Nick Petrie Series

Inspector French Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Inspector French Books

Inspector French’s Greatest Case (1924)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Inspector French and the Cheyne Mystery (1926)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Inspector French and the Starvel Hollow Tragedy (1927)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Inspector French and the Sea Mystery (1928)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Box Office Murders (1929)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Inspector French and Sir John Magill’s Last Journey (1930)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mystery in the Channel (1931)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sudden Death (1932)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death on the Way (1932)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Hog's Back Mystery (1933)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The 12.30 from Croydon (1934)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mystery on Southampton Water (1934)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Crime at Guildford (1935)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Loss of the Jane Vosper (1936)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Man Overboard (1936)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Found Floating (1937)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Antidote to Venom (1938)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The End of Andrew Harrison (1938)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fatal Venture (1939)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Golden Ashes (1940)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
James Tarrant, Adventurer (1941)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Losing Game (1941)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fear Comes to Chalfont (1942)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Affair at Little Wokeham (1943)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Enemy Unseen (1945)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death of a Train (1946)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Silence for the Murderer (1949)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dark Journey / French Strikes Oil (1951)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Many a Slip (1955)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Anything to Declare? (1957)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Inspector French Series

Inspector French is a mystery series by an Irish author of short stories, literature & fiction, and mystery and thriller books, Freeman Wills Crofts. The series stars Inspector French, a man who is both skilled and thorough when it comes to detective work. The stories follow Inspector French as he tries to solve different murders that seem unsolvable since they come with few, if any, leads. Aside from the inspectors, the stories feature exciting characters and come with enough twists to keep you captivated to the end.

Inspector French’s Greatest Case

Inspector French’s Greatest Case is the first book in the Inspector French series. The book stars Inspector French, a man whose determination leads him to many countries in search of the truth. This book starts with a dead man found in a diamond merchant’s office in London. Mr. Charles Gething’s body is found prostrate on the floor in Mr. Duke’s private office. Aside from the dead man, there are several missing jewels and a thousand pounds in cash. The missing jewelry is worth about thirty-three thousand pounds.

What starts as a simple case of theft morphs into a complex mystery involving many false leads. From the start, it is clear that Mr. Gething was murdered. The body comes with an ugly wound at the back of his skull. The poor man was bashed with a blunt object, and that is possibly what led to his death. While the money and diamonds seem like the possible reason the theft occurred, there is no way to explain why Mr. Gething was murdered.

In his search for the truth, Inspector French travels to different parts of Europe, including France, Spain, and Holland. He is steadfast in following leads to ensure that the culprits are apprehended. The exciting capture of the rogues happens in Oporto, Portugal. This can only mean that aside from the fascinating steps involved in the capture, the readers also take a ship and train adventure in the story. The journey through the different regions come with enough action, and there are no dull moments anywhere in the story.

Inspector French is the narrator in this story. Get to see the suspects through inspector French’s eyes and see how the talented man comes to different conclusions after interacting with the culprits. The plot is engaging without being complicated, and it is fun to see how French goes through different false leads before he gets on the right path. French will get frustrated along the way, but the good thing is that he does not give up. His tenacity is rewarded in the last chapter when all the pieces to the puzzle come together.

Set in 1924, this detective story will leave you yearning for more. The story goes into the meticulous details involved where homicide cases are concerned. Detective French is an easy character to love. His determination and presence throughout the story is sure to keep you spellbound. The story is well-plotted, and the pace is even from start to finish. The ending is satisfactory, meaning that you do not have to worry about cliffhangers. If you are a British crime fiction fan, this book is perfect. The story goes through the puzzle of finding the guilty parties without chase scenes or graphic violence.
Inspector French and the Cheyne Mystery

Inspector French and the Cheyne Mystery is the second book in the Inspector French series. The book features Maxwell Cheyne, a young man who encounters a dangerous gang when he is busy minding his own business. At just twenty-eight years, Cheyne’s love for adventure and the sea is unquestionable. Cheyne loses his father when he is nine years. Despite his young age, Cheyne inherits his father’s love for the sea. While his father doesn’t leave much for his son and young widow, the boy goes through schools and joins the local Shipping Firm as a junior clerk.

Things take a positive turn when Cheyne’s mother gets some help from an uncle. She buys back the family home, and Cheyne quits his job to join his mother in Devonshire. Here, the young man can enjoy writing novels and exploring the sea aboard his yacht. Cheyne gains a lot of skills that come in handy when he joins the navy three years after coming to Devonshire. Cheyne gets wounded during the war and returns home to enjoy yachting and the countryside quiet.
This story begins eighteen months later when Cheyne meets the dangerous gang. What starts as a simple invitation to do some writing turns tragic when Cheyne is drugged when he is having coffee with Mr. Parkers. When he comes to, Cheyne discovers that despite going through his pockets, Mr. Parker did not take anything from his pockets. However, Cheyne’s family home is robbed a few hours after the drugging incidence. Things get serious when there is an attempt on Cheyne’s life. The young man is left with no choice but to flee to Scotland Yard. He knows what the bad guys are looking for, but Cheyne had been bright enough to keep the envelope in the bank.

Inspector French brings his usual thoroughness into this case. When the envelope is opened, the detective has to figure out what the content is all about. The talented Inspector is forced to travel widely in search of the truth. Once the truth is revealed, Cheyne understands a lot about his childhood. It also becomes clear why the dangerous gang is so interested in him. Yes, young Cheyne is going to fall for the tricks used by the gang, but the truth will be revealed in the end.

If you are looking to enjoy an exciting detective story without dead bodies and gory details, the Inspector French and the Cheyne Mystery is ideal. Even though the main character goes through some near-death experiences, he lives, albeit with a few dents here and there. The plot here is uncomplicated, but there is enough action to keep you engaged from start to finish. The pace here is relentless, and it helps that the book comes with a variety of interesting characters.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Inspector French

Leave a Reply