrous offer?

Ingrid Langley is no ingénue; she is a mature perceptive as well as an intelligent woman with a smart sense of humor and pride. Major Gillard is a strong male lead. He is has lost much during his lifetime and has struggled to recover, to survive, and carry on with his career. After a near death experience in the Falklands war, he underwent a series of surgeries on his legs to function properly. While he needed an extended period to recover, Gillard did not contemplate his fate to a life of being disabled. Margaret Duffy is a unique storyteller with a fantastic way of expressing mature romance and provoking danger. The characters in this book depict damaged, fallible, and utterly captivating in a soulful tale of passion and deceit.

Death of a Raven #2

Lists of curious guests have gathered for a house party at a lavish vacation residence on the Canadian coast, their aim is not to socialize and gossip but for security reasons. The safety of the get-together is of supreme importance because the attendees are not your ordinary folk. These are superior English engineers commissioned to design Canada’s revitalized missile controls for the naval armed forces. But an inexplicable murder has occurred. It is suspicious since it takes place right in the middle of the party engagements. The friendly English MI5 agents/couple have been instructed to attend the party. A spellbinding game of deception played, and all the engineers must partake in it, willingly or not. Soon after a fortuitous car, crash takes place, then a case of poisoning. Gillard and Ingrid know a traitor is present. Who crashed the festivities? Will the couple unravel the mystery before more engineers succumb to a dangerous game of uncontrollable deaths?

The death of a Raven’ Ingrid/Patrick series is a fast-paced thriller filled with unrelenting suspense and treading on a thin line as the exclusive guests die one, by one. It’s more frustrating to keep reading not knowing the original master plan of the murder sequence. The plot is deadly, no count, and well worth reading every single page in the quest for the final truth. The book is a charm, the more you read, the more you keep guessing until the end. What an awesome way to keep readers on a single mission!

Souvenirs of Murder

We skip booking thirteen in the continuous mystery by popular reviewing. I found it quite engaging and un-put-downable too. Patrick Gillard and Ingrid Langley are a secret mission couple. Ingrid Langley isn’t amused when her MI5 work partner and fake husband, Patrick Gillard, currently engaged with the Organized Crime Agency, is sent on mission duty immediately after their son is born. A local crime presents a great distraction. Before she can take on the new assignment, Ingrid has to deal with a huge setback. Pangborne is murdered, and the evidence presented points to Patrick as the assassin. What will she do? Her husband is not in town, she was infuriated with his mission away from home and now this. It’s time to think, time to work and figure out what is going on at the agency. Someone is after Patrick or did he out rightly lie to Ingrid once more? Such a twist even I didn’t expect.

The characters depicted in this book just blend in with your soul. They become a part of you, and you feel indebted to stay and help figure things out “together.” It’s so engaging, hooking, suspicious, and eclectic Margaret Duffy knows how to tighten up her stories and hoodwink you almost to believe the fantastic work of fiction. If you’re a fan of British mystery books, especially police protocol in British style mysteries, this one’s a dope, factual read.

Rat Poison#15

Patrick and Ingrid are at it again; this time paired to work on a deadly high-level case. Rat Poison summarizes the Ingrid/Patrick mystery series. When a bloody gang feud breaks out in Bath city, it rapidly becomes apparent that a London crime master has plans to infiltrate the area. DCI James Carrick is forced to seek assistance from the Serious Organized Crime Agency. MI5, Gillard, and his associate Langley tasked with this particular case must try to identify the main shooters and their locations in the violent bloodbath. What they do not know is that they gang highly organized and ahead of them almost ten steps away. Patrick has since seen worst cases, so he must find ways to tackle this one delicately. One bad move and they could both die. It’s a winner takes it all kind of situation.

Margaret skillfully took two rivals and made them into great working crime partners. There’s no time to think, just flow with the story. It’s not even safe to say that they have to raise a fake family in the midst of constant danger. What a beautifully summarized book. Excellent read with awesome, satisfying closing chapters.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Ingrid Langley & Patrick Gillard

Leave a Reply