Book Notification

Inspector Chen Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Inspector Chen Books

Death of a Red Heroine (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Loyal Character Dancer (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Red is Black (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Case of Two Cities (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Mandarin Dress (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mao Case (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Cry, Tai Lake (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Enigma of China (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shanghai Redemption (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hold Your Breath, China (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Becoming Inspector Chen (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inspector Chen and the Private Kitchen Murder (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love and Murder in the Time of Covid (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Inspector Chen Collections

Poems of Inspector Chen (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Inspector Chen and Me (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of A Judge Dee Investigation Books

The Shadow of the Empire (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Qiu Xiaolong is an eminent writer of English literature from Shanghai, China. He is the honored author of the award-winning Inspector Chen series.

Inspector Chen is a fascinating drama series of an investigator in the Police Bureau and a portrait of an interesting journey throughout supernatural and mystical encounters. Just like other Qiu Xiaolong series, Inspector Chen is a beautifully crafted series. Its story includes exciting action, drama and adventure set in the prospect of real life to keep the readers eventful and in suspense.

Inspector Chen series has been keeping his readers busy from over 15 years. Following is the list of volumes of Inspector Chen throughout the years for his fans.

1) Death of a Red Heroine

This is the first ever volume of Inspector Chen series adorned by Qiu Xiaolong and it was published in the year 2000.

As this is the first plot of the whole series, Qiu describes in it the struggle of a not-so-old Inspector Chen with his associate to discover the motive behind the killing of a national model worker. And how Chen and Yu manages to stop the evil Wu with all the political obstructions and threats to seize up the investigation.

2) A Loyal Character Dancer

This volume is the second in the series of Inspector Chen by Qiu Xiaolong and it was published in the year 2002.

Preceded by Death of a Red Heroine, this story also keeps portraying the idea that “Heroes are made not born.” The story starts as Inspector Chen, who has now become Chief Inspector, finds a dead body of a woman with extreme lesions. Even though Chen had the orders to assist the daughter of US Marshal with some investigation, he decides to engage in the case of the dead woman.

3) When Red Is Black

With more thrilling drama than before, this is the third plot of Inspector Chen series by Qiu Xiaolong and it was issued in 2004. The story of this plot is in the prospect of modern China.

The scene starts when the Chief Inspector Chen finds himself forced to translate a business proposal to the New World as a whole new level of revolution in China, which he knows can evoke nostalgia for the people of Central Shanghai.

As the story continues and Sergeant Yu forcefully takes charge of the murder of a novelist. Chen returns to investigate the past and as per he finds the answers he realizes how triad has played him.

4) A Case of Two Cities

With larger and more disquieting mystery, this plot is the fourth in line of Inspector Chen series by Qiu Xiaolong. This was published in the year 2006.

The story of this volume is in the panorama of how Inspector Chen goes from Shanghai all the way to the US to associate with his colleague from the US Marshall Service, Inspector Catherine Rhon, to investigate a high-profile anti-corruption case. Inspector Chen gets responsibility to act as necessary to end corruption from the Chinese upper houses.

5) Red Mandarin Dress

Full of suspense, this was the fifth edition in the Inspector Chen series by Qiu Xiaolong. This book was published in 2007.

In this volume Inspector Chen investigates his most dangerous and sensitive case of brutal killings that can take his country back to its debauched periods. After getting pressure from Party Officials and Shanghai Police Department, this time Chen partakes to investigate serial killings all over on the streets of Shanghai leaving dead bodies dressed in red mandarin.

6) The Mao Case

For readers to enjoy another exciting mystery, the Mao Case is the sixth plot of Inspector Chen series of Qiu Xiaolong. This book was published in 2009.

Seeing the Chief Inspector Chen working so enthusiastically for his country, despite the pressures put upon him for conflicting of interest, Inspector Chen is now placed head of the Special Case group of the Shanghai Police Department. To resist the international embarrassment, Inspector Chen gets chosen for the special assignment of remnants of pre-Communist Shanghai Society. Chen has to find a feared material and retrieve it in the given time or the days of Shanghai will become harsher.

7) Don’t Cry, Tai Lake

Another thrilling yet intelligent part of Inspector Chen series by Qiu Xiaolong for his disciples. It was published in 2012.

The story is built on how Inspector Chen gets out of the situation where he has to find justice for both the victim and accused and uncover the truth behind the brutal murder. Not to mention that, Inspector Chen must tread carefully as the once beautiful Lake Tai, is now covered in fatigue algae and polluted with toxic runoff.

8) Enigma of China

With another inspiring story for the fans of Inspector Chen, this is the eighth plot of Inspector Chen series by Qiu Xiaolong. This book was published in 2013.

While being one of the most respected police officer in the department, now Party brought Chen to sign off the investigation of the Head of Shanghai Housing Development Committee Zhou Keng. The party gets fearful when corrupt practices of major party members come exposed on the internet. Which leaves Inspector Chen in a decisive situation, to seek justice for his own position in the police department or to investigate the death of trusted princeling of the Party.

9) Shanghai Redemption

To create more suspenseful whodunit in the series, this is the ninth and the latest book of Inspector Chen by Qiu Xiaolong. It was released in 2015.

Now again as the Chief Inspector of Special Branch of Investigation in the Shanghai Police Department, Chen finds himself neutralized between the Party and the Department responsibilities. Soon he also realizes that someone is trying to set him up, to end his career with public disgrace. But he kept on his ambitions to remove ruthless treachery, murders, greed and corruption from the new China.

This tale of Inspector Chen gives us a thought-provoking central idea that “Hero is someone who has done something beyond the normal range of achievements”. There were times when Chen had to face no power, few allies, and threats from everywhere in order to get justice, but with his own character and will power, the Inspector Chen was able to bring the Justice ascendancy in the most dangerous investigations of his career, and his life.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Inspector Chen

4 Responses to “Inspector Chen”

  1. Barbara McKinney: 12 months ago

    What is the name of newest book after Inspector Chen & the Private Kitchen Murder?

    • Graeme: 12 months ago

      As listed above – Love and Murder in the Time of Covid

  2. Barbara McKinney: 1 year ago

    I am a big fan of the Dectective Chen series. Trying to get ALL of the books right now. Guess I’m hooked!

  3. susanna: 2 years ago

    Love the Inspector Chen stories- and nice to share your enthusiasm


Leave a Reply