Book Notification

Inspector Faro Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Inspector Faro Books

Enter Second Murderer (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Line (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Beloved (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killing Cousins (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Quiet Death (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Kill a Queen (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Evil That Men Do (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Missing Duchess (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bull Slayers (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder by Appointment (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Coffin Lane Murders (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Final Enemy (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unholy Trinity / Death at Carasheen (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Faro and the Royals (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Paradise (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Seal King Murders (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murders Most Foul (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Akin to Murder (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dower House Mystery (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Depicted often as an enigmatic and steadfast hero, Detective Inspector Jeremy Faro, or simply Inspector Faro is one who almost closely resembles the famous and yet infamous Consulting Detective, Sherlock Holmes. Inspector Faro, known for a bewildering personality and his iconic cane in hand, is an ardent follower of the powers of logic and deduction to be used when he starts digging into the heart of any interesting and vague case that he comes across. Alanna Knight carefully crafts this mesmerizing character within Edinburgh, Scotland and puts him into the setting of the late 1800s.

There’s a complete series available on the life and cases of Inspector Faro, who along with his side-kick and stepson, Vince, who comes across as a novice medical man, enables the police department to get to the crux of each case and solve the many mysteries that surround them. Inspector Faro is quite a poised man who wants to make sure he has looked into every nook and cranny of the case, before his piles up the logic, and motives of each suspect, and finally wins the case by announcing the culprit.

He is portrayed as a brave and strong man who is never shy when it comes to taking a step into the shady lives and situations of his suspects and victims while uncovering the many truths and conspiracies. Faro is a highly respected and sought-after personnel who lives during the Victorian era and is often pushed right to the edge of his abilities when it comes to solving his cases. As a father, Inspector Faro is portrayed as a strong and protective man whose family is constantly under threat due to his nature of work.

The series of books in which Inspector Faro makes his presence felt are amazingly presented by Alanna Knight, set in the Victorian Britain. Faro’s association with the Edinburgh City Police is often cordial but can be quite stressful for the unconventional detective who wants to solve his crimes.

First Book – Enter Second Murderer

Set in 1870s, Enter Second Murderer takes Inspector Faro into the unusual convent murder that sends the city into a complete frenzy. It is now up to Faro to make heads and tails of this ghastly murder while coming to a conclusion on who exactly the perpetrator might be. His wide range of prime suspects includes a completely fanatical nun, a public school boy, a rich hermit who is also an aristocrat, and Faro’s own colleague from the Edinburgh City Police.

The book, which released in 1988, pursues a very straight and interesting plot, complete with murder, betrayal, terror, violence, love, and utter greed that culminates to the fact that though the murderer, Patrick Hymes, who was initially caught and executed, is actually innocent of the crime and there is still a brew surrounding the case—a sensational twist to the story, when a second victim falls in the wake of the same pattern.

Inspector Faro gets to his feet to unlearn and check out all his facts once again to reach out to a link or connection that was missed the first time around. Faro wants to now clear Hyme’s name over the case, and he somehow manages to open the lid to the case with the help of his stepson, Vince, while understanding the difficulties that have surrounded this fascinating case. Inspector Faro also gets pulled into the underworld that runs beyond the shady theaters and saloon of Edinburgh during that era.

Second Book – Blood Line

The second book released in 1989 has yet another power-packed and baffling case that sends Inspector Faro speechless as he starts to investigate the death of an unidentified gentleman who was found on the rocks below Mary Queen of Scots apartments. This landscape is right within Edinburgh Castle and is preparing for the arrival of Queen Victoria. During the preparation, it also came to light of certain mummified remains of an infant within the castle walls. Thus, Inspector Faro puts on his thinking hat and gets to business as he dives in to unravel the mysteries of the “Egyptian Style Curse on Edinburgh Castle” and the identity of “the baby in the wall”.

During the course of this investigation, Faro is soon cornered with threats made to his life as he tries to put piece by piece together of this puzzle he’s been handed over by the Edinburgh City Police and the guards of the Queen herself. Amid this dire dangers hovering over him, Inspector Faro realizes his own vulnerability as he finds his own two young daughters kidnapped from Ornkey, where they stayed during their holidays.

In this book, Alanna, very eloquently portrays the sensibilities within Inspector Faro as well the humanity his exhibits when covered in darkness himself.

Other Books

The other books published in the series follows Inspector Faro as he marches ahead in search for smart criminals and extraordinary investigations that put him under the spotlight, testing his skills in the science of deduction. Alanna Knight has indeed carved out a unique individual who personifies the role of a vigilante and rescuer, but at the same time who is but a man, hoping for love, a family, and some peaceful nights. Inspector Faro is a perfectly woven, realistic fictional individual who handles the turmoil of life in a quaint and sophisticated way.

Faro slowly set to expand to more intriguing cases as the series continue to a level of tragic and high-bound repercussion, from when Faro’s own stepson gets into the scene of the crime to atrocities on the crown itself. Faro time and again balances between the society and the different personalities that he has to encounter to the hardship he faces in getting his own family to the clean side.

The series pay a great tribute to the likes of English Mystery Men such as in Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes series and the different individuals introduced by Agatha Christie. Inspector Faro comes to be molded as a dedicated man who is all ready to cross the fine line between truth and integrity and manages to make or break situations within his life.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Inspector Faro

Leave a Reply